We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once in a lifetime experience...”
Review of Hotel Comfort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Comfort
Ranked #2 of 56 Veliko Tarnovo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Hotel Comfort has breathtaking views of Tsarevets castle, comfortable beds, AIR CONDITIONING, mini fridge, and large bathroom/shower areas. It is situated along a quaint cobblestone road with parking spaces saved just for guests.

Most importantly, at Hotel Comfort they make you feel at home. They facilitated so much for us - left the adjoining room unlocked so we could enjoy the balcony while no one was occupying it, helped us with the logistics of finding a cab, and made breakfast for us each morning upon request.

You cannot go wrong booking here. Highly, highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2012

It is so deeply in the heart of town that you may struggle to find it, hidden up a track behind a quaint cobbled square. They have parking, speak great English and will tell you all about the local area, local foods (many of which are made in house) and drinks.

The rooms - well, they are comfortable, spacious and are characterised by an almost Nordic feel, with an abundance of pine. The top rooms have views across to the castle, and are a fantastic place from which to view the light and sound show when it's on. It is about 2 mins from the main shopping area, and 10 minutes from the castle. 50 leva - not bad at all! We even got a parting drink of the local strong stuff. Thoroughly recommended!

Room Tip: It would be a shame not to have a room with a view if one is available - head to the top! At the ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoumoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

the place is very nice. they are very helpfull. the staff is friendly. they speak english very well. they help you with information about the city. they have a parking place for your car. i pay for one night in december 45 leva/room/night. in room you have tv, friedge, AC and bath. is a perfect place were you can stay in Veliko.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragonfly_smc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

This review has been very late in coming but talking about our time in Veliko tonight reminded me of it. We lived in Bucharest for two years and whenever we needed to flee we went to Hotel Comfort and they treated us like family. Lovely people who are always so accommodating no matter what time you arrive. The rooms are simple but perfect and the beds soooo comfortable! For me the best part was the breakfast: the home made jam, the personally picked tea and the local cheese absolutely delicious! The setting of the hotel could not be more perfect, tucked down a small cobbled side street off old town (trust me if we could get our Landrover Defender down that street your be fine!) and the views were absolutely breathtaking come rain, shine or snow. We have moved away from Bucharest now but have already made plans to visit our little haven in Veliko. A true diamond that I can not recommend enough.

Room Tip: The higher the better view, the stairs are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We arrived quite late after a long drive from central Romania and were made very welcome and the owner speaks fluent English. The room had a great view and there was secure parking for our car. After showing us our room and giving us keys we were directed to a restaurant as we needed a late meal. Breakfast was simple but good and there was plenty of tea. The owner was most helpful telling about the area and Bulgaria in general. The hotel is in the old town so no through traffic and if you think the cobbled streets might be a bit difficult for your car don't worry as our is a 1967 Lotus Elan with not much ground clearance and we had no trouble.

Room Tip: Those facing the front have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fritzmollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This family run hotel is one of the hidden gems of Bulgaria situated in the old historic quarter of the town. The Hotel is situated in easy walking distance to many wonderful restaurants & shops as well as some of the most interesting sights such as Tsarevets Castle. We stopped 23rd to the 29th May 2012. We were visiting Bulgaria on a holiday celebrating our anniversary. The owner Tony spoke good English & was very helpful & friendly. The View from our apartment on the 3rd floor must have been the best view of the castle in Veliko Tarnovo simply amazing unspoiled view.

Must say to sit on the balcony at night with a glass of wine was simply wonderful, I am glad we did not stay at a large faceless hotel as our trip simply would not have been the same. Thanks to Tony and his family at the Hotel Comfort we had a wonderful time in Bulgaria and look forward to returning to the Hotel Comfort in September.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

If you're planning on visiting Veliko Tarnovo for the Tsaravets fortress then this is definitely the place to stay. It was well sign-posted and easy to find, despite being on a small, bumpy road. The owner is very friendly and helpful and speaks excellent English.

We stayed in a room on the top (fourth) floor, which has an amazing view of the fortress and a lovely balcony. There is no lift but the climb up the stairs is worth it for the view. We watched the sound and light show from our balcony (although we couldn't hear the sound) and it really is the perfect location for it.

The rooms are small but sufficient, and we chose a room that is not en-suite in order to get the best view and balcony. Other rooms are en-suite.

Overall, an excellent location and view and very reasonably priced. I would definitely stay there again!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Veliko Tarnovo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gurko
Hotel Gurko
#1 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tsarevets Hotel
Tsarevets Hotel
#8 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anhea
Anhea
#7 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yantra Grand Hotel
Yantra Grand Hotel
#2 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
303 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alegro Hotel
Alegro Hotel
#5 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
62 reviews
0.4 mi away
Veliko Tarnovo Hotel Premier
Veliko Tarnovo Hotel Premier
#9 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Comfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Comfort

Address: P. Tipografov Street 5, Veliko Tarnovo 5000, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Veliko Tarnovo Province > Veliko Tarnovo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Veliko Tarnovo
Price Range: £24 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Comfort 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located on Kirkov Square-ethnographic and architectural complex at the beginning of a picturesque street , retains atmosphere of the Bulgarian Revival in the Old part of Veliko Tarnovo. Near the Hotel there is an art Gallery, ethnography workshop, souvenir shops and craft shops. Also there are restaurants nearby,located in the traditional Bulgarian style, summer garden and numerous cafes. From the Hotel Comfort you can have a breath-taking view to TsarevetcHill, Trapezitsa , ,Arbanassi ,Yantra river and the old part of town with an unforgettable view.The balconies of the Hotel give people chance to see the audio-visual show "Sound and Light"of Tsarevets Hill - the old capital of Bulgaria.The Hotel is located on a quiet street. The fasade and the interior of the Hotel are in the style of a Bulgarian House.The owners of the Hotel "Comfort" do their best so that the hotel deserves the name it has. Comfort is a typical family Hotel. If all this sounds as a self promotion, come and see yourself .Thank you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Comfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing