We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this place!”
Review of Mingalar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mingalar Inn
Ranked #13 of 51 Nyaung Shwe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We loved this place!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed in a junior suite in the new building for 3 nights. The staff were so friendly and helpful, the room was big, nice, and clean, it had a beautiful view over the pool, and the location was close to lots of restaurants, shops, etc. Every day when we got back from outings we were greeted with a "welcome back" lemonade, and when we were leaving to fly back to Yangon the staff came out to the taxi to wave goodbye! We really enjoyed our stay here, and would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank umiamiamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    164
    43
    13
    10
See reviews for
55
163
41
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New york
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Ok, the rooms are a bit primitive, but the staff is lovely, the breakfast is very good, they have a nice pool, but there are somethings that stop this from being a perfect stay, first as mentioned - you can certainly find nicer rooms in Nyaungshwe, and many better places to hang out (the layout really isn't all that conducive to just hanging out and meeting other travelers - partly because they try to cater to extreme budget travelers as well as a more upscale clientele, who are the only ones allowed to use or hang out near the pool which is the only large space for hanging out. They were building something (I'm thinking a bar) near the pool which could alleviate the issue.

They also seem to offer better rates if you just show up, rather than booking online, and the rules seem to be a bit unevenly applied. One family paid had to pay for a half night stay, when they arrived at 4 AM while another pair of travelers who arrived 5 minutes later were not charged for a half night stay for the first night.

Laundry was slow, and not all of my own clothes came back, but instead I got someone else's shirt. Rooms are near the road so it can be a bit noisy, but they have air con which is nice. Heavier curtains instead of the gauze ones would be nice and make sleeping in a bit easier.

Room Tip: rooms by the pool are very nice and have a their own little deck area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doc_JL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mingalarinn, Manager at Mingalar Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you very much for staying in our place and the review. we recognize you because we help you to get back your daughter's swim suit from the bus and didn't charge for your daughter .
We have some different type of room. Budget room types are not in the swimming pool part. The room prices are different and facility also different.
The swimming pool we build it for junior suite room only . But we also offer the traveler who stay in the budget room can request to use the pool and charged per hour. We manage the pool side not to be busy and crowded all the time because the pool is just in front of the Junior suite building . if we allowed everyone from the budget side for the pool, most of the time will be noisy and busy and it can disturb a lot to the junior suite room customer.
We prefer the pool side stay customer have more privacy and pleasant stay. we also have garden and terrace in the budget side.
For early check in , it depend on how early arrive and check in we may charge for it . but for late morning arrive and check in may not be charged. ( if all the rooms are fulled , early check in is not available ).
"5 minute different arrive were not charged " what you hear was absolutely not true. They may arrive late in the morning , were not charged.
sorry for mistake with the someone else's shirt. This is rarely happened.
Thanks again for other suggestion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We met some amazingly nice people when we were in Myanmar - it seems everyone in the country is adorable, but the staff here took the biscuit, even coming out to wave us off when we left. Thanks for a great stay guys!

The hotel itself is very nice. We stayed on the cheaper side (meaning we couldn't use the pool for free), but still had a very nice clean room, with a comfortable bed, good shower and a BATH!!! :)

The staff would clean our room and spray for mosquitoes on request.

The wi-fi was a bit temperamental, but hey - you're on holiday!

Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: The hotel has two wings - one with a pool and one without. The pool-side rooms are more expensive, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hudbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

5-star rating for its great service and helpful owner and staff. I arrived in Nyaungshwe (Inle Lake) at 3 in the morning. After walking around the town, this is the only hostel that is accessible (having a door bell), and the only one whose staff were excitedly open the door for me and wake the owner up. The owner couple, still sleepy, still try their best to put a big smile and show me to the room. At first I said no because it was too pricey for me as a solo traveler. They still smiled and say it is okay. After 15 minutes of walking and not finding any other hostel that would open the door for me, shamelessly I knocked again on their door and they received me again with warm welcome. All the activity I did in Inle Lake was all organized through this hostel. Even the price of the boat trip was cheaper than booking directly through the freelance boatguy in the canal! Mingalar costed me 18000 kyat, meanwhile in the canal I only found 25000 kyat (for the full trip!). The lady owner was really sweet and try to find me other guests to share the boat with, although finally I found them on the street instead. They really took care of me, gave me 3 times of free lime juice during my 1.5 day of staying there. She speaks a very good English and smile a lot. The breakfast was good with toast, egg, fries, and pancake all included in the price. During my last day, they offered me a free shower with a fresh towel! Even a 500 kyat discount for my room without me asking! ;-) Checking-in at 3 am would cost you half day. The hostel is divided into old building and new building. The rooms in old building starts at 15000 kyat (without swimming pool), the new one starts at 50000 kyat. Aim for 201 at the old building for a strong wifi connection!

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Amri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitt Meadows, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for only 1 night because our main purpose was to visit Inle Lake for the day. Room had AC, was very spacious & clean. We had a balcony which was great to lounge & enjoy the view of garden area/street below. Wifi was great speed as we were able to Skype family members. Bathroom wasn't fancy but it was clean & functioned well. TV had english movies channels & room had mini fridge.

Staff was very nice & always friendly. Breakfast was a la carte & included in our room rate, which was very good with huge portions. There were a few good restaurants within walking distance nearby for lunch & dinner. Everything was excellent & we had no complaints.

Ps. Just heard hotel has a new pool in garden area. Too bad we missed out on this :(

Room Tip: Ask for room on 2nd floor (only 2 levels) because you gave nice view of grounds & street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuuWongGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

This place has a brand new pool, one of only two in town. The staff were very friendly and the breakfasts were fantastic and huge. We stayed in an upstairs suite with balcony. The decor was out-dated but the room was spacious and air-conditioned. For $50, this place was great value.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bospub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Very pleased with this place. Great standard for Myanmar. Edible (and plentiful) breakfast, serviceable wifi connection, and a good location close to all you need in the town. The staff were very helpful and pleasant, and nothing seemed like too much trouble. The room was huge and had comfortable chairs, bed and great natural light.

There's also a book exchange - drop 2 off, get 1 in return.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Josh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nyaung Shwe hotels
0.5 mi away
Thanakha Inle Hotel
Thanakha Inle Hotel
#4 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
208 reviews
0.5 mi away
ViewPoint Lodge & Fine Cuisines
0.3 mi away
Inle Apex Hotel
Inle Apex Hotel
#11 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Maison Birmane
La Maison Birmane
#7 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
320 reviews
6.2 mi away
Novotel Inle Lake Myat Min
Novotel Inle Lake Myat Min
#5 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
402 reviews
4.5 mi away
Pristine Lotus Spa Resort
Pristine Lotus Spa Resort
#8 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mingalar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mingalar Inn

Property: Mingalar Inn
Address: Phaung Daw Pyan Road | Mingalar Qr., Nyaung Shwe, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Shan State > Nyaung Shwe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Nyaung Shwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mingalar Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Min Ga Lar Inn (family Hotel) Mingalar Inn is a family owned hotel and location is excellent. Rooms are beautifully decorated and with garden. Especially the bamboo decoration designs.Free Wi-Fi and Free breakfast. The Breakfast we offer is the best in town. Traditional breakfast or complementary breakfast are available. Now Mingalar Inn have two different building . The original building is for the budget traveler and The new building is Junior suite room type with swimming pool. We arrange all kind of ticketing service for your convenience and tour around the lake, Boat trip, Pindaya cave ,Kakku and Vineyards &Winery (for sunset). Best price offer for airport transfer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mingalar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mingalar Hotel Nyaungshwe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing