We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest places I have been”
Review of Mingalar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mingalar Inn
Ranked #12 of 51 Nyaung Shwe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the nicest places I have been”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed for two night at this guesthouse. The first night in a large 40$ room and the second night in a 25$ room. We needed to switch rooms because the 40$ room was already booked for the next day. They put our luggage in the new room and even turned on the fan.
The staff was very nice and helpful. Trough them we booked a longtail boat tour and a bus trip back to Yangon. They had a huge breakfast with egg, fruits, juice, jam, toast...
We looked at 4 or 5 places before we found this nice little hotel and I would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fastz87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    164
    43
    13
    10
See reviews for
55
162
41
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

This was the very first hotel we had during our trip in Myanmar. We enjoyed it for 3 nights. Employees are very nice preparated and a smiling. Reception was wery organized and kind in helping us to plan our staying. Our room was much large, comforteable and with nice forniture. Breakfast aboundant and well done. An eccellent permanence with a price only little higher than the average ($40 per room per night). We definitely suggest it!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank andreuzzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

During my stay at Mingalar Inn, I guess I left quite an "impression" with the family who owns the hotel. I was sent to the local hospital after a self-inflicted bicycle accident.

Thanks to the staffs at Mingalar Inn, a tuk tuk came to pick me up and sent me to Nyuang Shwe Hospital for treatment. The local doctor and nurses did a decent job to help me sanitize the wounds.

The owner and his wife, Ma Wint was very nice to send two of their staffs to accompany my friend and I to the hospital. For the rest of my stay, Ma Wint was also very caring, rendering any assistance I might need and always showering her concerns over my wounds. She provided many advices on traveling around Inle Lake area, as I was concerned about lake water contacts with my wounds. Eventually I still decided to go on the boat trip arranged. Ma Wint was super caring. She lent me her hat to make sure I don't get my wounds under the sun.

Beside the hospitality of the owners at Mingalar Inn, the breakfast there was also incredibly awesome with choice of eggs, delicious pancakes, huge fried dough fritters and lots of fruits. Even though the toilet is a little rundown, the overall experience at Mingalar Inn was great thanks to the owners and their families, and staffs.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanwen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

We were surprised at the room after having viewed the hotel online prior to booking. It looks like they've been promoting the JR Suite side that is a brand new building, not the old building where most of the rooms actually are. Our room (on the ground flood) had one window facing the court yard where everyone entered and exited the facility, so it was loud. The other window faced a cement wall. We were given a room with two separate beds - perfect for a married couple. The room was clean, but there was a non-functioning tub in the bathroom and the shower head was right next to the toilet. The bathroom didn't feel as clean. This was the only hotel in our month-long trip that did not provide water bottles in the room (for say, brushing your teeth). No TV, but not such a big deal. However, the breakfast food and patio were great. Most importantly, the hot water did not run out during our showers, which felt like a luxury. Decent spot for budget travelers,but if you're looking for something a little nicer I'd book a Jr. Suite or go elsewhere.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SimDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Comfortable and spacious room, and were able to request for additional blankets as it got quite cold at night.
Reception was friendly. Free wifi only in the reception area.
Bathroom was a little old, but we only used the shower. If you want to use the bathtub, you'll need to wait for around 30minutes.
Breakfast was excellent and very filling. It's served at the terrace - i.e. open-air, so it can get chilly in the winter.
About 5minutes walk to a local convenience shop, also surrounded by restaurants and eateries, all within walking distance or up to about 15minutes.
Also walking distance (10-15min) to the boat jetty.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ling H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Excellent stay. Friendly and organised staff. We had a $40US room which was very spacious and clean. Front desk will assist with all booking needs. Breakfast is delicious. Choice of boiled, fried or scrambled egg. Then choice of banana, plain or tomato and onion pancake. Along with toast, fruit plate and a sweet or savoury fried snack. Just off the main drag. Walls a bit thin but nothing that a pair of earplugs didn't fix. I recommend.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelling_sister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We booked this hotel for two nights on the recommendation of other Trip Advisor users and were not disappointed. There was a warm welcome and the room was spacious with a nice view over the town as other reviewers have said there was no need for airconditioning as it can get quite cold at night. Breakfasts were served on a first floor terrace also overlooking the town and were very good in particular the banana pancakes. All in all excellent value for money.

A note for travellers the taxi from the airport should only be US$15 and there is Inle Lake area "entry fee" of US$10 per person

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nyaung Shwe hotels
0.3 mi away
Inle Apex Hotel
Inle Apex Hotel
#11 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
157 reviews
0.5 mi away
ViewPoint Lodge & Fine Cuisines
6.2 mi away
Novotel Inle Lake Myat Min
Novotel Inle Lake Myat Min
#6 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Maison Birmane
La Maison Birmane
#7 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thanakha Inle Hotel
Thanakha Inle Hotel
#4 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aquarius Inn
Aquarius Inn
#5 of 51 in Nyaung Shwe
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mingalar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mingalar Inn

Property: Mingalar Inn
Address: Phaung Daw Pyan Road | Mingalar Qr., Nyaung Shwe, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Shan State > Nyaung Shwe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Nyaung Shwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mingalar Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Min Ga Lar Inn (family Hotel) Mingalar Inn is a family owned hotel and location is excellent. Rooms are beautifully decorated and with garden. Especially the bamboo decoration designs.Free Wi-Fi and Free breakfast. The Breakfast we offer is the best in town. Traditional breakfast or complementary breakfast are available. Now Mingalar Inn have two different building . The original building is for the budget traveler and The new building is Junior suite room type with swimming pool. We arrange all kind of ticketing service for your convenience and tour around the lake, Boat trip, Pindaya cave ,Kakku and Vineyards &Winery (for sunset). Best price offer for airport transfer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mingalar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mingalar Hotel Nyaungshwe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing