We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel staff and drivers are excellent”
Review of Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Star Hotel
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Battambang
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel staff and drivers are excellent”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here again as my last trip I really enjoyed it here , very clean ,spacious rooms with comfortable bed and nice shower . The staff here are excellent and arrange trips or offer advice . Spent a few evenings with locals and drivers drinking beer and talking about cambodia and other places . Very good value for money and lovely staff. See you all again soon

Room Tip: All rooms are immaculate
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    102
    33
    13
    6
See reviews for
18
77
39
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Rooms are very good value for money. Big and spacious and very clean our room even had a bath. The staff were also very helpful.
A little bit of a walk to the main area of restaurants but the restaurant dead opposite had really good food and the lady that run it was very friendly. The hotel was a great place for a short stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Epatton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed at Star Hotel for 3 nights. Our room was spacious. There was some dusty spots and a bunch of cobwebs but tolerable. The bed was ok. The AC worked good. The wifi worked on and off during our stay (even when power/generator was on). There was a couple power outage during out stay but the generator was started within minutes. Distances in Battambang are quite short and the hotel is within walking distance to many restaurants, the market and the riverside. The staff was quite pushy asking multiple times per day what our plans were but we were visiting a friend in town who was showing us around so we didn't have to really deal with them. Overall, for the price, it's a good option.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audree_Joshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Paterson, Australia
Level Contributor
436 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

OK, this place is blessed with friendly staff, super clean if basic rooms and is well situated. Effectively that's all you probably need to know. The rooms are air conditioned though the lobby isn't and it is only a short stroll to the markets and the riverfront.

Also it isn't far from the bus terminal so is probably handy for those coming and going by mode of transport.

Given many people pass through Battambong on their way to/from Angkor Wat this is a hotel that deserves a look.

Room Tip: Great for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

I forgot my phone in the hotel nd friendly as they are they sent it to Phnom Penh the next day! I was/am so happy! Thank you Star Hotel :-) The rooms are a perfect price/quality and we enjoyed our stay here very much

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyvha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Given the fact this place was on the cheaper end of hotels around the area, I was quite satisfied with my stay at Star Hotel. For the cheap rates I asked for, I thought the addition of the television was a pleasant (nice to have some down time after a long hard day of travels!). I had cold water in my bathroom (I believe there are options for hot water) which turned out to be fine due to the hot weather in Battambang. The best feature of this hotel however was clearly the friendly staff who helped me to organise a trip to the circus as well as other attractions around Battambang. If your travelling alone, I can recommend this place as a cheap place which isn't a hostel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmitMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
280 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights at a very reasonable price (15$ per night for deluxe room, no breakfast), and it proved a good choice. The hotel is 20 metres away from Capitol Tours bus station, and this is EXCELLENT if you arrive at 10pm as I did, just walk across the street. It's also a short walk from the city centre. The room was big, spacious and clean, with tv, fridge, air con, hot shower, with complimentary tooth-brushes. Bed was so comfortable ! Air con was efficient. Be warned that no lift is available. Staff was just a little bit pushy, willing to have you buy their services, but it paid being polite, they didn't turn to being aggressive at all. Overall a good and pleasant stay, would return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Battambang hotels
0.8 mi away
Angkor Comfort Hotel
Angkor Comfort Hotel
#10 of 26 in Battambang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.5 mi away
King Fy Hotel
King Fy Hotel
#12 of 26 in Battambang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seng Hout Hotel
Seng Hout Hotel
#11 of 26 in Battambang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 26 in Battambang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
1.9 mi away
Happy Villa Battambang
Happy Villa Battambang
#18 of 26 in Battambang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.7 mi away
Phka Villa
Phka Villa
#7 of 26 in Battambang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Hotel

Property: Star Hotel
Address: 12 St. Lark A, Group. | Preakmohatep, Battambang 02000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Battambang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Battambang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing