We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“life on the water - a thing of beauty” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Myanmar Treasure Inle Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Myanmar Treasure Inle Lake
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Taunggyi
Certificate of Excellence
Auckand
Level Contributor
212 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“life on the water - a thing of beauty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

We travelled for 40minutes by boat from the mainland to get to this amazing resort and on the way experienced true "life on the water" Myanmar style. If you haven't been, this just has to be experienced.
We were with another excellent Exotissimo guide - cant be faulted- and sited this amazing place.
A main hotel complex with little wooden cabins that were extremely well set up and very attractive. Everything we could have wanted. A couple of minuses but these did not detract or stop us giving this resort 5 stars. No AC - and yes it was hot. Well we were in the middle of a lake! and the beds were extremely hard.
We loved the outdoor shower and the very roomy facility. A balcony from where we watched amazing sunsets and generally relaxed and enjoyed the surroundings.

Dining room good, buffet not so. Al la carte excellent. Breakfast good and staff friendly and professional.
The boat stopped its motor when we neared the hotel and the boat was paddled 'myanmar style" to make sure the guests were not disturbed by the motor.
A nice touch that we hadnt experienced elsewhere. Any travellers going to Myanmar shouldnt miss this lovely place and the hotel was as good as you would get anywhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing sunset over the lake and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyAuckand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    128
    26
    1
    0
See reviews for
64
236
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

I would highly recommend this hotel. If you are coming to Inle Lake, you have to stay on the Lake, otherwise you're missing out on the best part. This hotel was so lovely. They upgraded us to a beautiful suite with an amazing view across the Lake. The sunsets were just to die for. Greatl restaurant and bar, and the consistently great service I've come to expect in Burma. I was particularly impressed at the seamless airport-taxi-boat transfers the hotel organised for us. I also totally loved the amazing outside shower with the great view across the Lake. They have bicyles too if you want to go cycling to some of the villages on the edges of the Lake. Wish I was still there.

Room Tip: The lake view rooms are what it's all about. Don't even think about paying less for a room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank city0fangels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

After a nice trip with long tail boots we arrived to a wonderful place. Nice wooden cottages and a place quite different. Here you can relax. Nice rooms. Spa treatment - very proffesionell staff. Enjoy the beautiful view from the balcony. Even take a shower outside the bathroom. The staff, the service and the restaurant and the bar are excellent. In the evening you find sweet notes from the staff on your bed. From here you can do nice excursions in the lake. We leave the hotel after some days bit we hope to come back again.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingah22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

My husband and I stayed in Myanmar Treasure Resort for two days while we're traveling in Myanmar. At first sight of the hotel, I exclaimed "Wow, wonderful!". It was more than the best hotel in the world as well as in Myanmar. All seemed perfect to me - room, bed, bathroom, balcony, and other facilities. We enjoyed photo-like view of the lake and mountain sitting in the balcony. All the staff were very kind and attended us with their warm heart. I was especially moved when I found the welcome card with small bouquet on the bed. When we arrived there, we were a little tired because we already traveled for two weeks in Myanmar . So we took a real rest and sleeped well at the resort. I hope I will go to Inle Lake and stay at Myanmar Treasure Resort again some day.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grace103501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONSE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

We appreciated the warm welcome of the staff and the exquisite lodging, a sort of bungalow on poles in the Inle Lake, nicely decorated with handicraft items. No gold and marble here, but wood, which adds hugely to the authenticity of the place ! Truly amazing were the 'sweet dreams wishes' on our bed pillow in the evening... This hotel can also by classified as very ecological with an open eye for our sparse resources. The meals in the romantic dining room are simple but of honest cooking quality, served by friendly waiters and waitresses. Oh, I wish I was back over there...

Christel Geens, Belgium

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

The hotel is beatiful and well decorated, adding to the originality of the situation and it´s structure. From the airport you take a taxi to Nayung-shwe (city centre as they call it) and then a typical boat to the hotel.
It is one of the closest to the entrance of the lake, sitting on the water but with a bridge to the land so you can move by bike or leave by taxi if you prefer to avoid the boat at some point, but almost all the trips will require (and it´s much better) to move by boat around the lake.

The restaurant is good, reasonably priced and with good variety of food that it´s appreciated as you can not go anywhere else for dinner. Nice bar overlooking the lake and it has its own spa

Each room is a cottage, communicated to reception over water by wood bridges, very big, with your own terrace and a sofa overlooking the lake if you get a room in the front row (Avoid the cottages in the middle row of the 3 they have)
It does not have A/C so it might be an issue on the dry season (other similar hotels in the lake had it)

The bathroom is also big and it has a great exterior shower with a window over the lake also.
The cottage has some holes in the wood but there were surprisingly no mosquitoes so no issue apart form a lizzard visit from time to time.

The staff is a big plus, as friendly and attentive as everywhere across Myanmar. They receive you every afternoon with a refreshment and towel and always try to make you fell as comfortable with them as it seems possible.

Just be aware that once in the hotel you are in its hands to arrange boat excursions or transfer to the airport and they do take advantage of it.
If you don´t have things arranged in advance I would recommend asking the taxi driver to stop in Nayung-shwe before taking the boat and shopping around the travel agencies for the boat excursions and airport arrangements.

I would recommend it, although maybe I would look for a similar one with A/C in the dry season

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FGE04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
186 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Myanmar Treasure Resort at Inle Lake is a uniquely beautiful place arrived at by longboats. The resort has a spa with trained masseuses. The bungalows built on stilts in the water overlook a soothing lotus pond and organic vegetable garden from which the herbs for the meals are picked. Staff is genuinely attentive and kind. This is a perfect location for a romantic longweekend, meditative retreat, relaxing get away, or a jumping spot to tour multiple sites, such as the day market, the floating markets, Burmese Cat Heritage House, Jumping Cat Monastery, and the Mrauk U antiquities similar to Angkor Wat in Cambodia, but far less populated by tourists. We intend to visit again.

Room Tip: choose a bungalow on the side facing the golden stupa in the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taunggyi
1.0 mi away
Inle Princess Resort
Inle Princess Resort
#2 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aureum Palace Resort & Spa Inle
2.0 mi away
Novotel Inle Lake Myat Min
Novotel Inle Lake Myat Min
#5 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Pristine Lotus Spa Resort
Pristine Lotus Spa Resort
#9 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
4.6 mi away
ViewPoint Lodge & Fine Cuisines
2.7 mi away
Villa Inle Resort & Spa
Villa Inle Resort & Spa
#8 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myanmar Treasure Inle Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myanmar Treasure Inle Lake

Property: Myanmar Treasure Inle Lake
Address: Maing Thauk Village, Nyaung Shwe Township, Taunggyi, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Shan State > Taunggyi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taunggyi
#1 Spa Hotel in Taunggyi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Myanmar Treasure Inle Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, JovagoAsia and Odigeo so you can book your Myanmar Treasure Inle Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myanmar Treasure Inle Lake Hotel Taunggyi
Myanmar Treasure Inle Lake Taunggyi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing