We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a meal, but avoid staying here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inle Lake View Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Taunggyi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2011

This is a nice property in a great location (then again, ANY hotel on the lake is in a fabulous location). The biggest drawback is the service. The staff are accomodating but overstretched. The manager (who is French) and his haughty daughter make no attempt to put people at ease and spend their social time buttering up large tour groups and their operators. The customer service ethic is deplorable, although living up to the same stereotype, the food is outstanding.

The bedrooms are not heated and the cheap, fluorescent Chinese blankets do not keep you warm when the temperature is 1 degree Celsius.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phineas_fogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2011

Beautifully built buildings offering comfort and ambience and staff who really do want you to enjoy your stay. Outstanding features for us would be; breakfast on the terrace in the early morning sun, the knowledge that after a busy day taking in the culture of the lake and it's people you know that you can rest and relax in high comfort. The food was excelent and well presented.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JazzerDorsetUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Excellent address - elegance and gastronomy deserving of a 5 stars level - warm welcome and environment-friendly decoration, quiet by the lake, room with view(sight), high level of service

Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank ValerieLeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We stayed at this hotel 3 nights.

Despite the good condition of the hotel, an excellent breakfast and the kindness of the myanmar personnel, we can't recommend it. The attitude of the french owner (we are french..) who never said hello and shouted nearly in front of us after the waiter who gave us the table (out of 3 tables...) he was sitting at was just not acceptable...

Other concerns ; Lake view ok but not that great, no bicycle service 'unlike announced on the web site, exagerated policy of marking up every service (boat, taxi) that gives the impression to pay a second time for the bedroom (the hotel is isolated, you have no choice),good restaurant but with european prices and ... taste.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FamilleBertrand_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Impossible to imagine a better place where to stay on Inle Lake. Within a spacious garden with houses built in teakwood in the traditional way, you'll get a clear view over the lake from everywhere. Rooms are spacious, very well decorated : you feel so great to stay here.
People are so kind and helpful, wishing to make your stay very charming.
The spa makes you relax even before choosing your massage. And the restaurant ... clearly the best in all the area with world delicate cooking.
They have made sure to be environment-friendly as regards water treatment, materials used and local employees. You are 5 minutes walk from a small village, where you can come across some some off-duty employees with their family and children, since all of them are from there.
Only trouble with this place is that you have to leave it if you wish to go on with your travel in Myanmar.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick07519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

As a frequent traveller, I had opportunity to visit Myanmar (Burma) quite a few times and stayed at the Inle Lake View Resort each time as for my last stay in April 2010. I can confirm with pleasure that the hotel has kept his unique local charm while maintaining all the qualities required as a 4* de Luxe Boutique Resort of international standard : high hospitality services , a most pleasant restaurant which serves fine dishes , a splendid garden and the last but not the least outstanding views on to the lake from the property… I firmly recommand to stay at Inle Lake View resort to everyone who looks for authencicity, quietness and good services.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MALOU3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

I am sorry to say that in contrast to every other individual, business or hotel I have ever dealt with in Burma, the management of this hotel were dishonest and shady in their dealings with us, stealing $600 dollars. That type of grafting is only normally found with those who are protected by the regime. Please do not let it colour your judgemewhy nt on the country or area, but I would urge you to find another hotel. Every other hotel I have used in Burma reminds us this is our favourite country in the world. For example the Inle Princess is one of the best places in the world.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank AcademeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taunggyi
3.5 mi away
Myanmar Treasure Inle Lake
3.5 mi away
Inle Resort & Spa
Inle Resort & Spa
#3 of 12 in Taunggyi
760 reviews
4.7 mi away
Novotel Inle Lake Myat Min
Novotel Inle Lake Myat Min
#6 of 39 in Nyaungshwe
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
ViewPoint Lodge & Fine Cuisines
0.9 mi away
Pristine Lotus Resort
Pristine Lotus Resort
#9 of 39 in Nyaungshwe
608 reviews
4.8 mi away
Aureum Palace Resort & Spa Inle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inle Lake View Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inle Lake View Resort & Spa

Address: Inle Kaung Daing Village, Nyaung Shwe Township, Taunggyi, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Shan State > Taunggyi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Taunggyi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taunggyi
#2 Spa Hotel in Taunggyi
Price Range: £139 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inle Lake View Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Inle Lake View Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inle Lake View Hotel Taunggyi
Inle Lake View Resort & Spa Myanmar/Taunggyi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing