We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Nyaungshwe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Princess Garden Hotel
Ranked #3 of 51 Nyaung Shwe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A gem in Nyaungshwe”
Reviewed 26 December 2012

My husband and I spent 5 days at Princess Garden in July 2012. It was by far the best place we stayed during our month in Myanmar. The owners were extremely helpful and assisted us in any way they could. Although located on the edge of town, I found that to be beneficial, as nothing is very far away, and the countryside was beautiful. You can bike to the winery and into town, although everything in town is accessible on foot. The pool was refreshing after a day trip to Inle Lake or whatever other adventure we decided to do. The service was outstanding - cool beverage on arrival most afternoons, great and plentiful breakfast, etc. I highly recommend this bungalow/hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flatlander8_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    126
    23
    10
    4
See reviews for
30
263
49
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
U.K.
Level Contributor
142 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights and loved every minute .The bungalows are spacious and comfortable and there is plenty of hot water for showers.I enjoyed sitting on our verandah watching the day to day village life over the fence from the hotel. Every evening the children would fly their kites high in the sky.It was so peaceful and relaxing with many butterflies and birds flying around. Every aftenoon we were treated to a snack.We had milkshake, tamarind buns, lime juice and sometimes a biscuit. If you weren't sitting by the pool the girls would come and find you to deliver the treat.
Breakfast was really good and the beautiful pancakes that we were given each day were superb.
Ko Aung arranged our airport taxi both ways and was a wealth of information and local knowledge. He and his wife were really interesting to talk to.
We ate many times at Green Chilli which is so convenient and serves delicious food in beautiful surroundings.
The market is wonderful especially when the 5 day market is held there. We enjoyed exploring the little town. We found the post office still with it's english sign in position!. It was so interesting just being in the town. We didn't see many tourists and I expect a lot of people just go on the lake and miss a treat.
The gardens are full of flowers and I liked the little jungly paths that led you to your own little bungalow.
This is one of my favourite places and we would love to return some day.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teddy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We stayed with Ko Aung at the Princess Garden for a total of 8 nights. We had booked for 4 nights but as it was so good and there was a room we stayed for a further 4 nights. The hotel was full all the time we were there but more rooms were being built. The rooms were very comfortable and breakfast first class. We viewed a few hotels in the town and at 45USD this represents exceptional value. Hotel prices in this town have rocketed recently and there is such a shortage of rooms.
The free bicycles were very good, swimming pool clean and the staff were very friendly.
There was a free welcome every afternoon when you returned to the hotel.
Ko Aung was able to arrange cars for us for the airport and days out.

Room Tip: The new rooms at 35USD are fantastic value and have really nice showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pete_n_pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Nice little hotel made of bungalows in a cute garden. At $45 a night, the best value for money of our trip in Myanmar ! Rooms are nice and clean. Breakfast is big and good (fruits, pancakes, eggs, toasts). The owner is nice and helpful. You can get bicycles for free and there is a swimming pool. What else do you need?

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SebSingap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

This hotel was a nice welcome after finishing a 3 day trek from Kalaw to Inle. The pool was very welcoming.

The rooms are in little individual bungalows with a nice porch area to while away the hours on. However the rooms themselves are rather dark. The bathroom is also very dark. The reason this hotel gets a score of "average" from me, and not a "very good" is because of the shower, The shower was TERRIBLE - it was no more than a trickle, making it quite difficult to even wash my hair!! Plus there were lots of ants crawling around on the bathroom floor and walls.

The staff are very friendly. One lady at reception refused to book / call a trishaw for us, however there was another man at reception who was more than happy to do this for us.

The breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HiralP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Nicely equipped bungalows with fans and private balconies where you can relax with a beer and watch the locals come and go to the villages nearby. A little bit on the outskirt of Nyaungshwe so nice and quiet with rural surroundings but still only a short walk from the center of town. Very good breakfast served on the excellent upper floor platform with good views. Friendly and hospitable owners. Big swimming pool also good after a hot day on the bicycle.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hyperborean163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

I went there in July 2011 more than one year ago already ... this place was not yet in any book I read ... so I selected this place based on the comments on tripadvisor only .Shame on me not to have written any review myself for this special place earlier ,... but even after months I couldn't forget this place and especially the kindness of the owners .We are a family of 4 : they waited for us with a free fresh fruit juce in the afternoon . We could use for free their bicycles , which was much appreciated to travel around the lake (he advised us to cross the lake on a small boat from the market place with the bicycles and it was a great experience !). The breakfast was amazing with fresh fruits , juice ,wonderful pane cakes (different flavour every day) and a wonderful view over a very clean swimming pool . The bungalows are very nice in a wonderful and quiet garden. The owner took the time to take us to a close orphan that we could visit and also helped us buy some rice as a small gift we could provide them. If you would like to do it as well , ask him in advance as he is helping other orphans that are more far away....
Go to Princess Garden Hotel , they really deserve you to come ! and I hope you will enjoy your stay as much as we did . It was for us really the best place we stayed in, while in Burma.
One last thing : ask the owner to send you a car to pick you up at the airport as the taxi at the airport are very expensive (and organized so that you can't negotiate the price)and his car will be probably much better!... (we didn't do it as we thought his price was a little bit high ... but it was really a mistake and we ended paying more for a very bad car...)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nyaung Shwe hotels
0.6 mi away
ViewPoint Lodge & Fine Cuisines
0.1 mi away
La Maison Birmane
La Maison Birmane
#7 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
316 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pristine Lotus Spa Resort
Pristine Lotus Spa Resort
#8 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Thanakha Inle Hotel
Thanakha Inle Hotel
#4 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
204 reviews
6.0 mi away
Novotel Inle Lake Myat Min
Novotel Inle Lake Myat Min
#6 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
392 reviews
3.3 mi away
Inle Princess Resort
Inle Princess Resort
#2 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Garden Hotel

Property: Princess Garden Hotel
Address: Mine Li Street, Nyaung Shwe 081, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Shan State > Nyaung Shwe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Nyaung Shwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Princess Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing