We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and spacious”
Review of Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Star Hotel
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Battambang
Certificate of Excellence
Antananarivo, Madagascar
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Clean and spacious”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

A nice hotel with helpful staff.
We were warmly greeted and every morning someone said "good morning, can we help you"
The room was clean, spacious with a good bed and shower. The bed was comfortable with nice pillows. The shower was hot and with great pressure!

Room Tip: The big window at the front of the building was nice, good light!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bec A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    106
    34
    14
    6
See reviews for
17
80
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Probably not the best of the hotels on our recent tour of Cambodia. Our room do not look like any of the photos. The entrance / foyer looked good, but the rooms average, our shower didn't work , two days of cold showers, no lift (no staff members helped the ladies up the stairs with their backpacks), no restaurant (breakfast available at the hotel down the road). Very average I would look for alternatives in Battambang

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeeDizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

basic hotel., but clean and friendly service.don't expect to much. best thing is rooftop area to grab some drinks with friends and head up there at end of the day,.plenty tuk tuk drivers out front,
I wnet april at time of khmr new year, plenty of water festivals which made battambang great place to visit with many parties at temples!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shill_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I was very happy with my stay at Star Hotel, the staff are very friendly and helpful. Mr Berney is their main tuk tuk driver and he is a lovely, well-English spoken man. The rooms are clean and spacious with the main necessities...tv, fridge, clean bathroom. The laundry service is great here my clothes hadn't been cleaner anywhere else in South-east Asia. Star hotel is located in the main city centre only a short walk to the markets where you can indulge in great, cheap food and desserts. Coming back to Battambang I would definently stay at Star hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasey-bdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Went straight to Star on arrival in Battambang as reviews looked good, and we weren't disappointed. Lovely big room for $15 a night, spotlessly clean with fridge, TV and WiFi. Staff were always friendly and helpful, even walking us to the correct bus round the corner when we left. Short walk to some good restaurants in the centre.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghughes87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel was nothing but a fantastic experience. Free pick up from the bus station and a warm welcome after a long journey. The rooms are great and the beds are comfy. The rooms are clean and the hotel is super quiet. The location is handy as its a short stroll to restaurants and the river. Our Tuk Tuk driver who took us around was from the hotel too. He was lovely. Such a relief to be here after being in such a busy place like Bangkok.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ApocalypseYana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
225 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 509 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here in the off season and took three rooms without a reservation for $14 per double and $13 for a single, all with air-con, Our rooms were clean and sufficiently large with tiled floors and Cambodian polished wooden furniture.The bed was very comfortable. We had television, wifi and a mini fridge. The bathrooms were wet floor but convenient.

The staff were friendly and helpful in arranging transportation. There is no bar or restaurant and breakfast is not included but the Vegetarian Foods Restaurant is just half a block north towards the Asia Hotel and the Te Kuch La.a Vegetarian Restaurant is almost opposite.

The Star Hotel is very good in terms of value for money. We arrived from Siem Reap at the new bus terminal 5 km out of town and got a free tuk-tuk ride to the hotel from a tout. The buses for Phnom Penh leave about 100 meters from the hotel. It is easy walking distance to the more central part of town or you can buzz around anywhere in town for $2 for a tuk-tuk and $1 on a moto. We organised a day trip to the local sights for five in one tuk-tuk to the bamboo train, Phnom Banan, the killing cave and Phnom Sampeau for $20.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyClover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Battambang hotels
0.3 mi away
Seng Hout Hotel
Seng Hout Hotel
#13 of 26 in Battambang
352 reviews
0.8 mi away
Angkor Comfort Hotel
Angkor Comfort Hotel
#10 of 26 in Battambang
94 reviews
0.5 mi away
King Fy Hotel
King Fy Hotel
#12 of 26 in Battambang
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 26 in Battambang
357 reviews
2.7 mi away
Battambang Resort
Battambang Resort
#1 of 26 in Battambang
693 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jasmine Battambang Hotel
Jasmine Battambang Hotel
#15 of 26 in Battambang
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Hotel

Property: Star Hotel
Address: 12 St. Lark A, Group. | Preakmohatep, Battambang 02000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Battambang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Battambang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing