We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic settings on Inle Lake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Myanmar Treasure Inle Lake
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Taunggyi
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic settings on Inle Lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

Really nice resort at the lake wich i stayed for 2 nights.

Huge rooms with a balcony facing the lake, and the outdoor shower was great.

The only problem was the mosquito inferno outside my room.
i also got sick, but cant say what caused my illness.

Highly recomendable for visits to Inle Lake!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haraldsenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    129
    26
    1
    0
See reviews for
65
244
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

This hotel belongs to the owner of Air Bagan, who is reputedly very close to the junta, so maybe other options should be considered before booking here.
Rooms are big and comfortable, with nice bathrooms including an outdoor shower. Those facing the lake are specially charming and private, giving the chance of admiring the sunset and sunrise from the private terrace, or while having a shower. Other rooms may lack privacy, as they face the corridors heading the common areas. Rooms are not heated, in spite of the fact that temperature in Inle Lake can get very low.
The big disappointment of this resort, however, is the food, which is quite bad. Also as most guests are part of big groups, catering is focused on dinner buffet. I suffered stomach problems throughout my stay there.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chus_Gijon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minato, Japan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2011

It is a beautifl place.
On arrival to dinner , i was served a welcome drink(perhaps I was with VIP), a Cosmo and that was awesome! Dining room is nicely done and it's a hidden treasure like the name suggests.

The accomodation is all over-water cottage, beautifully and spaciously designed with a big balcony overlooking lake. If you stay in the suite (there's only one), they have jacuzzi. Other room has large bathtub but water heater is small so hote water will run out fairly fast.
there is also nice outdoor shower area outside dthe bathroom.
The room is huge and well equipped, lounge area with TV, and study area.
The cottage is made of wood and quite closely built to each other, you may need to lower your voice if you don't want your neighbor know what you are doing. I could hear what my neighbors were talking about in their cottage.
It was chilly at night, so if you are taking boat in the evening, don't forget to bring your jacket as it can be wet and cold.
The standard they try to maintain here must be superb from local standard. However, Food was average(but menu is quite extensive but lacks local fare), service is not notable, the entertainment over dinner can not be complained.
It's a lovely resort so I would recommend anyone who wants to stay at a charming resort, but I am afraid one can not stay here for too long, as there seems not much activities to do or facilities except for Spa and a restaurant.
We paid US$100 per night with breakfast and I am not too sure if this is worth the money from local price index.

Just to note;
I had breakfast at 630AM. 30min after I had breakfast (fresh fruits, fried eggs, toast and coffee), I noticed slight symptom that my stomach will be upset later.
it was mild initially at 7AM and became worse gradually.
I was sick in the evening and I was combatting with severe diarrhea for next three days, I had dinner (nothing raw but fried /cooked food) there 9PM the night before if it's not from breakfast. But either way, it was likely to be from this hotel.

Apart from that experience, the hotel itself was nice.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilin, China
Level Contributor
178 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2010

Arrived here at dusk, just in time to be caught by the mist over lake. It was so amazing how the dimming sunlight fading through the purple mist, I love such a view! The coolest bit must be the shower surrounded by the lake view. While taking the shower, I could also take in the whole lake view, with a seagull standing at the guardrail of our bungalow terrace.
We had Kauq-Sweh, a kind of Shan style noodle soup, at the resort, but it turned out quite tasteless compared to those we had later from a local vendor. The flat, rice-made pancake-shaped stuff (Maung Jeut or something… don't remember exactly) was cool, I've been miss it since back at home. :)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peggielv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

Really beautiful hotel in an amazing location. Loved the views from almost any point in the room including the outdoor shower! Only missed the AC there...
Also very nice sitting areas where you can enjoy a drink while you see the sunset. Food is very nice and staff very agreeable too. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agm_jce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2010

Myanmar Treasure Resort is located at the northeastern part of Inle Lake, a bit far from some of the traditional lake stops located in the central part. Nevertheless, the resort is a great place to stay for travelers who do not mind spending a little bit more. The cottages are huge, with enough space for a living area, study area, and outdoor showers.

The wooden interiors give off a rustic feel reminiscent of staying in the mountains. This is fitting, as the weather in Inle Lake is generally cool throughout the year. It was especially cold during our visit in December, with early morning temperatures dropping to near freezing. Unfortunately, heaters are not available in this particular property and it would be of convenience to guests if they are able to add this.

Like all other resorts within the lake, the guests constitute the captive market for dinner. Food here is so-so but expensive. Breakfast is acceptable with a good selection of freshly made juices.

The resort tries to add a personal touch as well - whenever guests are having dinner, the staff would sneak into the rooms, prepare beds for the night and sometimes leave a memento such as flowers or a note.

Overall I would recommend this hotel. It is not anywhere near any of the nearby sights within the lake but it provides the level of comfort which makes for a great holiday.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2010

Room 1 45.- Eur including breakfast ( booked in the "Golden Flight Package" with flight to Heho on myanmarair.COM

Pro:
+ fantastic Bungalow with a huge porch and a great bench two People can ly in and enjoying the Sunset (only Bungalow No 1 has the bench)
+ very clean and beutifull decorated Bungalow
+ fantastic Service
+ Beautiful Location that offers a great view in the Lake
+ Best Value for the Money we had anywhere in the World !
+ surprisingly Few mosquitos concidering the Location

Contra:
- it is a Government owned hotel, so you support RGW Military Government when you stay there. We decided to Support the locals by booking locals for the Inle Lake Trip
- no Way to Lesbe the hotel on Foot, just by boat

Contra

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berndpitrowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taunggyi
2.2 mi away
Aureum Palace Resort & Spa Inle
2.0 mi away
Novotel Inle Lake Myat Min
Novotel Inle Lake Myat Min
#6 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
1.0 mi away
Inle Princess Resort
Inle Princess Resort
#2 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Pristine Lotus Spa Resort
Pristine Lotus Spa Resort
#9 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inle Resort & Spa
Inle Resort & Spa
#3 of 14 in Taunggyi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
2.7 mi away
Villa Inle Resort & Spa
Villa Inle Resort & Spa
#8 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myanmar Treasure Inle Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myanmar Treasure Inle Lake

Property: Myanmar Treasure Inle Lake
Address: Maing Thauk Village, Nyaung Shwe Township, Taunggyi, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Shan State > Taunggyi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Taunggyi
#1 Best Value Hotel in Taunggyi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taunggyi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Myanmar Treasure Inle Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, JovagoAsia, Odigeo and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Myanmar Treasure Inle Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myanmar Treasure Inle Lake Hotel Taunggyi
Myanmar Treasure Inle Lake Taunggyi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing