We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it! Great stay in Nyaung shwe...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Amazing Nyaung Shwe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Amazing Nyaung Shwe
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Nyaung Shwe
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love it! Great stay in Nyaung shwe...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Amazing hotel Nyaung Shwe is about 18 miles from the Heho Airport, but we drove through the mountainside therefore it took a little longer than thirty minutes. However, we enjoyed taking photos of the beautiful scenery along the mountain. The hotel location was perfect, within walking distance whether going to town or down to the lake and nearby restaurants. One of our best was Thanaka restaurant which was only two minutes walk. The Amazing of Nyaung Shwe is a two stories building totaling 16 rooms, overlooking a man made lake, to its right is a large monastery. At first, it appeared a little noisy since we just left a very quiet hotel in Yangon (Classique Inn- outer skirt of downtown ); however, once we were in our room ( we got two room upstairs), we could not hear the noise any longer. If we really tried to listen, we may hear the sound of the rocking horse steps. Yes, in this ancient town, people are still transporting via horse carriages. It's really neat!
I love everything about the Amazing hotel in Nyaung Shwe. Most staff was very kind, except for one lady at the information desk. She was okay, but seemed a little abrupt with us. We noticed she was all nice and smiling with another guests, but then when we came to ask question about signing up for our next day boat tour to Inlay Lake, she changed her attitude quickly and appeared to be much less enthusiasm and seemed a little mean and giving us her cold shoulder type of attitude! We went through with her, but then the next day we decided not to deal with her directly. We had a very good boat tour guide, and we hired him again for our second day boat trip. My favorite time was spent at the Thuka Spa. If you stay at least five nights like we did, the hotel offers one 60 minutes complimentary Thai spa massage, which I enjoyed so much and signed up for two more: herbal oil and Asian aromatic massages during our stay, got 10% in house guest discount. Love it!
I did not pay for the hotel stay, it was taken care of by my sister and her husband. I do know it was on the high side for Myanmar, as expensive as Sheraton, Marriott or hotel Sofitel here in the US. So you can expect their cuisine must be superb! And it was. Staff was dressed in beautiful Myanmar uniform, housekeeping did their daily routines "turning you down for bed time" with a small cake basket or cookies treats and opened the bed blanket for us. Laundry service was also excellent, reasonable and quick. They picked up our dirty clothes (from the laundry bag) and returned to us nicely ironed, folded neatly inside a plastic bag for each item, the same evening.
In Inle lake, the market comes around every five days. We were lucky enough that the market was in Nyaung Shwe on the day before we left. People from the mountain and many other villages all came together bringing their goods for sell. One thing, you must bargain while shopping here, usually you can offer 1/3 of the original asking price. We were lucky to have one hotel staff came along to the market with us, so we know we did not pay overpriced.
If your destination is Inle Lake or Nyaung Shwe, give Amazing of Nyaung Shwe a try. You will enjoy a pleasant stay. We sure did!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lila V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    134
    41
    8
    1
See reviews for
51
141
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I completely get why the Hotel Amazing Nyaung Shwe (HA-NS) has gotten some mixed reviews and to be honest I feel the same way about the HA-NS as well. Nyaungshwe is the stopping off point for most tourists/travelers going to Inle Lake and it has a “wild west” feel about it with dust, exhaust fumes, and careening traffic from buses, taxis, vans, mopeds, funky-exposed-engine tractors and of course horse drawn carriages. I found it to be a surprisingly unpleasant place despite it being a bananna pancake terminus (and I love pancake breakfast) and I am very tolerant of other cultures.

What you discover when you visit Inle Lake is that you have two choices. You can stay at resort on the lake itself, a quiet Shangri-La on stilts, but feel trapped in your paradise and beholden to the staff for all your provisions (like meal and transportation, etc) or you can slug it out in Nyaung Shwe in the middle of an unpleasant bananna pancake industrial complex and make your own decisions about meals and activities.

If you are of the later variety, you will do well in HA-NS. Despite the pictures, it is actually surrounded by all the unpleasentries of NS, dust--traffic, stray dogs and rabid travel agents, etc.

I found the Hotel to be an imperfect oasis. Sound proofing in the rooms good be better but the rooms were ample. The beds were crazy firm but I suspect this was related to their use as massage tables in your room. The breakfast buffet was the best we had in Myanmar. The other meals we had in the hotel were decent and a reasonable value (until we found the Thanakha Garden directly north of the Hotel, next to the Paradise Hotel, take the rickety bridge across the stream).

The mixed reviews of the staff have an explanation as well. We stayed at the HA-NS for five nights and found the junior staff to be very sweet, good-natured and wonderful. They were very accomodating to my family and one of the staff directly helped my sister-in-law with a shopping activity in her spare time! My wife and I had a complimentary thai massage that was very good.

But the manager and senior receptionist were cold and less accomodating. In the case of the senior receptionist, she seemed to take an instant disliking to us and actually told us to take a hike into town to make our own activity arrangements rather than benefit her own hotel. (The next day, the junior staff performed this task for us admirably.) If your only encounter with the staff at the HA-NS would have been with her, you would have had a completely different opinion of the staff. It is for this reason, that I have to deduct a star from my rating.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JohnGW66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Not many options at in Nyaung Shwe, so they are able to charge very high prices, for quality that isn't great. Accommodation was definitely good, but no where near what you would expect for the same price in other cities and towns around Asia.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

The hotel is located in the town and in walking distance to everything (like most hotels).
Staff were ok, nothing special or overly helpful or friendly.
Rooms were nice but a little run down - bathroom more so than bedroom. It was also slightly noisy from guests above - could here them walking up and down stairs and in the room.
Breakfast was basic.
Nothing really stood out about this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraCliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here at hotel amazing after arriving from mandalay at 3a.m, Don't stay here if your are arriving at this hour because they will not let you check until 7:45a.m. . Supposing this is not the standard check in time but most hotels in myanmar will allow you to check innearly and the staff is very rude without apologizing that they cannot give the rooms immediately . Some of the passengers that we shared a pick up service from the bus stop had already check in and mostly probably already asleep. I regret checking in at this hotel i should have check in at a cheap guesthouse!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank RL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesside
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Staff were friendly and efficient, we only ate there for breakfast which was very good, nice room but not very well soundproofed (doors didn't fit well) so some noise disturbance. Unpleasant, but not too strong, prongs from the vent in the bathroom floor - wasn't bad enough that I felt the need to complain. Nicely designed and furnished. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TeessideNigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights.

The hotel is small with perfect location, and many restaurants and shops nearby. Can go to Inle lake by walk.

The room was clean, cozy but with many mosquitoes. So the first thing we did once we entered the room was to use the electricity mosquito racket provided to kill the mosquitoes, however, another massacre when we woke up in the morning, and after we back from boat trip……

There was big window, but our room was at ground floor, so you must choose between privacy and day light (as no light curtains for day-time). Also, the building seems like mainly made by wood, so we can hear anyone walked upstairs.

Toilet was OK, but dark, and only fixed rainhead shower was available!

The staff was nice and helpful. My sister got sick, and they allowed us to delay check-in to 1:00 pm, this was a big help as I know their rooms were fully booked. Also, they helped us to confirm the air-tickets and informed us the fight was delayed.

OK breakfast, but not much choice, and the food was placed outdoor and always cold, as it was just warmed by candles, obviously not enough for such a cold morning…..

Room services was just ok.

Wifi OK.

Room Tip: Second floor room got balcony, so can have better view and privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueMusicHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nyaung Shwe hotels
0.5 mi away
Inle Apex Hotel
Inle Apex Hotel
#10 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.7 mi away
Thanakha Inle Hotel
Thanakha Inle Hotel
#4 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.6 mi away
ViewPoint Lodge & Fine Cuisines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Maison Birmane
La Maison Birmane
#7 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#11 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
6.4 mi away
Novotel Inle Lake Myat Min
Novotel Inle Lake Myat Min
#5 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amazing Nyaung Shwe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amazing Nyaung Shwe

Property: Hotel Amazing Nyaung Shwe
Address: Yone Gyi Street | Inle, Nyaung Shwe, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Shan State > Nyaung Shwe
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Nyaung Shwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Amazing Nyaung Shwe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Nyaung Shwe Town, the Hotel Amazing Nyaung Shwe is a landmark, combining the best of traditional Myanmar architectural style with all modern conveniences. The Hotel Amazing Nyaung Shwe surpasses any other hotels in the area and defines true luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, JovagoAsia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Amazing Nyaung Shwe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing