We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget "upscale"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Princess Hotel Kyaing Tong
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kengtung
Reviewed 1 May 2013

For small town Myanmar, Princess Hotel is quite nice - sure, the electricity may go off during the night (though during outages before 11pm or so their own generator kicks in), the carpet may be a little shabby, the A/C might not really crank - but if you are expecting Western style gloss and amenities you are in the wrong country.

During my stay (during Thingyan, April 2013), double occupancy was US$60/night, including a basic American breakfast, A/C, flat screen TV, private bath, and Wi-Fi. Laundry service and other amenities available on-site. Centrally located.

Keng Tung is great BTW, they don't get a ton of tourists and were amazingly friendly and welcoming - especially during Thingyan, and I much preferred the old-style Thingyan of Keng Tung to the more rave-like, power hose Thingyan of Yangon.

At time of visit, you could do day-treks around Keng Tung but were not allowed to stay overnight in the villages, and not allowed to travel into or our of Keng Tung except by air. Not too far out of town is also a very nice hot springs where you can picnic - little shops there will bring your food and drinks over to your resting spot for you!

If you go to Myanmar, I would recommend a stop in Keng Tung! Please be a conscientious, respectful and friendly traveler though - don't ruin their amazing hospitality for the rest of us! :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SantoGabacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Princess Hotel Kyaing Tong
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2013

This hotel met our needs it has helpful staff, breakfast is ok, rooms are clean and hotwater availble for a shower. Given that Kengtung (Kyaing Tong) is not on the tourist trail they do remakably well to meet western standards. The hotel is also in reach of hill tribes within a day. I have rated this in accordance with the area and not against western standards where I would have put average.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Resovoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed in this hotel three nights. All rooms are basically the same, with twin beds (nicely triple-sheeted, actually), good reading lights, a small desk, a chair and a wardrobe with extra duvets--which unfortunately are so infused with the smell of mothballs that they are not usable.
The small bathrooms are entirely tiled and have a showerhead that just sprays onto the floor--no shower curtain or shower, per se. Water just goes into an open drain--similar to bathrooms we have seen on river boats in China. This isn't actually a problem--we had plenty of hot water. Amenities are surprising--toothbrushes, combs, etc., but "chinese" toilet paper--tiny rolls with about 25 sheets on each roll.
Aside from the mothball smell, the other issue we had was the cleanliness of the rooms. We started out in a basement room (due to a late arrival), I think 102. the second and third nights we moved to 301 on the upper floor, which is a corner room facing the street with high ceilings and very large windows. Basement rooms have a single window that looks out (perhaps 10" away) on the foundation of the buidling next door. Both rooms had cobwebs in the corners of the windows and baths and under the desks. When we moved an easy chair, the floor underneath was thick with dust.
That being said...the staff was very earnest and eager to please, and management also tried to make sure we were happy--we did not make a fuss about, or even mention, the mothballs or dust/cobwebs. staff brought extra towels and pillows immediately and always with a smile.
I think it is a matter of training to clean to international standards. They say that this is the best hotel in the city--though we didn't visit others so can't testify to that. It seems more than urban legend.
Breakfast is very simple. Coffee/tea, sliced fruits, juice, eggs and plain white toast. The breakfast room is in the basement and has family-style tables which make it easy and comfortable to chat with other guests.
This is really a frontier city. If you aren't prepared to make allowances, you'll be unhappy.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms in the basement, and ask for either 301 or 308, the two front rooms on the upper flo...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kenokids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Please keep things in perspective: this area of the notorious golden triangle has only recently opened up for tourists. If you want a treat - go to Inhe/the lake. Keng tong is the base for hiking to see local tribes - Akka, Ahn, Loi, as well as to enjoy simple life of Shan people who are the majority of this state. The state experiencing severe power cuts and even in the hotel electricity was off between 11pm and 6am. You need a torch to walk from a local restaurant after 10pm as street lights are not powered.
Hotel is very basic, but clean. Forget a double bed - you would be put two bed together at best! Shower water pressure was sporadic, bring your shampoo and show gel. Soap is supplied every day. Hotel has laundry services - your clothes will be hand washed and ironed (ie DO NOT EXPECT WESTERN DRY CLEANING levels).
Breakfast is white toast, selection of fried or scrambled eggs, lipton tea and/or instant coffee. You can order local noodles based dishes the night before for your breakfast. Juice served is from chemical concentrate and selection of fruits is permanently banana and papaya. For fruits - you are 3 minute walk from the town's market where abundance of fruits from Thailand is for cheap (not sure why hotel owners have not followed the same path...).
Room have a TV, but mine only ran 2 myanmar channels. Minibar in my room was empty and i thought was due to power shortages...
Try to get a room facing the street: there are regional buses being filled in each morning and it is quite a site! Staff are very friendly, but be patient as this part practices limited English.

In overall, who cares about the hotel since you have made it so far to see the tribes! I am envious you are making your way to Keng Tong! Have a great time!

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the street: there are regional buses being filled in each morning and it is...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sotola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

I only gave this hotel three stars but is the best around this area right now. Kyaing Tong, also known as Keng Tong is a little town that has not seen the tourist boom that has hit Myanmar.
Well worth the visit for the hill tribes and the chance to see Myanmar as it was or is in reality.
Room had in-suite bath and was OK. Two sigle beds and a good breakfast. No buffet. You can have eggs cooked to order with a nice plate of fruit.
Take a walk around town and visit with the people. Very friendly. Nice internet cafe right around the corner with a grocery next door. Go.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cechef1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We first were checked into the Golden Star Hotel, but quickly moved out of there - right on the dirty airport road far from the city center with dust balls rolling over the floor. Princess appeared much better - the location is hard to beat right next to the market, in the middle of the town. There is even a noodle shop next door where you can eat one of the best noodles in town in a family home - divine. The rooms of the hotel are really tired - we saw a cockroach the first night on his way to our bathroom...the carpeted floor has known better days...there is no curtain in the shower, so the whole bathroom gets soaking wet after you take a shower...but the staff is very nice and helpful. Since there is nothing else better, this is would be the only decent place to stay.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the basement
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruchei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

I loved Keng Tung, the markets and the trekking. This is definitely the best in town, they have the best guides and great high speed Internet around the corner. ALSO, please when you trek, no candy to the kids, if you want to take anything, take medicine to the village leaders, the only trash you see is plastic from tourists!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jcb0540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kengtung
0.0 mi away
Amazing Kyaing Tong Resort
0.0 mi away
Harry's Trekking House
Harry's Trekking House
#2 of 2 in Kengtung
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden World Hotel
Golden World Hotel
#1 of 3 in Keng Tung
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Golden Star Hotel
Golden Star Hotel
#2 of 3 in Keng Tung
20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Khema Rattha
Hotel Khema Rattha
#1 of 3 in Kyaing Tong
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Hotel Kyaing Tong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Hotel Kyaing Tong

Address: No.21, Zaydankalay Rd, Kengtung, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Shan State > Kengtung
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kengtung
Price Range: £30 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the downtown and some restaurants, bus stations, mini-mart & banks are nearby. Kengtung Central Market is just 5 minutes walk distance. We arrange to the traveller who want to get visit to the tourist scenic spot. The hotel offers wifi free internet , continental breakfast or local breakfast by request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Princess Hotel Kyaing Tong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Hotel Kengtung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing