We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shwe Inn Tha Floating Resort
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Nyaung Shwe
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Much better than we expected”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We were not expecting much, having read the varying reviews, with some reporting rodents & cockroaches! Hence, we were pleasantly surprised with our enormous and clean Deluxe room no 210. There was a double and single bed and mattresses were comfortable. The décor was fine with us. No issues with wifi from our room, it was adequate for what’s app messaging & emails. The room had no TV but we did not mind. We had both the indoor shower over the bathtub, as well as the outdoor shower. There was adequate water pressure & hot water for showering. Our room did not face the religious chanting and thankfully, the noise from the boats was not jarring. When we were there in mid Dec 2013, the country was hit by a cold spell and Inle lake, being at a higher altitude above sea level, was the coldest of the places we visited in Myanmar. It was too cold to use the swimming pool. It was cold at night despite turning on the heater function on the air conditioner unit. (Hence, we did not experience any mosquitoes.) Tip: wear their bathrobes to keep warm in bed. The best thing about Shwe Inn Tha Floating Resort was the view of sunrise over the lake. Our room 210 had a great view and we could view the sunrise from our open air deck.

Food-wise: we had a late heavy lunch, hence we skipped dinner and went to bed early, anticipating that we would be woken early by the boats & planning to wake up early for the sunrise. Breakfast was buffet with local and western selection but our favourite was this mouth-watering shan noodles in coconut soup / gravy. Yum yum.

Shwe Inn Tha Floating Resort is located on the southern part of Inle lake. From Nyaung Shwe town, it is one hour therapeutic boat ride to the resort. Inle lake is gorgeous and Shwe Inn Tha Floating Resort made our visit even more memorable.

Room Tip: Our room 210 had a great view and we could view the sunrise from our open air deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g0_f0r_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    105
    53
    27
    14
See reviews for
46
126
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The hotel is very dated and a little run down. Staff were very nice but limited in English. You are on the lake so you have no other choice but to eat in the hotel...food mediocre and served many times cold...saw a lot of "leaning but not cleaning" by the staff (I really wanted to prune the fabulous but neglected plants).The dining area was always cold with absolutely no atmosphere. The internet connection was really bad so connecting with family or friends was not ideal. The rooms had an air/heat conditioner which only kept you warm if you stood under it. Glad we
had loaded some shows and music to watch and listen to on our tablet because there is no entertainment what so ever. On the plus side, the veranda had spectacular views with amazing
sunrises. Suggest that you buy some snacks/drinks (they do provide bottled water) in town before you get on long boat for the 45 minute ride to hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyStayMyOpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

It was difficult to rate this hotel - it isn't average but it isn't poor - maybe 2and a half. On the positive side we had a large room looking out over the lake with large glass windows and a largish outside space. There was screening over the doors to stop the bugs coming in and the beds had good mosquito nets which were brought down each nights by the maids. We were able to watch the sun come up over the Lake and see the world go by - by noisy boats. The room had a fridge(not working), tea and coffee facilities, bottles of water for the kettle and in the bathroom, bathrobes, flip flops and hair dryer. This was the only hotel we stayed in in Myanmar which didn't provide a torch. This hotel was the only one where you needed one. The lighting everywhere was either dim or non-existent. To get into the safe deposit box you really needed a torch to see the numbers. The bathroom was equally dark and a torch to see into the jars of toiletries was a must. The bathroom had an internal bath - water didn't drain away and a small hand shower. Beyond the bathroom, outside was a large shower. This worked very effectively in the morning. I didn't try it in the dark because of the risk of mosquitos. Outside, you opened the door by unlocking a padlock. Again, you needed a torch to see the small keyhole. We stayed here as part of our Jules Verne tour and our evening meals were included. Our first was the worst meal we had had in Myanmar and I was quite ill after it. Our second was much better, once our Asian Tours Guide had a word with them. The bar was around the back - again we needed the torch to read the cocktail list. I had the last tonic to go with my gin - so after that we were all tonic less. The breakfasts were also the worst we had eaten and appeared to be made up of leftovers. The sight of ants running up and down the inside of a fridge in the bar and my illness made us all a bit wary about what to eat. However, it was a good location and in easy reach of all the sights.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceramica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This is a comfortable Hotel on stilts about an hour each way by boat from the nearest town. So the cost of this transport has to be added to the Hotel price !A bit shabby in places,meals nothing special. Staff only fairly well trained with the exception of the tiny Bar which not only had lethargic and uninterested staff but warm Beer and Gin but no tonic ! A bit serious when you are stuck there at night with no alternative for drinks or eating out as no boats running after sunset.However the location was good being close to the markets ,floating gardens and local artisans and we didn't find the noise of the passing boats too intrusive.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscar0734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This hotel needs updating though it is adequate for a two night stay providing you get a good deal for the stay. The rooms are large but tired and most have a great view but not all - and some can be noisy from the boats passing for most of the day. The bar is a little out of the way & more could be done to improve that area. The dinner menu quality is poor - you are a captive market - breakfast is not much better. The wifi is only available in the lobby area. We were booked in here by exotissimo & I suspect there are better quality hotels for similar cost. The lake is a great place to visit and the hotel location was very good.

Room Tip: Get a view overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beats21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed three nights in a deluxe room. We booked well in advance, so we payed 130 USD per night, which is well below their list price at 178 USD. What you pay for here is the location. It's nice to be on the lake, close to all the sights. As others have pointed out, the location is still not perfect since the "boat highway" is just outside with noise starting before sunrise and the monks praying even earlier, sharing that using a big loudspeaker.

The bungalows are quite nice as well as the layout of the place, but everything feels a bit dated and is lacking maintenance. The restaurant lacks charm and the food is really nothing special, actually quite bland. As everyone is "trapped" here in the evening, they don't have to anything extra to get customers.

Staff ok, but not extremely helpful.

All in all, not value for money compared to other places in Myanmar.

Room Tip: Good luck with tryning to find one without noise from the boat highway and the monks....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trallalao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This was my third time to Inle and we stayed at this hotel and loved it. The hotel was expensive ($167/night) but it is a very nice hotel and close to all the sites on Inle. We had a large bungalow, the largest room of our trip. While staying at a hotel on stilts over the lake is a bit confining (your pretty much restricted to your hotel at night since the boats don't operate at night), the experience of staying at a hotel on stilts makes up for it. The hotel staff was very friendly and help arrange daily boat trips around the lake and down to Sankar. We tried to arrange for a boat and driver in Nyaungshwe but we found that arranging for a boat and driver through the hotel when we got there was cheaper. I would recommend making your hotel reservations as soon as you know your itinerary as we had a hard time finding available rooms at nice hotels in Inle; we booked 6 weeks in advance and got the last room here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Over60Countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nyaung Shwe
12.7 mi away
ViewPoint Lodge & Fine Cuisines
6.9 mi away
Novotel Inle Lake Myat Min
Novotel Inle Lake Myat Min
#5 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
404 reviews
12.4 mi away
Thanakha Inle Hotel
Thanakha Inle Hotel
#4 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Pristine Lotus Spa Resort
Pristine Lotus Spa Resort
#8 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
576 reviews
8.4 mi away
Myanmar Treasure Inle Lake
9.4 mi away
Inle Princess Resort
Inle Princess Resort
#2 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shwe Inn Tha Floating Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shwe Inn Tha Floating Resort

Property: Shwe Inn Tha Floating Resort
Address: Inle Lake, Nyaung Shwe 11411, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Shan State > Nyaung Shwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Nyaung Shwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shwe Inn Tha Floating Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shwe Inn Tha Floating Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shwe Inn Tha Floating Hotel Shan State
Shwe Hotel Tha Floating

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing