We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best, but not the worst ...”
Review of Goldstar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Goldstar Hotel
Ranked #44 of 51 Nyaung Shwe B&B and Inns
Danang
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not the best, but not the worst ...”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

It was, by far, not the best place we stayed in Myanmar. We ended up here due to every other room in Myanmar being sold out. The room was old, but as clean as possible given it's age. The beds were comfortable and the sheets were clean. The room had a TV, airconditioner and small fridge, but none of them seemed to work. The bathroom was also old, and the hot water didn't work very well. The staff isn't the friendliest, but were decent. They spoke English well enough to communicate and helped us to change money and book a tour. Breakfast wasn't amazing, but was decent. The location was nice - close to the docks and some excellent restaurants, and not too far from the main part of town. Overall, I felt that it was a decent hotel, but a bit expensive for what you got. We switched to another hotel after our first night.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KB1483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    12
    7
    1
    6
See reviews for
3
12
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Stayed here for three nights in January 2013 having travelled around a bit for two weeks. Goldstar was the hotel we stayed at that I liked the least. We were in one of the 'bungalow' rooms - small, walls paper thin, no aircon unit, tiny shower room. Weird system to get hot water - you have to run a tap for 10 minutes. Looks like it may have been quite a nice hotel some years ago, but now looks tired and needs updating. Though, could be we expect too much as Westerners. Some people we were travelling with changed room.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nyaung Shwe hotels

Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We must have had the same room as "pccheong" (see previous review). Same bad experience, worsened by loud party in room across from ours. I read in Lonely Planet that the rooms with a/c were bigger and better. The a/c rooms are in the multi-story building, and when I inspected one it was no better than the bungalow rooms. We asked our tour leader to correct the situation, but he told us there were no other rooms available and we were on our own. I did not find the desk staff to be helpful or friendly. The language barrier was impassable and it's hard to fault them.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoWithGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We were let down by our earlier booking in another hotel and have to switched to Gold Star. The property looks great externally with some single storey chalets housing 2 rooms each and a 3 stories block at the back.
On our first night my wife and I were given the superior chalet room, the furniture were all old and rundown and covered with dusts, curtains were falling off and the room had a grimy stand fan which hasn't been cleaned for ages. The old double bed with a spring mattress had only a thin foam covering and the feeling was like sleeping on metal springs.
The bathroom was worse with old fittings falling apart, all the bathroom tiles badly stained and a badly stained shower curtain hanging with a 2 feet gap from the floor separating the shower from the wc. We have to let the water flow for a full 15 minutes before we can feel the water turning warm, but in the morning there was no hot water. The bathroom gets flooded everytime we showered.
We left for Inle Lake the following morning and on our return asked for rooms on the multi storey block as we were told they were better. It was a big mistake! The room that we got on the 2nd floor was dustier, the bed sagged and with a soft foam mattress we felt like sinking completely into the bed when we slept. The bigger bathroom were worse with broken toilet seat cover held together by cellophane tapes and the bathroom still gets flooded. But this time the whole room and the bath smell.
The room has an air conditioner but we were not given the remote to operate it, It was fortunate that the weather was good at this time of the year. And we could see plugs points extensions on all the four walls of all the rooms that we were honored to peeped into.
All the staff don't seemed to know what they are supposed to do except to carry your luggage probably because they expected to be tipped. The cleaning lady who cleaned our room never bother to changed our used towels and the wet and badly soiled floor mat to the bathroom.
All eight of us agreed it was a big mistake to stay here!
For USD30+ for a room, we might as well sleep at the bus stops if there were any!

Room Tip: Avoid this place, even if you can't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pccheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Definitely the best place I stayed in Burma. The staff were so nice ,always smiling and laughing . They do not all speak good english but there will always be someone to help you .
The hotel is nicely located some 5 minutes walk from the boat rental and the centre .When I arrived by bus from Bagan, a pick up took us all to our respective hotels free of charge
The hotel has a choice of rooms with various prices .My room for $18 was very spacious and nicely decorated. The bathroom even had a bath tub . I had a problem with my shower which was fixed the following day without me asking .
The breakfast had a choice of menu and it was perfect.
I could have stayed there much longer due to the kindness of the staff and I was touched by the presents I received when I left after 6 nights .
Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cv36000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

happy helpful staff that roars with laughter for every word of burmese that you try. helpful in calling hotels, airlines, etc and organizing trips.
good location. the small shop next to the hotel was our default hangout.
best breakfast menu i´ve encountered in myanmar. and we could ask anything outside of the standard menu, too.
after 5 days i even got a nice present when i checked out, but i can't guarantee!

but don´t take the massage roomservice, according to my roommate that was not a professional one.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wagnnxnwp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verbier
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Based on some positive reviews I booked for 4 nights around the beginning of the Phaung Daw U festival 2012 (double room, rated "Superior", with a large bed). Terrible experience! First 2 nights the air conditioning (A/C) was about as loud as a diesel engine running next to your ears, no cold water for the shower, no hot water for the bath tub, only cold water at the wash basin, and when showering got about 1/2 inch of water streaming through the bath room. Got almost scalded when attempting to shower (20 minutes until water became hot, but then too hot to bear as there was not cold water). Complaining the first evening to the people at reception did not improve as no alternative room available for 2 days. Next 2 days got a room which seemed acceptable (A/C seemed in order, hot and cold water for the shower, although hot water was not available at all times), but it turned out that no control over the A/C was possible, both knobs being broken, resulting in a freezing temperature after 3 hours of operation, with no other option than disconnecting the A/C unit, i.e back to square one with no A/C and too high temperature in the room. The shower did not work as the pipe was broken, Showering in the bath tub remained the last option, but without a curtain, still with 1/2 in. of water flowing thru the bathroom, not hot water on the wash basin.
Management was unavailable for compensation (the room could not even be rated "Standard"), and the service people were helpless.
In general the hotel seemed very poorly maintained, with almost everything getting loose of the walls, closets not closing, pipes/faucets leaking, etc.
Too add insult to injury the breakfast was miserable (only the Shan noodles were OK), no variety, resulting in us avoiding having dinner there.
Gate closed during the night, so need to wake up the personnel when coming back or leaving at night for early boat trips or plane catching.

Room Tip: stay there only if you have no other option. the street of the hotel has may heavy trucks passing by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nyaung Shwe hotels
0.0 mi away
ViewPoint Lodge & Fine Cuisines
0.0 mi away
Sanctum Inle Resort
Sanctum Inle Resort
#1 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Inle Lake Myat Min
Novotel Inle Lake Myat Min
#5 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Maison Birmane
La Maison Birmane
#7 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
320 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thanakha Inle Hotel
Thanakha Inle Hotel
#4 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
208 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inle Apex Hotel
Inle Apex Hotel
#11 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldstar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldstar Hotel

Property: Goldstar Hotel
Address: Phaungdwapyan Road, Nyaung Shwe, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Shan State > Nyaung Shwe
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Nyaung Shwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Goldstar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing