We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased with May Guesthouse”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nyaung Shwe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
May Guesthouse Inle lake
Ranked #22 of 51 Nyaung Shwe B&B and Inns
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very pleased with May Guesthouse”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

So glad that I stayed at May Guesthouse....was very close to choosing a more established "hotel" but was talked into staying at this cute guesthouse and was glad we did so. The staff were sweet and kind and very accommodating. They provided as much information as possible and assisted with arranging future travel plans (buses). There were patient with my and other travellers never ending questions and requests. Rooms were cozy, clean and the perfect feel for what I was expecting in/around Inle Lake.

Btw, I did see another reviewers comment about WIFI, when I stayed at May Guesthouse they did have Wifi in the rooms and lobby.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    60
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
8
36
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Really nice little guesthouse not far from centre of Nyaungshwe, near quite a few restaurants. It's basic but clean well presented. Nice little garden for breakfast. Friendly, helpful staff who can sort out places to visit, bikes etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Friendly staff, nice breakfast and big rooms- this guest house was one of the best we stayed in.They had a room ready for us when we got there at 4:00 am, not a lot of places do that.
It has good location also, close to shops and to the lake. highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NGilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Nice place and staff, but mediocre breakfast and lacking WiFi. Would have stayed longer, but need WiFi for research. Got a introduction of the city and a map with recommended restaurants. Close to main street. Laundry service. Warm water.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ME229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gliwice
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Definitely the best place we've stayed in Myanmar. Located in the quiet area near the temples, just a short stroll from the restaurants. market and city center. The owner was very helpful and fluent in English. The staff was really friendly. We were given a home-made leaflet with the information about the cycle tours, the boat hires and interesting places around the lake. It helped us a lot. They have a nice, cosy garden where breakfast is served. The guesthouse is rather small and it's reasonable to make a reservation in advance. When we stayed there it was full.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbarakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

We turned up here at 5am having arrived way earlier than expected on the night bus from Yangon and although the guesthouse was closed up, one of the staff members was sleeping in the reception area and let us in so we managed to snooze there free of charge for a couple more hours.

We had booked a double room by telephoning in advance to make a reservation and although we thought two weeks in advance was enough, this was the only place we could find with available rooms. Book early! We were allocated a triple since the doubles were all taken. As with most of the tourist accommodation in Myanmar, relative to the rest of SE Asia, you don't get much for your money, although for the room quality the price $22 was actually ok value. Our room was nicely decorated with wooden panelling, although the walls were so paper thin that we couldn't sleep at first due to a person in the adjacent room snoring so noisily. Our en suite was acceptable and came with hot water shower. There is WiFi in the reception and garden area which also gave a weak signal in our room (which was four along from reception). If WiFi is important then you should request a room near reception. The breakfast is basic but filled a hole for a few hours. The staff are attentive, friendly and helpful. We were provided with a map of the area with a suggested cycle route which turned out to be really useful.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aldolara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Glad we scored rooms here at May. Book early, especially in high-season. One of the best places we've stayed in at Myanmar, they even provided a neat cycling guide for places to visit around Nyaungshwe. Staff are attentive, friendly and helpful. Plenty of space to hang out and do laundry. Walls are a bit thin, so you hear your neighbours sometimes - but this is a small inconvenience compared to all the other places we've had to stay while here. I'd say: "Awesome place. Just book a room, rent a bicycle and follow their bicycle tour!" Inle Lake is one of the most beautiful places you'll ever visit.

Room Tip: They have rooms with personal bathrooms and some with shared bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nyaung Shwe hotels
0.4 mi away
La Maison Birmane
La Maison Birmane
#7 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#10 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
246 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inle Apex Hotel
Inle Apex Hotel
#11 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
ViewPoint Lodge & Fine Cuisines
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amazing Nyaung Shwe
Hotel Amazing Nyaung Shwe
#15 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aquarius Inn
Aquarius Inn
#5 of 51 in Nyaung Shwe
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May Guesthouse Inle lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May Guesthouse Inle lake

Property: May Guesthouse Inle lake
Address: 85 Myawaddy Road, Nyaung Shwe, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Shan State > Nyaung Shwe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Nyaung Shwe
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
May Guesthouse Inle Lake Hotel Nyaungshwe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing