We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Catering to the guests' every need” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Myanmar Treasure Inle Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Myanmar Treasure Inle Lake
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Taunggyi
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
615 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Catering to the guests' every need”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Six of us stayed at the Myanmar Treasure for two nights. We would give the hotel a five star recommendation but the restaurant only a four because the dinner menu was not really memorable, but the breakfasts were quite good with many choices. The hotel rooms were awesome, on stilts, with indoor and outdoor showers, white chiffon draped beds to keep out the mosquitoes (although we didn't really see many while we were there). They had a stage show one night while we were there and two exquisitely costumed "peacocks" each morning for guests to take pictures. Lots of smiles and helpfulness from every staff member. As we approached the hotel in the boat, two fishermen did the one-legged ballet with the fishing trap and then when we got closer, each boat picked up a one legged rower to take us in. Loved the whole thing!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank teachers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    128
    26
    1
    0
See reviews for
64
234
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

My Wife and I stayed at this resort from February 15th to 18th, 2014 in a Lakeview Room and really enjoyed it. The staff were wonderful, helpful and friendly and the breakfast and dinners were great. The rooms are large with a balcony overlooking the lake, a sitting area in the room with a king sized bed and large bathroom adjoining. There is an inside shower/bath as well as an outside private shower which we used.
We had a personal guide for the two of us and visited the sights on Inle Lake in a long tail boat which everyone uses.
The only caution I would say is do not buy from the silversmiths on the lake as we bought a necklace for $150 USD which we found exactly the same in Mandalay for $70.

Room Tip: book a Lakeview Room for the minimal price difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveller_Brody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
77 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed here for three nights and generally liked the hotel. The room was large, but for some reason had no drawers for clothes so we had no work out of our suitcases. The bathroom was very nice with an outdoor shower that worked out very well. The bed was elegant but the mattress didn't quite fit the frame, which made getting out of bed a little tricky.

Because access is by boat and boats don't operate after dark, we had all our dinners in the hotel, as well as breakfasts. The meals were OK, but nothing special.

The hotel is near the north side of the lake which puts it away from most of the attractions but nearer the airport. That's a good thing, because flights leave in the morning and an early trip by boat can get awfully cold. I'm not sure I would have enjoyed an extra 20 minutes on the lake at that time, though the ride was very pleasant at midday.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Richlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We just returned from Myanmar. This hotel was excellent. The location was close to the entrance to Inle Lake and provided more solitude and peace. The rooms were very large and well appointed. Particularly enjoyed the front porches and views from the many windows. The outdoor shower with a lake view window while showering was beyond the beyond. All quite magical. We were well taken care of by the staff. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms right next to the lake with no others in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggiepick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tahoe, Nevada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Since I was on a see everything all at once visa run tour of Myanmar for 6 days I only managed to stay here 1 night. After seeing all the other requisite attractions Myanmar has to offer I have to say this place was the highlight of my trip. The hotel is is very unusual in that it sits over the water directly. I was a bit paranoid of mosquitos but during the season I was there they weren't a problem . The place is exquisitely beautiful and serviced by the always charming Burmese people. The food buffet was very well done. This is the place to come with a romantic partner and kick back for about a week or two.
In the daytime it can get quite hot but at night the temperature can plummet into the 50's ( F) so bring a polar fleece style jacket. No need for Air Con either. I was fortunate enough to avoid the tourist handicraft schlock centers. This place reminded me of old time Venice ,Italy or Bangkok before it became a city. Try to get a room at the front facing the lake but all the rooms were quite nice. Bring mosquito repellant as no one needs Dengue these days especially when things get hotter and muggier. I'll include some of my National Geographic photos that I managed not to screw up.

Room Tip: Front rooms (pricier) are the way to go. If you need junk food snacks etc I'd advise buying in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bones54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SFO
Level Contributor
256 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

All of the major properties on the lake require a boat ride to get there, which should be arranged along with your hotel booking. A short 30 minute ride from town will give you the first glimpse of this clean, calm lake. The hotel rooms all sit on the water and will sway gently with footsteps. The dining room is spectacular and the a la carte menu is excellent. There is no shortage of staff to keep you happy, which makes for a busy tipping at the end of your stay, unless you're a cheap European or ignorant North American. It's difficult to imagine that most of the staff members make less than $10 per day. There is no heat or air con, so mornings can be freezing. Also, the bed is stiff so I asked for an extra comforter to be used as bedding to cushion the stiffness.

Room Tip: Extra comforter for cushioning. Profits leave the lake so tip the woefully underpaid staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wvzjxq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Crest
Level Contributor
252 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed at Myanmar Treasure Resort for four nights. The hotel is located on Inle Lake and its public areas and rooms are on stilts and connected by raised walkways. We reached the resort via a long-tail motor boat. Once inside the waters near the hotel, our driver went to an outlying hotel deck with a local “leg rower” hopped on board and rowed us to the hotel’s main reception dock. All staff members at the hotel were professional, warm and friendly. We were pampered by all personnel! When we returned from our touring each day, we were always met at the dock with a refreshing beverage and a towel (hot or cold depending on the temperature). Each morning we enjoyed a great buffet breakfast. We especially enjoyed the Myanmar foods. Staff members would go through each and every item explaining the different dishes and suggesting which ones we might like to try. The Myanmar foods always included a hot noodle soup (different one each day of our stay), sticky rice with sesame seeds, steamed dumplings, etc. There was a “made-to-order” egg station but we choose to enjoy the local foods. We didn’t have dinner at the hotel as we always had a late lunch. However, the hotel had an affordable outdoor bar with a great fire pit for watching the sunset over Inle Lake. Our room was well-appointed albeit a bit cold in the mornings as there was no heating system. That being said, it was perfect in the afternoon/evenings. We highly recommend Myanmar Treasure Resort!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ExcellentAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taunggyi
1.0 mi away
Inle Princess Resort
Inle Princess Resort
#2 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aureum Palace Resort & Spa Inle
2.0 mi away
Novotel Inle Lake Myat Min
Novotel Inle Lake Myat Min
#5 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Pristine Lotus Spa Resort
Pristine Lotus Spa Resort
#9 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
4.6 mi away
ViewPoint Lodge & Fine Cuisines
2.7 mi away
Villa Inle Resort & Spa
Villa Inle Resort & Spa
#8 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myanmar Treasure Inle Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myanmar Treasure Inle Lake

Property: Myanmar Treasure Inle Lake
Address: Maing Thauk Village, Nyaung Shwe Township, Taunggyi, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Shan State > Taunggyi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Taunggyi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taunggyi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Myanmar Treasure Inle Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JovagoAsia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Myanmar Treasure Inle Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myanmar Treasure Inle Lake Hotel Taunggyi
Myanmar Treasure Inle Lake Taunggyi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing