We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A definite thing to do” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of U Bein Bridge

U Bein Bridge
Book In Advance
More Info
US$276.00*
and up
Private Tour:Explore the Wonders of Mandalay Including Lunch on Boat
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Amarapura
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A definite thing to do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

the oldest teak bridge in the world. We walked the whole length of the bridge - both ways and had a short boat ride in the middle where we got up close to the people doing hand fishing (yes catching fish with their hands). Whilst the water was low as monsoon has not yet started it enabled us to see the amazing structure. Young kids will need to have their hands held and not really suitable for anyone unsteady on their feet. There are a number of stops along the bridge where you can get cold drinks or just sit and enjoy the view. Locals were keen to chat and to take photos of you as much as you are of them. The market stalls had some nice inexpensive fabric and other souvenirs. photographers will love this or just iPhone snappers.

We didn't see the monk early morning parade, but during our visit there were many walking the bridge, There was enough things to see and do to make the 15 km trip out of the centre of Mandalay. We combined with a visit to a family run weaving centre.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank babsl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    339
    139
    28
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Myanmar is built for sunsets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Seriously, you've seen the pictures before you get here, but really is a spectacular sunset.

Tip: If you're on a budget like I was and still want to grab a nice shot of the sunset over the bridge, walk to the midpoint and there will be a little island. You can walk down the stairs and take some amazing shots instead of paying one of the boats to take you to the middle of the lake. Also there were little shops setup so you can grab a beer while watching the sunset.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“What is all the fuss?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Charming rustic but no big deal. Would not waste time going at sunset we went early afternoon and it was not crowded and much more pleasant. Be aware if you are disturbed by captive birds there are many bird traders here who sell the birds to be released and then apparently recapture them. We bought and released some baby owls and I just wanted to release the lot.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank maggs07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Mandalay experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

The best time to visit is during sunset where you get to glimpse of the daily lives of the locals. You can find people doing their morning exercises, monk doing their walks, locals on bikes either going to school or heading to work with their products fastened on their bicycles. Walk all the way to the end (monastery) then head back by riding on the colorful boats. We paid only $5 for the boat.

Helpful?
Thank Raffy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
526 reviews
306 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 820 helpful votes
“Teak bridge”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I went there for the sunrise at U Bein Bridge in Amarapura which is the world's longest bridge made out of teak wood, built by the mayor of Amarapura from teak posts salvaged during the uprooting of the capital to Mandala . This bridge is over 200 years old and maintained by the monks, It is nearly a mile long and spans Taungthaman lake. I went with the guide very early and I could not see in the dark so we just sat near the bench for almost an hour for the sunrise which was nice.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Smeets P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed U Bein Bridge also viewed

 

Been to U Bein Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing