We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good if you don't mind a bit of noise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Inle Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inle Star Hotel
Ranked #27 of 49 Nyaung Shwe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good if you don't mind a bit of noise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Inle Star Motel is a pretty good choice. Our room was good - clean, serviced daily. Breakfast was consistently good (great eggs!), though the rooftop is a little chilly at this time of year!

The location is great. There is wifi, but it doesn't always work - this is the same everywhere in Nyaungshwe though. The staff are helpful, though they don't all have great english. However, it seems there is always someone available with good English so it's not really a problem.

The only real issue is the noise from the boats. It's not to be underestimated - I've heard quieter helicopters. All is quiet between 10pm and 6am though, and a pair of earplugs sorts things out nicely.

I'd stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    41
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
9
40
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I arrived at the hotel, only to find out that they didn't have double beds (even though we requested one a month ago when we booked). We were a little annoyed, but said it was okay and took the twin room. The people who worked there weren't too concerned about our problems though. They pretty much said "take it or leave it". We walked into the room to find soiled sheets, a FILTHY bathroom and dirty, used towels. We requested new towels, and I cleaned the bathroom before I would use it. It was so dirty I wouldn't even walk barefoot in it before I cleaned it. The next morning we woke up, tried to shower, but there was no hot water. Apparently they use solar heating, and because the town is very misty in the mornings, they only get hot water in the afternoon. Are you kidding me?? It's freezing in inle in the morning - you cannot shower in cold water as you will get sick. We promptly checked out, and moved to another hotel. For $60 a night inle star hotel is a joke! Also, be prepared to be woken up at 4:30am by boats outside the room. We moved to royal inlay hotel, for a similar price, got amazing service and a fantastic room. Do not stay at inle star! The room was not even worth $10. Worst I have seen in a month in Asia!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinkles24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

PROS:

Right next to the bridge over the canal, the location has easy access to boats for Inle Lake trips, close to restaurants, travel agents, bike rental, shops, pagodas.

Rooms are spacious and clean with comfortable beds, quality linens, and great balconies overlooking the canal. Best sleep I had in Myanmar!

The motel is pretty new and is a reasonably priced mid-range option in town. There's a roof-top restaurant which offers good views over the canal.

CONS:

The loud engines of boats plying the canal from early morning until after dark could drive noise-sensitive travellers a bit crazy. The nights are mercifully quiet.

Drainage in the bathroom is so poor that you have to don flip flops to wade through a pool of standing water to access the sink or toilet.

Hot water is a distant possibility. Seems to be warmer at some times of day than at others.

The young staff speak little if any English. Orders went unfilled, questions went unanswered.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherfromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

The locations of the motel is convenient but just next to the river and thus you could probably be easily woken by the engines of the motor boat which starts at very early morning. Though the breakfast is basic but the roof top dinning environment is quite relaxing.

Rooms are clean and the services are superb! We arrived at Nyaungshwe by bus at around 5am, while the check-in time is 2pm but the motel still give me a room upon arrival as they saw our sleepy faces!

Room Tip: Try not to pick those rooms facing the river if you want good sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiuKo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyaungshwe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

The Inle star has very enthusiastic and responsive young staff. Breakfast is simple but good. It's location next to canal should make it an ideal location. Unfortunately it's structure makes for an echo chamber effect from the motor noise of the long boats plying their trade on the canal. The passing street trade on the dusty road outside adds to the noise level inside without providing the charm.

The rooms were basic . The bathroom in particular could do with an upgrade. The building looks as if it still needs to be completed. I could not recommend. I suspect it is currently being used by tourists because of the accommodation shortage in Nyaungshaw .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vagtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

My group of 24 arrived on 18 Nov and we almost occupied the whole motel, 12 out of 13 rooms. Some rooms with aircond and some with fans.

The rooms are not very cleaned, lack of hot water due to fast running out. Water pressure is low. The operator was not very experienced, try hard to serve my group with the simple breakfast.

Ideal for backpacker or small group of max 6 pax.

Need to keep clean and tidy.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chu Beng L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Inle Star Motel for 2 nights at the beginning of October 2013.

We thought it would be nice to stay in one of the resorts on the lake but when we saw the crazy prices (100 - 200 euros per night) we decided to stay in Nyaungshwe. If you stay in one of the lake resorts you are stuck there unless you get a boat. In Nyaungshwe, you have all the amenities and action of the town and you can easily make a day trip on a boat so see the people and places and beauty around Inle lake.

Inle Star Motel is very clean, the people that run the hotel are very friendly, it's keenly priced, has wifi that's fast enough, and there is a nice seating area on the roof where breakfast is served or you can enjoy the view of the town and mountains in the evening time.

Definitely recommend this as a good place to stay (clean and good value).
The only bad thing I would say about the place is it's right beside the river/canal and the riverboats can be a bit noisy. The don't run at nighttime though but do start early in the morning. You could ask for a room away from the canal side of the Motel if you are a light sleeper.

I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nyaung Shwe hotels
0.7 mi away
Yar Pyae Hotel
Yar Pyae Hotel
#2 of 49 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Fish Motel
Golden Fish Motel
#29 of 49 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aquarius Inn
Aquarius Inn
#6 of 49 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queen Inn
Queen Inn
#28 of 49 in Nyaung Shwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sweet Inn
Sweet Inn
#39 of 49 in Nyaung Shwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
4.9 mi away
Shwe Pauk Pin Inthar House
Shwe Pauk Pin Inthar House
#22 of 49 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inle Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inle Star Hotel

Property: Inle Star Hotel
Address: 49, Kann Nar Road, Win Quarter 2 | South of Tait Nan Bridge, Nyaung Shwe 11221, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Shan State > Nyaung Shwe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Nyaung Shwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inle Star Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., JovagoAsia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Inle Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing