We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place in a quiet area”
Review of La Maison Birmane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Maison Birmane
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Nyaung Shwe
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great little place in a quiet area”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great owner who also speaks French. Staff is very friendly and helpful and finding ways to fill your days. The breakfast is included and plentiful although not many choices but does the trick before an early morning boat ride on Inle Lake.

Room Tip: We had an end bungalow and wished we had had more time in Inle Lake to enjoy it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChantalOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    88
    17
    1
    3
See reviews for
38
179
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suva, Fiji
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at La Maison Birmane for three nights during a quick holiday to Myanmar. The hotel was a delight - it is tucked away in a residential area but only five - ten minutes walk to the centre of Nyaungshwe town. The rooms are very clean, well-designed and furnished and the bed is comfortable. It was great to come back to after a long day on the lake and trekking. The staff are lovely and friendly, nothing is too much trouble. Meals at the small restaurant also very good - simple but tasty. Our only suggestion is that rooms would be even nicer if flyscreens were installed on the windows to keep the mosquitoes out. Other than that, a wonderful stay and would highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JakeandKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This gorgeous B&B is tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the local village but within easy walking distance. It is stunning. A beautiful natural rather than ornate garden is the centrepiece for huge chalets with cool teak interiors, fabulous walk in showers, a deck overlooking the garden and huge beds. The attention to detail is lovely and owners Pierre and Tun have designed the whole place really well. They have also helped locals with the design of a catering school and are really connected to the community. Breakfast is delicious and is served in the shade under the terrace by lovely staff. Tun and the team were so helpful with local attractions and gave me a really warm welcome. This is a very relaxing retreat and is really very special..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jude T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

we recently spent 3 nights in a chalet at the mason birmaine. we booked the chalet as we were told that cheaper options were unavailable although "walk in" guests were given other options during our stay. i realise that these vacancies could have become available through cancellations after our booking. i guess the lesson there to me is to always ask to have the booking changed for a cheaper room should one become available.
our chalet was very stylish and spacious. no aircon but because of the altitude this is unnecessary. there is an overhead fan. both the room and the bathroom are poorly lit and there was an absence of comfortable furniture both in the room and the common areas. there were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. there is a lot of construction going on next door and despite an assurance that noise would not start until 8:30am we were woken up every morning at 5:30 by the construction. unfortunately during our stay the construction was so noisy during the day that we were unable to sit on our nice deck and enjoy the beautiful garden. i realise that the construction is out of the control of the owner of the mason birmaine but i do think an acknowledgement and a free cocktail/glass of wine would be an easy appeasement instead of the rather defensive long lecture i received when i mentioned the early start of the work.
the staff were wonderful, willing, smiling and helpful. i did feel the owner could have learnt something from them although it is a very small boutique hotel with few guests and i saw the owner every day both morning and evening he never once asked if everything was ok.
the area is nice, a calm oasis away form the bustle of nyaungschwe with a good restaurant within a few minutes. overall positive but could have been so much better with a different attitude from the owner.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjp_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Maison Birmane comprises about 10 bungalows surrounding a beautiful garden where bananas and strawberries are grown and served for breakfast. In the evening, the small restaurant and bar terrace is romantically illuminated, kitchen and cocktails are both very good. Ours was a standard bungalow with huge modern bathroom and a private sun terrace. Since the air is fresh in the morning near Inle Lake, air-con is absolutely unnecessary and the rooms are equipped with a fan and good cosy blankets.
Located in a nice and safe residential are, a very good Thai restaurant (plus some other dining options) and a family-run day spa providing relaxing massages are located just around the corner. The center and market as well as the jetty are at less than 10 mins. walking distance.
The manager and reception staff were very attentive and made us enjoy our stay a lot! They assisted in arranging all kinds of transportation for daytrips, reserved our cooking course etc. We found the manager´s proposal to include a hike to Kakku to our daytrip there particularly valuable and fully recommend this - the scenery is just stunning and this walk is really off-the-beaten-track.

Finally, a word on these `minority reports` complaining about the place itself and its manager: we are very happy that we did not let these few negative reviews put us off and have spent 5 wonderful days at Maison Birmane! In fact, it does provide mosquito nets, staff does speak English and all of them are very friendly and helpful. The location has already been mentioned: whoever considers this "decentral" - well, personally, we did not find the village center so appealing to stay in one of the hotels there and were actually happy to stay in this quiet and nearby neighborhood. À propos neighbor: The neighbor´s construction works start not before 8:30am as indicated on the reception´s blackboard. We are noise-sensible travellers and actually never noticed any construction noise at all! Based on our experience, we can´t share the critique mentioned in these few reviews and we truly hope that this will add to the many outstanding reviews on this recommendable place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trotamundo-Silke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaMaisonbirmane, General Manager at La Maison Birmane, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dearest Guests,
We don`t find the word how to thank you for your really really kindefull stay in our place.
As you know, the quality of any accommodation depends a lot of qualitative customers. And we have so say that with people like you it`s a real pleasure and a big motivation for the whole staff. Even small defects due to real uncomfortable conditions in Burma, you still have a positive perception and I think it`s the best attitude to get when you travel.
We wish you all the best.
Sincerely yours
Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Excellent boutique hotel without the price tag, set in beautiful gardens.
Friendly and informative hosts who can help with any of your travel plans.
Efficient staff.
Tasteful and very clean accommodations.
We appreciated the mosquito nets in all the rooms.
Very good and generous breakfasts.
The owners will make your stay very comfortable.
We hope that these positive comments will negate any of the unnecessary negative comments made about some situations that cannot be controlled by the hotel staff.
Thank you for a good and peaceful stay,
The 2 Canadian ladies

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaMaisonbirmane, General Manager at La Maison Birmane, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Merci merci !!
It was so nice so welcome you. Thank you so much to take the time to write your review. We hope you will travel again in Burma where so many places and people remain to discovery.
Bonjour à vos amis canadiens!
Sincères salutations
Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed with our 3 kids at La Maison Birmane for two nights in February and everything was perfect. I am outraged and horrified by defamatory comments that were posted recently. I think certain people do not realize the damage such comments can do to a small business. As I just said, everything was perfect. The hotel is very stylish, set around beautiful gardens, with gorgeous rooms. It is very conveniently located close to the town center. The staff is very friendly and compliant. The food is great, with homemade jams, fruit pies, etc.
When we stayed at La Maison Birmane, there was a house nearby under construction, but how can we hold the hotel managers responsible for that? Myanmar is a developing country. Those who cannot understand that should maybe not travel to such a beautiful country.
Thank you for these beautiful instants at La Maison Birmane
Bénédicte et Jean-Louis

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BGG13Hanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaMaisonbirmane, General Manager at La Maison Birmane, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour Bénédicte ainsi qu`à votre famille,
Merci beaucoup d`avoir choisi la maison birmane pour votre séjour au lac Inle. Nous vous remercions chaleureusement pour votre commentaire. Nous espérons que la Birmanie vous aura ouvert un regard nouveau sur l`Asie du sud-est.
Bonne continuation.
Avec les salutations de toute notre équipe,
Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nyaung Shwe hotels
0.5 mi away
ViewPoint Lodge & Fine Cuisines
0.4 mi away
Thanakha Inle Hotel
Thanakha Inle Hotel
#3 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
204 reviews
6.1 mi away
Novotel Inle Lake Myat Min
Novotel Inle Lake Myat Min
#6 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inle Apex Hotel
Inle Apex Hotel
#11 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
157 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pristine Lotus Spa Resort
Pristine Lotus Spa Resort
#9 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
571 reviews
3.5 mi away
Inle Princess Resort
Inle Princess Resort
#2 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Birmane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Birmane

Property: La Maison Birmane
Address: Say Yone Rd, Nyaung Shwe, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Shan State > Nyaung Shwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Nyaung Shwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Maison Birmane is located in a very quiet back street in the village of Nyaung Shwe (INLE LAKE).You can join in a few minutes the market, many restaurants, and the river jetty to visit the INLE LAKE. We propose spacious and comfortable Chalets and Bungalows in a modern AsianArchitecture mixed with traditional Burmese wooden houses.Each Bungalow and Chalet has a large and private terrace with parasol and sunloungers, facing to the colorful and vegetable garden.The lobby offer a really friendly area for breakfast, café – bar, boutique and restaurant. Free Wi-Fi is available at the lobby.Our facilities include a writing desk, day bed, mosquito net, ceiling fan,complimentary mineral water, free WI-FI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Maison Birmane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing