We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the nicest places we stayed in Myanmar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Han Thar Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Han Thar Gardens
Ranked #2 of 11 Bago B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the nicest places we stayed in Myanmar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is a lovely, very spacious house - recently built by the owners - outside of Bago. We had no trouble getting there because we had our own transportation. The owner, Mimi, was exceptionally friendly and helpful. She told us lots of interesting information about local sites and made some phone calls to arrange for us to have a guide for bird-watching at the Moeyungyi Wetlands the next day (about 1 hour away by car). The room was extremely large and comfortable (very high ceilings, lots of wood). The public spaces were also very comfortable and inviting. We had dinner there and it was excellent - including a very fresh steamed fish. I particularly enjoyed sitting on the lawn early in the morning, watching the birds - there were quite a few species in the nearby trees. Overall, one of the nicest places we stayed on our trip (20 days).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MRG861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    4
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
19
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

This is a lovely little hotel just a short bus ride outside of Bago. The rooms are comfortable with high ceilings and terrific bathrooms. The staff are very caring and helpful - especially MiMi the owner! She is a God send! The food here is good, too. You can't go wrong with a stay here for a night or two to decompress.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

I only had lunch just today. If I had known this place, instead of spending my last night in Myanmar in Yangon, I would have chosen this place to wind down, because the car ride to the airport is only 1 hour.
Anyway, the food was good, and late lunch after 1:30 pm without reservation caused no problem. Nice breazy afternoon, overlooking the wide and open country side, you can relax (and have no problem of notorious toilet adventure, which I completely ducked during this trip) I only had one day to spare today, so hired a taxi from Yangon to see a bit of Bago stuff.
I would highly recommend this place but hope it will not be spoiled by bus full of foreign tourists. It is a place you want to see thriving, but not too much in a way to loose its charm.

Room Tip: I did not sleep, and only peeked the rooms, but the traditional room without AC appears gracious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yoshigva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arundel, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is the perfect place for a restful and happy break on a busy schedule. Beautifully built, very comfortable and spacious rooms, excellent food, the kindest staff imaginable and in the glorious countryside near Bago, it's a haven to recharge your batteries. Our only complaint: we weren't able to stay longer.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

On the road to Bago you will find Han Tar Gardens. It will make a change from your typical Burmese guest houses. A nice house, in rural settings with a small staff at pains to please. Roomy rooms, excellent breakfasts, a patio where reading with a good book and a drink will help you unwind. Best with your own transport as buses to and from Bago are a bit hit and miss, for this reviewer at least!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lartyboy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

I had been on a trip with friends through Burma and Laos organized by New Horizons Travel and MiMi, the owner, offered us rooms in Han Thar Garddens even though it was not quite finished...I don't know how much better it could have been! Calm, quiet, every possible comfort for a picky New Yorker but still very much in the traditions of the country. We watched the day darken down from a seat in the garden and the next morning saw the sun come up from my balcony... In the midst of cold winters at home I often think of both views. It is an easy drive to or from Yangon and since hotels there have become so crowded, and so expensive, I think I would rather stay at the Han Thar and just visit in the City. Highly recommend it for any type of traveler...it will give you yet another view of what Burma is. Oh! Did I mention the food? So delicious. And the staff? So helpful, so charming.

Room Tip: We toured all the rooms and would have been happy in any of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WriterJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Visited in November 2012 while finishing touches were being put to this wonderful hotel. Arriving here towards the end of a three-week holiday in Burma provided an oasis of calm, architectural beauty and very comfortable airy rooms. The design of our bedroom and bathroom was thoughtful and elegant. The high point for us was the excellent food, in particular the 'let thoke' cooked especially for us at our request. The staff were very friendly and felt part of the family. Our hostess MiMi arranged our trip round Myanmar expertly and provided a very warm welcome. Could not recommend this hotel more highly.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NNJ014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bago
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Supreme Hotel
#2 of 6 in Bago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
7.0 mi away
Kanbawza Hinthar Hotel
0.0 mi away
Bawga Theiddhi Hotel
Bawga Theiddhi Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Famous Hotel Bago
Famous Hotel Bago
#1 of 3 in Bago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amara Gold Hotel
Amara Gold Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shwe Pyi Resort
Shwe Pyi Resort
#1 of 14 in Bago Region
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Han Thar Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Han Thar Gardens

Property: Han Thar Gardens
Address: No. 34 Bulleinn Tar Zone Village | Yangon-Mandalay Road, Bago, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Bago Region > Bago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Bago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Han Thar Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Han Thar Gardens is a Tranquil Escape, an oasis away from the hustle and bustle of nearby Yangon. It is a newly established rustic style boutique hotel with a fine restaurant and other facilities. Situated in a prime location just outside of Bago and overlooking Hanthwarwaddy golf course, we provide our guests with a warm and friendly service. Combine a day out visiting the famous sights of Bago, once an ancient capital, with a relaxing stop over at Han Thar. Han Thar is also an ideal retreat for golfers; after a round of golf relax in our tranquil surroundings and enjoy a delicious meal. It is also perfect for those just wanting to get away, from the congested and bustling environment, of modern day Yangon, being only an hour's drive away. We will soon offer a quality Spa service, a great way to end a busy day of sightseeing, an alternative for non golfing partners or those in need of pampering. Whatever your reason to escape, we're here to cater to your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Han Thar Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing