We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nyaung Shwe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
May Guesthouse Inle lake
Ranked #20 of 51 Nyaung Shwe B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I had an overall great experience here. I arrived after a brutal 14 hour night bus, and they gave me my room shortly after breakfast. My room was spacious, clean, and had an attached bathroom. The staff was very friendly and helpful - they booked my plane tickets and guesthouses for my next two stops. They even clean up your room every day. Only gripe is that the walls are very thin, so you can hear what your neighbors are up to. Nothing some earplugs couldn't fix.

The location is fine. A bit east of town center, but it's a very short walk. The breakfast here was good too. I went for the pancake, but I was still hungry so they gave me some eggs as well. Breakfast is served in a charming outside patio.

This is easily the best place I've stayed at in Myanmar. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    60
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
8
36
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Basic accommodation in the town of Nyaungshwe - the staff were extremely helpful and polite. Breakfast in the open air restaurant was served quickly and efficiently. Within easy reach of all of the main tourist attractions and a short walk from the canal leading onto Inle Lake itself,
Cheap, cheerful, safe and very welcoming !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denisegj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Loved this guesthouse. staff were very friendly. Rooms were clean. They give an excellent map of area with cycle trails on it. Hiring one of their bikes are spending the day going around the lake was great fun. Breakfast included is good to get the morning going. Would stay again in a flash

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed here 3 nights in Sept. 2013. The room was spacious, very clean, and comfortable. The staff were extremely helpful with whatever we needed. Breakfast was better than most: egg how you wanted it cooked, 4 pieces of toast, fruit, and tea/coffee. One minute walk from main road and Golden Kite. The only thing I can mention which is why I didn't give it an excellent was that the walls are very thin so you can easily hear the people talking in the room next to you. Also, they told us none of the rooms have double beds, which I thought was strange. Other than that a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KariC86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We arrived very early in the morning and they gave us our room already without any additional charge. The staff were very friendly and organized. They offered us a boat trip, had bikes to rent and organized our taxi back to the airport. Breakfast is included and they serve it in a nice garden environment, top-notch!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hansjoachim88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We arrived early in the morning without a booking and were provided with a triple room, as we needed for 3 adults. We were thankful to be able to check in early after a sleepless overnight bus ride.
The room was basic with 3 single beds and an attached bath. The hot water pressure was inconsistent but was okay. The room was comfortable. The walls are thin and it is easy to hear the neighbors. Rates were not negotiable.
Breakfast was simple but decent: egg, toast, banana and tea/coffee. It is served in a nice garden area.
Location is good, but Nyaungshwe is small, so it is easy to get around.
The staff was friendly and helpful. You can book most things at reception; however we found a much cheaper all day boat tour than what they had on offer.
May GH was a pleasant stay in Inle Lake area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suttonase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

So glad that I stayed at May Guesthouse....was very close to choosing a more established "hotel" but was talked into staying at this cute guesthouse and was glad we did so. The staff were sweet and kind and very accommodating. They provided as much information as possible and assisted with arranging future travel plans (buses). There were patient with my and other travellers never ending questions and requests. Rooms were cozy, clean and the perfect feel for what I was expecting in/around Inle Lake.

Btw, I did see another reviewers comment about WIFI, when I stayed at May Guesthouse they did have Wifi in the rooms and lobby.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nyaung Shwe hotels
0.4 mi away
La Maison Birmane
La Maison Birmane
#7 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#10 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
248 reviews
0.6 mi away
ViewPoint Lodge & Fine Cuisines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inle Apex Hotel
Inle Apex Hotel
#11 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
159 reviews
0.7 mi away
Thanakha Inle Hotel
Thanakha Inle Hotel
#4 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
208 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Manor Hotel Inle
The Manor Hotel Inle
#21 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May Guesthouse Inle lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May Guesthouse Inle lake

Property: May Guesthouse Inle lake
Address: 85 Myawaddy Road, Nyaung Shwe, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Shan State > Nyaung Shwe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Nyaung Shwe
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
May Guesthouse Inle Lake Hotel Nyaungshwe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing