We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - good but expensive restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inle Lake View Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Taunggyi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed there 2 nights during our 3 week trip through Myanmar. Top location next to the Inle lake - private canal leads directly to the hotel about 100m to the hotel compound. Luxurious and spacious rooms with lake view (in bungalows), very nice bathrooms, everything very clean and tidy. Excellent breakfast (the best we had in Myanmar) and very friendly and attentive staff - one of the best hotels during our trip. Very good restaurant, however somewhat awkward mix of Asian and European cuisine, very good wine list but all in all overly pricey from our perspective - which is the only issue as there are not many restaurants in the area. Nevertheless highly recommended hotel for a stay at Inle Lake.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tueby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012

An absolutely delightful place with the best food of any of the hotels at which we stayed in Burma. This is undoubtedly down to the hotel manager who is very visible and clearly takes an interest in both the guests and all aspects of the hotel experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nat r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

This is a wonderful boutique hotel at the lake. Great restaurant at the lake on the veranda. The room is nice, bed from wood and nice bathroom. Nice balcony with view over the lake.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bharati1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I loved Inle Lake and really enjoyed our time here. Our deluxe room on first floor had a lovely view of the lake and a balcony with outdoor furniture. Food was also very good but service was a bit slow. My husband was not as keen on this hotel as there were frustrations - internet was only through computers in office behind reception etc. but the Lake View Resort is not unique in this! Bathrooms are quite exposed if you are on the ground floor - think the idea is that you can see the lake when in the bath. Only problem is people walking past can see straight in!!

Lovely greeting on arrival from Manager. This does not happen in many places.

Room Tip: First floor rooms with Lake View best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

It is a beautiful property. The check-In process was smooth, the cold drink and cold towel after a hot boat ride were welcome BUT the GM of the hotel waiting to greet each guest made it extra special.
Our room overlooked the lake and was well appointed with a large bathroom, comfortable beds and a nice balcony opening onto the gardens.
Dinner at the resort was delicious and very well presented. We had booked thru an agent so our meal plan was fixed but a look at the a la carte menu showed many interesting dishes.
Breakfast was okay. The service was not in the same class as the night before. In fact at one point it felt like we were in a school cafeteria where food was slapped on the table: "egg" " you want cheese " being tossed at us as she served ! But we laughed it off since the girl did look a bit hassled.
The only grouse we had was the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LadyGolfer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The resort is lovely and we had the advantage of a spacious corner room with a view to the lake. The gardens are beautifully maintained and the dining room is elegant with high ceilings and teak decor. We stayed 5 nights which afforded enough time to visit many parts of Inle Lake. The room was very nicely furnished and the bathroom had nice amenities. The food was delicious but very expensive, so if you don't have a prepaid plan with a large group, eating at the hotel as a couple travelling on their own gets very costly. We ate a couple of meals at a small restaurant down the road for a fraction of the price. The staff are extremely friendly but there was one drawback. On our last day, we had an early morning departure, and there was no one at the reception desk to check us out, plus the chef was still asleep at 6:00 am If it wasn't for Leslie, the head waiter, we would not have had breakfast - plus he very kindly arranged for our bags to be brought down from our room, and after several calls, managed to get a staff person to check us out. The other problem was that the hotel would not change any money for us, nor would they accept credit cards, so make sure you have ample Myanmar cash. There is a nice spa and separate bar area, plus a private dock for boats.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs corner room with a view to the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LilacWaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Two nights into a three night stay at this most magnificent hotel. We have an excellent room with probably the best view over the grounds and the lake with the mountains in the background (room 109). We had the warmest of welcomes from the most gracious and enthusiastic Manager, and have been so well looked after by all the staff. Lesli (the restaurant manager) has been particularly friendly and helpful and he and his team have served us with wonderful food.
A free 15 minute head/shoulder massage was a very nice gesture-much appreciated.
We will be very sad to leave, but will have very fond memories of this place and the people here. If you are coming to Lake Inle-then I recommend that you choose this hotel-you will not regret it!

Room Tip: Room 109 if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sendumdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taunggyi
3.5 mi away
Myanmar Treasure Inle Lake
3.5 mi away
Inle Resort & Spa
Inle Resort & Spa
#4 of 12 in Taunggyi
797 reviews
4.7 mi away
Novotel Inle Lake Myat Min
Novotel Inle Lake Myat Min
#7 of 40 in Nyaungshwe
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
ViewPoint Lodge & Fine Cuisines
4.8 mi away
Aureum Palace Resort & Spa Inle
4.1 mi away
Inle Princess Resort
Inle Princess Resort
#2 of 40 in Nyaungshwe
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inle Lake View Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inle Lake View Resort & Spa

Address: Inle Kaung Daing Village, Nyaung Shwe Township, Taunggyi, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Shan State > Taunggyi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Taunggyi
#2 Spa Hotel in Taunggyi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taunggyi
Price Range: £132 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inle Lake View Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Inle Lake View Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inle Lake View Hotel Taunggyi
Inle Lake View Resort & Spa Myanmar/Taunggyi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing