We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not luxury but absolute luxury for kyaing tong” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Princess Hotel Kyaing Tong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Princess Hotel Kyaing Tong
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kengtung
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“not luxury but absolute luxury for kyaing tong”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Room comfortable (sadly twin beds!), clean – great to have a duvet! Hot water and 24hr electricity – a luxury in Kyaing Tong! Breakfast was very limited – but enough to fuel the stomach for a day’s trekking. Owner pleasant to talk to. Staff very friendly. All tours & guides in the area are organized by this hotel. It is a beautiful region – we would love to come back! Our only question - we wonder if the organizers of the tours also help the villages that they send the tourists up to?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa and Erich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    29
    52
    5
    4
See reviews for
11
52
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

I had read that you should not stay in the basement rooms of the Princess Hotel in Kyaing Tong. We were there in November 2013 and found that the basement rooms had been upgraded and the carpet had been removed. So there these rooms are no longer a problem. Of course, there is no view and the rooster outside of our window woke us up very early every morning. But we found the owner to be accommodating.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovetheworld2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

In this small remote town, this hotel is the place to stay. I was happy that it was very clean and had nice warm duvets. Clean hardwood floors in our room, no dirty carpets noticed anywhere. Always hot water and electricity. Internet basically not available as in most hotels in Myanmar.
The staff were very helpful and always keeping a schedule of airline flights etc. The dining room located in the basement was the weak spot, cold in the morning and unattractive.
If you are expecting western amenities then don't go to Kengtung it is not for the weak at heart.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lindakreaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles,ca
Level Contributor
343 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

What can I say. You all know that this hotel is very basic-that roosters awaken themselves and us at 4:30 A.M.That the shower and sink and toilet are all together. However, the bed was comfortable with lots of blankets so we were not cold once we got into bed.Getting out of bed is very difficult, however. The hotel was as cold as the outside temperature. All the restaurants in Keng Tung are open air in the freezing night cold as well. We were well prepared for the climate. Staff was hospitable and friendly.Bring flashlights and long underwear. Kengtung and environs are not to be missed.

Room Tip: We were in a superior room on the second-or the first if you are European. I don't know if its p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mflickermd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

My brother and I stayed, for 1 week, in this 19 room hotel, in November of 2013. It is clean, well maintained, conveniently located for the market, with very good service. Most of the staff could make themselves understood in English. It was hard to find fault, with the room being serviced in a timely manner, an abundance of fresh towels, soap, shampoo and the like and the breakfast was adequate. This is not 5 star, but remember where you are.
The hotel offered the ideal location for us to embark on daily treks, into the hinterland, to meet with the many hill tribes, which surround the area. Most are within a couple of hours or so, and some are even closer (Akhi tribe). If you visit, make sure you take some things for them like soap, shampoo, skin lotion, and a little something for the children.

Room Tip: Don't take a room over looking the back of this hotel, as you are likely to be woken up by barki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekBellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

For small town Myanmar, Princess Hotel is quite nice - sure, the electricity may go off during the night (though during outages before 11pm or so their own generator kicks in), the carpet may be a little shabby, the A/C might not really crank - but if you are expecting Western style gloss and amenities you are in the wrong country.

During my stay (during Thingyan, April 2013), double occupancy was US$60/night, including a basic American breakfast, A/C, flat screen TV, private bath, and Wi-Fi. Laundry service and other amenities available on-site. Centrally located.

Keng Tung is great BTW, they don't get a ton of tourists and were amazingly friendly and welcoming - especially during Thingyan, and I much preferred the old-style Thingyan of Keng Tung to the more rave-like, power hose Thingyan of Yangon.

At time of visit, you could do day-treks around Keng Tung but were not allowed to stay overnight in the villages, and not allowed to travel into or our of Keng Tung except by air. Not too far out of town is also a very nice hot springs where you can picnic - little shops there will bring your food and drinks over to your resting spot for you!

If you go to Myanmar, I would recommend a stop in Keng Tung! Please be a conscientious, respectful and friendly traveler though - don't ruin their amazing hospitality for the rest of us! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SantoGabacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hants England
Level Contributor
133 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

This hotel met our needs it has helpful staff, breakfast is ok, rooms are clean and hotwater availble for a shower. Given that Kengtung (Kyaing Tong) is not on the tourist trail they do remakably well to meet western standards. The hotel is also in reach of hill tribes within a day. I have rated this in accordance with the area and not against western standards where I would have put average.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Resovoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kengtung
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
0.0 mi away
Pristine Lotus Spa Resort
Pristine Lotus Spa Resort
#9 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inle Princess Resort
Inle Princess Resort
#2 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Golden Cherry Hotel
Golden Cherry Hotel
#2 of 2 in Tachileik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harry's Trekking House
Harry's Trekking House
#2 of 2 in Kengtung
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Star Hotel
Golden Star Hotel
#3 of 3 in Keng Tung
3.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Hotel Kyaing Tong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Hotel Kyaing Tong

Property: Princess Hotel Kyaing Tong
Address: 21 Zay Dan Kalay Rd., Kengtung, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Shan State > Kengtung
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kengtung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Princess Hotel Kyaing Tong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Hotel Kengtung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing