We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommendable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Princess Garden Hotel
Ranked #6 of 51 Nyaung Shwe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Recommendable”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights and enjoyed this hotel. The pool was very welcome in the hot afternoons, as were the refreshing drinks we were served each day as we got back to the hotel. The breakfast was good, the bungalows a good size with a nice little veranda. The bathrooms are pretty basic as elsewhere in Myanmar. The location is a little bit outside the very centre of the town, but within easy walking/biking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kati K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    126
    23
    10
    4
See reviews for
30
262
49
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights after being in another guesthouse. Our room by the pool was great, pool was beautiful after days out bike riding and the most helpful and amazing owners and staff. The breakfast was more than what we could eat each day and very good, fruit, pancake, eggs. Lots of information about things to do which we found was invaluable information for FIT's. Thank you for a memorable stay. Would have given 5 stars had Internet been available.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RossJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

we were really disappointed by Princess Garden Hotel, as reading all the reviews we were expecting a whole lot more. What we got was a very basic bungalow with a fan for $50! Crazy!! The walls were paper thin and so sleeping was not easy for me. The bungalows are like any you would find on any cheapo resort in Thailand.
There was a nice pool though which seemed like a luxury but it wasn't very clean when we were there. Breakfast was big and pretty good and owners were very helpful, but as for value for money I would say no.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rod p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turi, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We stayed 4 nights in March 2013 (3 nights in a bungalow and 1 night in a room in front of the swimming pool), the owners and the staff was very kind (every day when you arrive in the afternoon they will take a complimentary shake or fruit juice to you!) and helpful with information, the rooms very clean and big, the swimming pool also very clean and it was very nice to swim in the afternoon after a long and tiring day outside, breakfast was the best in our 20 days Myanmar trip, the only reason I did not rate excellent was the lack of wifi.
In the future, if we come back to lake inle, we will stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stefania68431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We wanted to stay in town and not on the lake when visiting Inle. Based on the TA reviews, we chose the Princess Garden. We were especially interested in the reports of help from the owner in setting up excursions around the lake. In the end, his limited advice was good - we enjoyed the bike ride around the top of the lake and then taking a long boat with bikes across the lake to pedal back to the hotel. For the day long boat trip, he provided good advice about which day to take it to hit the biggest market of the rotating markets. He was reluctant to set up a boat and driver for us, but he relented in the end and had us meet with a man who seemed very good. However, when early morning came, that driver didn't show and we ended up with someone else he subbed in. The driver turned out to be very good, but we weren't appreciative of the bait and switch. The third day we took the trek recommended by the hotel - a lot of it was on the busy road so it was less than what he hoped for, although when we did get to the back areas it was pretty interesting. We stayed in Inle for four nights which was one too many. We thought that we would be taking two full day boat rides on the lake. The owner advised against that which was probably good advice, as the second day would have been to the very south, which is apparently now very touristy and not worth the long ride to and fro. We had asked for that sort of advice by email before coming but the owner advised us to just wait until we arrived. Had we gotten it earlier, we probably would have adjusted our itinerary to spend that extra day elsewhere in Myanmar.

The bungalow itself was, as others have said, quite basic but very clean. Breakfast was adequate and the afternoon drinks upon return were most welcome. They don't provide bikes anymore - they must be rented down the road, but the cost is minimal.

We ate almost all our meals at the Green Chile, which is just a five minute walk away. We found the food there to be quite good - fresh, good service and the place is immaculate.

In summary, we wanted to really like this place but it just seemed like they have expanded a bit too fast and can't give their guests the service that perhaps prior guests received.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruby84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed at Princess Garden end of January and had a wonderful time. The hotel is located outside the very center of town, so it is comparatively quiet, the only drawback is the karaoke bar in the vicinity. The new bungalows next to the very clean pool are best. Breakfast is delicious and the manager, Ko Aung, is extremely helpful and professional. A top chioice while staying at Inle Lake.

Room Tip: The bugalows next to the pool are the newest and
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eckhard_Lyon_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
983 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 947 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

Various room options available. I had a standard room which was large and clean. Fan was good enough but no wifi. Breakfast and setting was very pleasant.
Quiet location with easy short walk into town. Pool was fantastic and complimentary afternoon treat (fruit cocktail/sweet bun) was a nice touch.
I found the owners efficient and helpful.
I booked lake tour in town with no problem.
Dogs did not bother me.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nilintentum_reliquit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nyaung Shwe hotels
0.1 mi away
La Maison Birmane
La Maison Birmane
#7 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
6.0 mi away
Novotel Inle Lake Myat Min
Novotel Inle Lake Myat Min
#6 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
3.3 mi away
Inle Princess Resort
Inle Princess Resort
#2 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inle Apex Hotel
Inle Apex Hotel
#11 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thanakha Inle Hotel
Thanakha Inle Hotel
#3 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aquarius Inn
Aquarius Inn
#4 of 51 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Garden Hotel

Property: Princess Garden Hotel
Address: Mine Li Street, Nyaung Shwe 081, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Shan State > Nyaung Shwe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Nyaung Shwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Princess Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing