We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good spa”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Calista Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Calista Spa Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Stara Zagora
Plovdiv
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good spa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Very good spa. Well maintained and clean.
Hotel rooms are well furnished and clean.
Restaurant is good, but little bit over priced for quality of food.
However service is fine.
One of best spa hotels in Bulgaria.
Excellent balance between price and quality.

Room Tip: Choose room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JordanBI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    18
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
12
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

Nice spa center. Good and helpful personal. One big problem - do not eat in the restaurant of the hotel. Very expensive and dishes are not quite good. Rooms are not extraordinary but are clean and in good shape.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Deus O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

Hotel has a variety of saunas: wonderful mint and eukalyptus turkish and pine finnish saunas. Swimming pool is about 17-18 metres long with relaxing warm water and built-in jakuzi and water massage zones. Good jym and fitness.
Nice spacious rooms, beautiful view to hills, polite staff. Area around hotel is beautiful, village itself is nice for a walk. It got an hour to get to hills.
Restorant is well-designed but expensive for Bulgaria. Breakfast is good.

Room Tip: Smoking area of lobby-bar is just under 2nd floor terraced rooms in the center of building. We asked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Uliana_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varna, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

I stayed with my wife in this hotel from 30 October till 04 November 2011. We both have back pain problems and our prime objective was to meet the famous vertebrae specialist Dr Yordan Gechev and get spa treatment for our backs. We booked a 5 days spa package, including full board and 2 spa procedures.
The hotel is in Starozagorski Mineralni Bani village, about 12 km from the town of Stara Zagora. It is facing a park and is connected to a hot mineral water spring.
On our arrival we found the room as per package too small and looking to the parking lot. For a about 10 euro/night more we upgraded to a bigger room (about 30 sq.m.) looking to the park. We were shown rooms with shower cabin and a Jacuzzi bath. We choose one with a shower cabin, as the bath had no protecting wall and the bath room would get wet easily. The room was clean and king bed comfortable. The free Internet was speedy enough to enable following my work. There was some intermittent problem with card key lock and we had to use door key to open at times.
We were seen by Dr Gechev, who prescribed some additional treatment with sea salts and physiotherapy in addition to pre-booked manual and hydro massage. The massages were great (Masseur’s name is Plamen) and the spa personnel were helpful and competent. Same goes for receptionists and waiters in the restaurant.
We used the infrared and Finnish sauna, the Tepidarium, the Steam baths with mint and eucalypt, the Swimming pool and the Gym (all free for hotel guests). The swimming pool mineral water temperature was about 38 degrees C and had several hydro massage zones, which the life guard switched on upon our request. The 20 x 10 m pool was good for laps as well. Overall the spa center is the main feature of this hotel and we highly recommend it.
The a la carte restaurant was spacy and non-smoking. The short menu and extensive wine list offered some tempting suggestions, but a bit pricey compared to Varna restaurants. We had full board with buffet breakfast and three course meals for lunch and dinner. The food quality and quantity was OK, but the cheap juices in the buffet breakfast do not fit in the overall hotel image. The Nestle coffee machines were making passable espresso and good choice of teas was available. We think the full board was better option compared to usual BB.
The wine cellar with a fire place looked very cozy, but was occupied for private events each evening during our stay.
Overall we found this hotel a nice place for spa treatment not so far away from our town Varna with reasonably priced package.

Room Tip: Ask for room with park view and shower cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zed61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stara Zagora
6.8 mi away
Park Hotel Stara Zagora
Park Hotel Stara Zagora
#1 of 15 in Stara Zagora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
6.6 mi away
Efir Hotel
Efir Hotel
#5 of 15 in Stara Zagora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
6.5 mi away
Uniqato Hotel
Uniqato Hotel
#7 of 15 in Stara Zagora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#3 of 15 in Stara Zagora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Armira
Hotel Armira
#4 of 15 in Stara Zagora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
17.8 mi away
Hotel Sevtopolis
Hotel Sevtopolis
#1 of 3 in Pavel Banya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calista Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calista Spa Hotel

Property: Calista Spa Hotel
Address: Starozagorski Mineralni Bani, Stara Zagora, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Stara Zagora Province > Stara Zagora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Stara Zagora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Calista Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Calista Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calista Spa Hotel Bulgaria/Stara Zagora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing