We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, affordable, lovely personnel”
Review of Hotel Tarnava

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tarnava
Ranked #7 of 55 Veliko Tarnovo B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location, affordable, lovely personnel”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Great location, affordable, lovely personnel, great value of money.
This hotel has a great location, very close to the fortress and to the main streets of Veliko.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iulia_Vaculisteanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    13
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
20
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

I stayed in VT for 5 nights in March 2011. The Hotel is very close to Tsaravets, which is a great place to visit and also not so far away from the High Street.

The hotel itself is very clean and all the staff are very friendly. The room we stayed in was very spacious and the bathroom was a good size. We had a room on the street side, which was ok, but I would imagine the view overlooking towards the 4 Horsemen monument/Yantra River on the other side of the hotel is great.

The only downside is that breakfast wasn't fantastic (but not bad), but this is a small negative.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to do some sightseeing of VT.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Rooms quite dated but clean. Beds uncomfortable. Views average.
Breakfast varies but better when young lady was working.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NovoSelo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, BG
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Visited the town of Veliko Tarnovo for a weekend. We got a promotion of this hotel and it was worth, although the breakfast was quite poor. The double room was spacious and nice decorated, as an extra you have your own PC there. We liked the politeness of the staff that is unfortunately not very common in Bulgaria.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nedko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We had a lovely experience at this hotel. Our room had a balcony with a beautiful view of the hillsides. The people were very nice and helpful, even after we left: I left my leather jacket there and the hotel owner arranged to send it on a bus to Sofia the next day!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NF12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Nice and clean hotel,friendly staff.Comfortable room.Very good value for money.
Only the breakfast was poor.
I would recommend and I will come again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CristianI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varna, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2011

The hotel is very clean and comfortable. The staff is kind. The hotel is situated in the old part of the town. The breakfast is very good also. We'll come back there for sure next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nestina85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Veliko Tarnovo hotels
0.2 mi away
Tsarevets Hotel
Tsarevets Hotel
#4 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yantra Grand Hotel
Yantra Grand Hotel
#2 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gurko
Hotel Gurko
#1 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Anhea
Anhea
#5 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.5 mi away
Veliko Tarnovo Hotel Premier
Veliko Tarnovo Hotel Premier
#9 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meridian Hotel Bolyarski
Meridian Hotel Bolyarski
#6 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tarnava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tarnava

Property: Hotel Tarnava
Address: Ivan Vazov Street 6, Veliko Tarnovo 5000, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Veliko Tarnovo Province > Veliko Tarnovo
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Veliko Tarnovo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tarnava 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Tarnava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing