We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast in Myanmar”
Review of Mr Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mr Charles Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hsipaw B&B and Inns
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Myanmar”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

This is the first hotel I've stayed at in Myanmar that has a proper travellers, hostel vibe. The dorm is basic with mattresses on the floor and I'm sure you can find cheaper places but the buffet breakfast more than makes up for the price ($7 per night with a.c). The trekking was also a little expensive compared to other trips I have done but totally worth it for the authentic village home stays. I would highly recommend doing 3 days 2 nights if you have time to get further away from other tourists.
The staff were amazing and super helpful. They even offered complimentary orange juice on arriving back hot and sweaty from a bike ride! Recommend using bathroom and shower at the back of main reception area rather than the one next to restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freewheelingkaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    143
    88
    26
    19
See reviews for
13
152
86
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Nice friendly hotel, rooms are basic but clean, and reasonable size - with balcony. Hot water, and air con works well. Staff were very friendly and eager to help, most speak good English.

We paid $35 for a double with ensuite and balcony in newer (but not newest) section. Wifi only seemed to work in reception and then only occasionally. Breakfast was plentiful without being spectacular - not sure what people are raving about to be honest.

Dinner in the hotel was pure chaos, staff in restaurant not the friendliest and they seemed to stuff up many orders, including people with us. I'd probably suggest eating elsewhere to be honest unless you're exhausted from a trek.

Guides were easy to organise and we just did a one day trek which was vey enjoyable as there were big festivals happening in some of the local Shan villages. The guide we had (can't remember his name) was very knowledgable and helped make the experience worthwhile.

Onward travel also easy to organise, our shared taxi back to Mandalay was organised at short notice and without much fuss - beware though the road back to Mandalay can get quite clogged with trucks and can be very slow.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twofortheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

by being in lonley planets it seems to have gone to their heads, the $20 fan room was small and $10 overpriced, the breakfast was average yet everyone raves abiut it,
On the other hand great location and good people with on the ground info ( sometimes wrong)
Suggestion look elsewhere
the food as usually was tasteless

Room Tip: dont get a room in the old builidng, pay the extra money if u must stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phuketrichard1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Please do your tours through somewhere else. I did a trek through this hotel (and stayed at the hotel). Perhaps the original man (an older gentleman) who started them was good. But, we had his lazy son as a leader. First, we asked repeatedly how many people would be on the tour and we were told no more than 4. We asked for reassurances again and were told the treks were small - no more than 4 people. The next morning there were 12 on the tour! With one guide. It was clear that this was mainly a money-making operation with little concern for honesty or the travelers' experiences.

Our guide (the lazy son of the man who started the treks) was completely insensitive to the needs of the trekkers - some people were slower than others, but he refused to slow down or do anything else to accommodate the giant group. He never waited for people in the rear to catch up before he started explaining things along the trek, so the slower people missed all of his explanations. On the return trek, he decided to save time by going off-path and beating our way through jungle-like brush with no path. It was dangerous, there were giant spiders, and it seemed bad for the environment. The host family's house (the village chief) at our trek destination was literally one of the worst nights of sleep I've had in my life, and I'm a low-maintenance traveler. Due to our huge group size, there weren't enough blankets for everyone. Sleeping quarters was a giant room with a wood floor and a thin blanket on the floor for each person. It was freezing. The house was filled with smoke. If there had been fewer trekkers (as promised), we could have fit into the sleeping area more comfortably and we would have had enough blankets to not freeze. But, this money-making trekking factory seems to care more about profit than sticking to reasonable numbers of trekkers.

The hotel rooms were fine by backpacker standards. However, the place feels like a money machine. It was the first (or one of the first) hotels in the town, and I think the place got used to having a monopoly and rolling in profits. It's huge, somewhat impersonal, and seems more consumed with profits than providing a decent experience.

Please consider spreading your travel dollars to other establishments in town. Competition would be a good thing for this hotel and its treks.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank MargotCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hsipaw hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I know it's a little shallow to rate a hostel by its breakfast, but it was AMAZING. I could have eaten the shan noodles until I burst and they had to pick tiny pieces of me off the floor. Some of the rooms are very small, the tiny singles looked like fairy people lived in them. Did a great overnight trek with Mr jojo and his son, total legends. Bathrooms were clean, and they also pick you up from the busstop in a little pickup truck if you book ahead! Cheers chaps!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dottyshalloty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

This is a well run backpacker hotel, with ok comfort, affordable rooms, and all the services that makes backpacking and trekking convenient.
We could see the staff is local, all in their twenties and trained by the owner. And they are well trained, speaking good English, willing to help, available and always with a broad smile. They all seem to be happy to work there together, which contributes to a very nice atmosphere.
Breakfast was delicous, with homemade Shan noodle soup, which comes with all the explainations if requested. This training aspect is the reason for making my initial "very good" into an "excellent" rating.
We had a 3 days trek organised, it went smoothly and our guide, Aung San was perfect: he knew the area very well, he gave explainations about villages, traditions, fauna and flora, and is a kind person. We really enjoyed hiking with him.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KhoaiTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Before i arrive in hsipaw , all the foreigners that i met who have been there told me that they staid to M. Charles. So i went there. And it was a good choice. I had a clean room with a good matress for 7 dollars. Washroom was shared but most clean as many private washroom that i had !
Breakfast is included and it was a délicious buffet with pancakes (crêpes) and home made bread.
Staff is very helpful and friendly.
I did the trek from the hotel and it was really amazing. I went to other places to compare the price and all was the same.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dourverc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hsipaw hotels
0.0 mi away
Red Dragon Hotel
Red Dragon Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hsipaw
64 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tai House Resort
Tai House Resort
#1 of 12 in Hsipaw
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lily The Home
Hotel Lily The Home
#2 of 12 in Hsipaw
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Yee Shin Guest House
Yee Shin Guest House
#8 of 12 in Hsipaw
80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Guest Hotel
Golden Guest Hotel
#6 of 12 in Hsipaw
12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mr. Charles River View Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mr Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mr Charles Hotel

Property: Mr Charles Hotel
Address: Auba Street, Hsipaw 11990022, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Shan State > Hsipaw
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Hsipaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mr Charles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Mr Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing