We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Troyan Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Troyan Plaza Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Troyan
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Good hotel in the hearth of the city. They have big and free parking for your car. Very big and clean apartments. The breakfast was not really good. The mehana is excellent for dinner. The staff was ok.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoyanSemerdzhiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    12
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
8
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bulgaria
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Very good location point. The hotel is in the city ceneter close to the center and by the riverbank. I was on a seminar in the hotel. The seminar finished in 18.30h. and then I asked for the relax ceneter and massages. The answer was that the relax ceneter is opened till 18h o'clock!!?? This is the one thing I was dissapointed. The other one was the cold room that I enetered. First of all the stuff knew that the room is reserved few days earlier. They should warm the room to the comfortable temperature. But guess what - even outside was warmer that inside. I turned on the clima but it didn't work. I went to the reception and immediately they placed radiator in the room.
Room was nice and big. The Mehana was great. Very delicious food for lunch, dinner and breakfast. Friendly stuff in the hotel and in the mehana.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veni9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

The Mehana is great, they cook deliciously on normal prices, the hotel - not so good... pretty miserable for a 4 star hotel, the bathroom smells of mud, the room smells of cigarettes although it was a non-smoking room, the walls had stains, the windows had no nets.

Rooms are clean, the staff is friendly and kind, breakfast is good, but I expected more, definitely not a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADreamComeTrue88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

This hotel is on the riverbank of the quiet Bulgarian town of Troyan, though it looks a little tired, for the money it does what it says on the tin, the staff are friendly and helpful, breakfast is given in the form of a number of fixed menu choices and is of course Bulgarian in flavour. There is a mehana attached to the hotel where breakfast is served as our stay was during early march the large restaurant was not used, we had dinner twice at the mehana and were quite pleased with choice quality quantity and price of food and drink, we would recommend this hotel for those travelling on a budget, who like friendly and helpful staff reasonable food and a good nights sleep, basically and average nice hotel, would gladly stay here again

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandmuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

Decided to eat in the Mehana in the basement of the hotel. Got as far as the door, bad smell of cigarette smoke, overpowering, left immediately, clearly no ventilation. Smoking is banned in restaurants in the rest of Europe, for good reason.

Other good eating places in the town that do not allow smoking.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Troyan hotels

Veliko Turnovo, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We spent the last weekend at the Troyan Plaza and enjoyed it quite a lot. We had heard about it but this was the first time we went there and will surely go again. The offer they made was quite tempting - 3 nights for the price of 2. They also recommended a luxury room, to which we agreed as our daughter is 15 and already as tall as me. Although the hotel is in the centre, it was quiet in the room and we slept very well.
On Friday morning we were a bit surprised by the breakfast - they offered us 5 or 6 versions of breakfast, the first 4 being the more traditional things - toast, eggs (scrambled or poached), tomatoes, sausages, butter and jam, number 5 was pancakes and 6 fruit. On Saturday and Sunday it was the more traditional buffet table. It was enough, we only needed some more bread.
The room was cleaned every day, the towels were changed when we asked, all the people were really nice and helpful, the receptionist recommended us to see the Troyan monastery and the village of Oreshak with its exhibition of traditional crafts - pottery and wood carving.
The hotel was full for the weekend and there was live music but again we didn't hear any of it during the night.
I would have preferred an indoor swimming pool and was a bit surprised that they didn't have one - there are a lot of hot mineral springs in the vicinity, but still we had a nice relaxing time, some sightseeing and a lot of sleep.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mir929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rode heath
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Stayed a night back in the hotel after being there 6 years ago.The receptionist was very delightful and very witty-" we mentioned her english was very good " and she replied "so was ours!" The bar down stairs had now closed and no longer used -shame we had many a good night the last time.We had a meal in the restaurant outside and it was superb - by the amount of poeple eating and locals it must be the main food restauarant-(make sure you try their own beeer -apparently a russan mirobrewery - excellent !)The rooms have become a bit tired -but everything was clean and tidy -read the what and what not to do on prices if you damage as I think they have had problems but very funny!The shower room seemed a lot smaller than i remember(could be I have got bigger!) but very good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshrode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troyan hotels
0.3 mi away
Chateau Montagne Hotel Troyan
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Rekata Hotel
#3 of 10 in Troyan
1 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ostrova
Ostrova
#4 of 10 in Troyan
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel Bile
Hotel Bile
#4 of 5 in Troyan
3 reviews
3.7 mi away
No photo provided
Guest House Milena
#1 of 6 in Troyan
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Vila Bojana
#2 of 6 in Troyan
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Troyan Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Troyan Plaza Hotel

Property: Troyan Plaza Hotel
Address: 54 P.R. Slaveikov Str., Troyan 5600, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Lovech Province > Troyan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Troyan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Troyan Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Troyan Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing