We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wondeful place!”
Review of Hotel Gurko

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gurko
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Veliko Tarnovo
Certificate of Excellence
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wondeful place!”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay in Veliko Tarnovo. Perfect balance between comfort, moderate lux and authentic style. The place of the hotel is probably one of the best in Veliko Tarnovo. The restaurant is very nice!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IvanMitov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    91
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
56
130
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This is a very chic hotel. The 3-rd floor room where my husband and I spent the Valentine s day week-end was very cute. We were able to see the stars in the night because there are windows in the ceiling.
The staff is very friendly and very helpfull. The restaurant is beautiful decorated and the food is very good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina2014CI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constanta, Romania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Everything was good. We took a new year package, very delicious food, very nice people, the new year program was interesting. The view from the balcony is nice. Only the problem was with the internet, it was disconecting all the time and we had to call to restart the router.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorAlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
239 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Service was great, really friendly. Had a very late check in 0300 but they let me in! Would highly recommend this spot it really is as charming as the pictures. Rooms are clean staff very helpful lots of sign language going on. Walking distance to the town. I loved everything about Veliko Tarnovo!

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the monument with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Wonderful place to spend a few or more days in Veliko Tarnovo! We booked this hotel for the new year's eve party and everything was as promised (parking place, the room with river-view, etc). The food at the restaurant is incredibly tasty and cheap and the staff is always smiling and willing to help you if you need something. Rooms are very clean, spatious and quiet, the place is 5 minutes away from the most important part of the city. Thank you for your excellent services, we will come back soon this summer!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalinSerbanescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

What a lovely Traditional hotel, one or two little things that you could pick fault with i.e. dont have Duvets they put blankets in the duvet cover but they were lovely and warm, the mattress was a little uncomfortable but didnt upset my sleep, and they really need black out blinds on the sky light, however, the hospitality was 5* plus and out weighed these little issues, such lovely people food was very nice lots for Breakfast i would certainly go back without hesitation. Thank you so much for a perfect stay

Room Tip: If they are not busy they will give you a choice of rooms all very nice rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wooton under edge
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Welcoming, cozy, friendly and clean. Very nice place. It is a modern hotel made to look old but with all the mod cons and it works, the balance of old and new is perfect. It was -4deg when we stayed and every were was warm. The rooms are nice, clean and very comfortable. Go for one of the rooms with balcony and Jacuzzi and your stay will be complete. It is 5 minute walk to the center of Veliko Ternovo (up hill) were there is good selection of shops etc. We had Dinner and breakfast in the Hotel and found the food to be good, tasty and value for money, the staff were very good and helpful. If you don't speak Bulgarian there is always a member of staff around who speaks English. Lovely unique city break :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lyn1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Veliko Tarnovo hotels
0.2 mi away
Yantra Grand Hotel
Yantra Grand Hotel
#2 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anhea
Anhea
#5 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tsarevets Hotel
Tsarevets Hotel
#4 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Meridian Hotel Bolyarski
Meridian Hotel Bolyarski
#6 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alegro Hotel
Alegro Hotel
#7 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Veliko Tarnovo Hotel Premier
Veliko Tarnovo Hotel Premier
#9 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gurko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gurko

Property: Hotel Gurko
Address: Gurko Str. 33, Veliko Tarnovo 5000, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Veliko Tarnovo Province > Veliko Tarnovo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Veliko Tarnovo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gurko 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Gurko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gurko Hotel Veliko Turnovo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing