We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Princess Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Princess Garden Hotel
Ranked #2 of 49 Nyaung Shwe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shellharbour, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Family owned and ran, by husband and wife and daughters. Wife was good for a joke. Four dogs, two smaller untouchable and one of the larger was always after a pat. Originally booked as for its pool but never got a chance to use it. Wi-Fi very hit and miss. Only on between 6 and 9:30 pm and during breakfast and nonexistent in rooms only at available in restaurant and reception. Best used very early or late. Breakfast is ample, best of the trip. The staff are very helpful when seeking assistance. Good, quiet location, canal at front, ten minutes walk to jetty. Mosquitoes can be vicious at sunset. Just around the corner is Green Chili Restaurant, one of the best in town.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    124
    21
    10
    4
See reviews for
30
258
48
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

we stayed 3 nights in a standard room for 40$/night and 1 night in the bungalow 55$/night. the standard room was big, clean (they cleaned it every day) and had a quite modern shower. the bungalow had nothing more which would justify the higher price.
the hotel contains no restaurant, but they offer a very good breakfast and in the evening they make free juices for their guest.
the managers are also very friendly.
the only little downside to this hotel is the location. it is a bit further from the city centre, but is still in 5-10min walking distance ;)
i definitely recommand this hotel!! but book in advance, they're often fully booked!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steffi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Princess Garden. A great location - just outside the main town area so you feel you are in the countryside as you watch people bathing in the canal at sunset, singing as they do so. Great having your own little cottage to, rather than being in a room. Lovely pool for recovery after busy sightseeing. And so close to lots of delicious eateries.Great value for money.And such a treat to be greeted with a drink every day we came back in before dinner....

Room Tip: We enjoyed having a room facing the back road and canal so we could watch life go by. Check there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

A true gem in lovely peaceful location on the edge of town. The rooms are set amidst a tropical garden with views across the fields and hills. At the same time it only takes a few minutes walk to get to the centre of town and there are also a wide selection of restaurants and other shops within a short distance. The service was exceptional, with everyone so helpful and welcoming and the afternoon treats were an unexpected surprise, as was the pool. The breakfast was the best we had in Myanmar, certainly sets you up for the day. We would not think of stayng anywhere else in Nyaungshwe

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGaffer67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We loved this hotel! Run by a very welcoming family, there are a series of bungalows set in tropical gardens around the pool. The rooms are large and airy with a nice porch, and a beautifully embroidered bed spread - very nice after the Chinese blankets at other hotels! The bathroom is massive.

The service here is exceptional- attentive and packed with little extras- a cool drink when you arrive home, and fruit on check on. Breakfast is served on a lovely veranda overlooking mountains and local houses- quite dreamy! The food is great.

It's about 5 mins walk to the heart of town, and we were so thankful to be out of the hectic tourist area- it's peaceful here but still really close to everything. The owners are great for local advice- and bike hire is cheap. Can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashashahash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Arrived in Nyaungshwe without much of a plan, and got to PGH without a reservation (mid October so high season hadn't started yet). Cuji (sp?) and his wife, the owners, were super accommodating and welcoming. The place itself is great, as others have noted, and the only one with a pool (not olympic but one were you can actually do laps!). All the service staff (win dae and the other girls) are incredibly friendly and helpful, breakfast is delicious (banana pancake!), they give you a fruit juice / shake snack in the afternoon, i could go on. Rooms are basic but clean and spotless so would not hesitate to recommend. Re. location, its slightly less central than others but with a bicycle or even walking you won't take more than a few minutes reaching the main road. Oh, something else, while they are helpful with advice on trips etc they don't try to sell you anything!! i've heard other hotels are pushy with trips and excursions.

Room Tip: Stayed in both "standard" and bungalows and both are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We spent 3 nights in a bungalow (55 USD per night) at Princess Garden Hotel. The bungalow was clean, there is no AC but it is fresh at night so it is not needed.

It is a very nice and charming hotel, located on the edge of town: quiet enough for sleep and only a few minutes walk from restaurants. The swimming pool is great for relaxing during the hot and sunny day.

Their breakfast is nice and copious, they even made us a packed breakfast when we went on an excursion that started at 6am.

The staff was welcoming and useful, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tsiory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nyaung Shwe hotels
34.7 mi away
ViewPoint Lodge & Fine Cuisines
34.7 mi away
Inle Apex Hotel
Inle Apex Hotel
#11 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
34.8 mi away
La Maison Birmane
La Maison Birmane
#7 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.3 mi away
Inle Princess Resort
Inle Princess Resort
#2 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
34.9 mi away
Mingalar Inn
Mingalar Inn
#11 of 49 in Nyaung Shwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
34.7 mi away
Aquarius Inn
Aquarius Inn
#5 of 49 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Garden Hotel

Property: Princess Garden Hotel
Address: Mine Li Street, Nyaung Shwe 081, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Shan State > Nyaung Shwe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Nyaung Shwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Princess Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing