We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ViewPoint Lodge & Fine Cuisines
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Nyaung Shwe
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location and Luxury”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The back porch overlooking the paddie fields, lake, and mountains was unbeatable. The staff who work here make you feel very comfortable. Turn down service, great room service, a great barman, etc. All of this for 75 dollars in low season. They have an eco mini-bar which is quite amusing. I was thoroughly satisfied with my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jawarhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    147
    38
    8
    6
See reviews for
68
273
54
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I'm not normally a review writer to be honest, but we've just had such a brilliant stay here that I wanted to post that!
This is a great place to stay - the cottages over the water are beautiful and the restaurant excellent - amazing (huge!!) breakfasts with views over the rice paddies - what a way to start the day.
But the staff are who really make a stay here special. Really friendly and helpful. They made great recommendations for memorable day trips out and made all the necessary arrangements for us.
I really, really recommend you to stay here.
We will be back, I hope.
Thank you to everyone here for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeillThew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It was less expensive than any others we stayed in so I was not expecting the room to be as comfortable and well-designed as it was. A really neat touch was the trunk/coffee table mini bar. An insert in the center lifted out to reveal a large ceramic urn insulated with something like buckwheat and containing cold drinks and big chunks of block ice. So cool. Wish I'd taken a photo! We had an in-room massage which was very nice ad inexpensive.

Room Tip: Our rooms looked across to a country lane with rice paddies and mountains beyond. It was lovely and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathrynSpike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Wow, this is one very classy establishment. From the minute you walk in the door you are looked after with a drink of choice. Beautiful decor, great music. Rooms that have been furnished with quality. Lovely setting at the jetty. The restaurant is decorated beautifully, the menu extensive as is the the drink list and all at a very good price. All meals presented well and delicious. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: A cottage facing the hills not towards the town, has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melly22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I stayed in ViewPoint many times. It's one of two of my favorite hotels on the lake and the favorite one in Nyaung Shwe. Big respect for Boris and his partner for building and managing such a great property. Applause for extremely well-trained staff. The food, the drinks, the restaurant, the bar, the music in the evening, the rooms... it couldn't be any better than this!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LenarcikMarek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

View Point Lodge was by far the nicest place I stayed during 3 weeks in Myanmar. The location is excellent, on the edge of Nyaung Shwe, the main gateway town to Inle Lake. The town itself is very pleasant and laid-back with plenty of restaurants and even a few bars. View Point is at the end of the main street and only a few minutes walk to the centre of town and the market, night market, shops etc.

The cottage rooms are much like something you would get in Bali or parts of Thailand and were very comfortable with stylish shower rooms and plenty of space. Most also have a small private terrace area which is a lovely place to relax.

The breakfast in the veranda style Shan Restaurant was delicious. It’s served on a long platter thing and includes a more than adequate selection. The bar and restaurant also does great real coffee and has a large selection of beer, wine, and cocktails. I ate in the restaurant one evening however and it was very disappointing and overpriced. Food was bland and meat in curry was tough as leather. Limited visits to breakfast after that.

All the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.

My main criticism is that when you’re not used to the heat, the lack of air con was hard to deal with in May when it’s hitting high 30s around Inle. The water cooler in my room seemingly did nothing to help and I found it difficult to sleep on a couple of the hotter nights. I can imagine though that for many of the cooler months it’s not such an issue.

Overall a great place to stay in the Inle Lake area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan_ES1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I was debating whether to stay on the lake or in Nyaungshwe, and was very glad I opted to stay at Viewpoint. It has lovely views over the canal where you can observe the morning activity over breakfast, watching farmers paddle in to sell their produce. The boat ride to Inle Lake (highly recommended) starts right outside the hotel. It is a short walk to all the sights, and you can hire bikes from the hotel for day trips around the countryside. I highly recommend cycling round to the hot springs - about 500m past this, turn left into the next village and talk to the villagers about giving you and your bike a ride across the lake to Maing Thauk (cost me 6,000 kyat), ride / walk up to the Forest Monastery (if you have the energy). When you get back down, and bear right on the main road, the first restaurant on the right is a good spot for a lunch break. Then continue on and worthwhile making a stop at the Red Mountain winery - it has a nice spot outside with great views. From there it is a short ride back to Nyaungshwe - I took a leisurely 8 hrs to do it all, but total cycling time would only be about 2-3 hrs. The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. The deluxe room is spacious, with a lovely balcony and separate living area - standing on stilts over a pond, and looking out to the rice fields beyond.

Room Tip: I think it is worthwhile going for the deluxe rooms as you have a nicer balcony, and extra living ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AudreyH8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nyaung Shwe
0.4 mi away
Thanakha Inle Hotel
Thanakha Inle Hotel
#4 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
208 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Maison Birmane
La Maison Birmane
#7 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
320 reviews
6.5 mi away
Novotel Inle Lake Myat Min
Novotel Inle Lake Myat Min
#5 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Inle Princess Resort
Inle Princess Resort
#2 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
753 reviews
6.7 mi away
Aureum Palace Resort & Spa Inle
4.6 mi away
Myanmar Treasure Inle Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ViewPoint Lodge & Fine Cuisines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ViewPoint Lodge & Fine Cuisines

Property: ViewPoint Lodge & Fine Cuisines
Address: | Near Talk Nan Bridge and Canal, Nyaung Shwe, Myanmar (Formerly View Point Inn)
Region: Myanmar > Shan State > Nyaung Shwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Nyaung Shwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ViewPoint Lodge & Fine Cuisines 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A MEMORABLE IMMERSION IN THE MYANMAR WAY OF LIFETHE PLACEViewPoint Eco-Lodge sits on the edge of the canal leading to the magnificent Inle Lake in the colorful Southern Shan State village of Nyaung Shwe.ViewPoint Eco-Lodge is nestled on its private lake, on the shore of Nyaung Shwe villageROOMSLuxurious Cottage Suites are built in the traditional Shan way. All are easily affordable without compromising comfort, amenities or the unique atmosphere of the Lodge.All Suites are equipped with wireless internet, home cinema, LCD TV and unlimited digital movies and music.RESTAURANTSViewPoint is the only lodge in the Shan region boasting two restaurants that blend excellent local and continental cuisine and wines, room service, together with Swiss management.ECOTOURISM JOURNEYS AND ACTIVITIESViewPoint organizes tours for mountain bikers, trekking and cultural tours. all supervised by experienced local guides.ENVIRONMENTFruit and vegetable plantations Orchid garden Biotope fishing lake Village life at your door step Rice fields and flooding gardens.Because of our ecological commitment, ViewPoint contributes a portion of our income for rural development and sustainable farming in the Inle region.INVISIBLE BENEFITSThermal & sound insulated rooms Double-insulated glass windows Drinking and wastewater are biotechnologically treated before consumption or returned to nature.Food safety is a #1 priority at ViewPoint. We practice specialized food safety procedures to ensure that physical, chemical and biological hazards are eliminated throughout all stages of food processing and preparation.‘ViewPoint is more than just a lodge. Some hotels sell rooms. We sell global satisfaction and lasting memories’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your ViewPoint Lodge & Fine Cuisines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing