We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks can be decieving”
Review of Seng Hout Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seng Hout Hotel
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Battambang
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Looks can be decieving”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

When first arriving at this hotel it gives the impression that it is a clean, well established hotel. The service was pretty poor. First of all yet hadn't seen our booking though booking.com. Then we sat downstairs to have a coffee and wait for our room to be cleaned. I ordered a mocha, which took a fair while for them to understand what it was- yet it was on their menu.
We also booked bus I keys through them stupidly, and ended up being given seats far apart from one another- to the staffs amusement. It was the longest process for booking a bus ticket, and it took 4 of them.
The wifi was terrible. The room was tiny, and te shower was a dribble of cold water. We didn't utilise the facilities as the hotel seemed so unorganised. The gym was in the lobby which looked odd.
I your looking for a small room near the centre this is fine. We just found it overpriced and we felt the service was just not there. Even when we checked out, we did not get a Thankyou, goodbye, hope you enjoyed your stay...nothing.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller10205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    137
    64
    31
    18
See reviews for
38
160
54
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kuwait
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Very well situated, close to the markets and a short walk to the river front. Rooms were lovely and clean and the showers were hot. The hotel has a few tuk tuk drivers who are always available. We used one of these drivers and found him to be quite knowledgeable. We did have a few issues with the kettle in the room on one of the evenings and called reception for a replacement, but staff at the desk did not understand much English. The kettle was only changed the next morning when there was a change of staff. Otherwise, a pleasant stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed here as part of a group doing volunteer work in Cambodia. The hotel is centrally located very close to the local markets and many eating places. My room was comfortable. The A/C did not work efficiently but the fan was good and in January this was not a problem. I did not try the pool as fellow group members said it was VERY cold and had an excess of salt in it. However in the really warm months it is probably very welcome. The pool area though was very nice.The rooftop was a great place to take your pre-dinner drinks and mix with friends. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The hotel itself is cheap, but does not feel comfortable at all. The room itself(for 15$) was OK, the pool was very small ( not a standard size of pool) and there was always light shining inside from the gangway and it was somewhat noisy. The lobby of the is not really encouraging, there are 5-10 Khmer people waiting, mostly TukTuk Drivers, just doing all day what Tuktuk drivers do: wait all day for customers and trying to send anything as soon as one appears. There are also people waiting on each floor. WiFi was only working in the lobby, I never get WiFi in my own room, I am sure there is a better choice in Battambang, even if you pay couple $ more. As for the tour Absolutely, DO NOT BOOK anything in this hotel! Had booked a trip to BKK, The Connecting bus from the border just did not arrive!I was not alone). People at the border told us, that there are always problems with this seng hourt hotel, I was waiting for two hour. In the end, we had to buy a new trip from the Thai border to BKK ourselves after waiting for 2-3 hours, Complete scam

I cannot recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: There are much better choices hotel around the same area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Handcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
145 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in this hotel, in a standard double room with AC for 15 dollar a night. The staff is friendly and helpfull, they speak good english. Our room was a bit small, but very clean. We didn't use the swimming pool. The roof terras is a good place to sit, allthough it would be nice if they served drinks op there. Overall a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 211 was a bit small, but maybe all standard rooms are (haven't seen any other room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Tiny double room so tightly packed we could hardly move and a small electric shower which dribbled Luke-warm water. We didn't try the breakfasts as there is an abundance of good cafés elsewhere. Neither did we use the pool choosing to go to the nearby 25m pool at the Victory Club. Guess it would be fine as a last resort but book ahead and go somewhere else

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Twelve dollars a night for a super clean room with two beds, nice bathroom, hot water, rooftop deck with view of the river and refreshing, if small, swimming pool.

The fitness center - if you can call it that - is a hoot - full of odd Cambodian exercise machines.

This is THE place to stay in Battambang.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulEFallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Battambang hotels
0.3 mi away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 26 in Battambang
350 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Fy Hotel
King Fy Hotel
#12 of 26 in Battambang
337 reviews
0.6 mi away
Angkor Comfort Hotel
Angkor Comfort Hotel
#10 of 26 in Battambang
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Au Cabaret Vert
Au Cabaret Vert
#5 of 26 in Battambang
296 reviews
2.5 mi away
Battambang Resort
Battambang Resort
#1 of 26 in Battambang
674 reviews
0.4 mi away
Classy Hotel & Spa
Classy Hotel & Spa
#9 of 26 in Battambang
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seng Hout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seng Hout Hotel

Property: Seng Hout Hotel
Address: 02 #1008b Road | North of Psar Nat Market 50m, Battambang, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Battambang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Seng Hout Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About our hotel... Seng Hout hotel is located in the heart of Battambang city. Our hotel was built in 2008, and rebuilt the hold building in 2016. At our hotel, there are beautiful appointed rooms with cable televisions, air conditioners, refrigerators , and hot and cold water. Seng Hout hotel is in a safe, quiet area closed to Psar Nat Market and cafe area. You can easily access to internet with free wifi. Additionally, rooms are designed with a spacious space overlook the city and the garden terrace. You can relax ,and see the spectacular sunset as you enjoy a drink on the rooftop of the hotel with the views over the city of the surrounding mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Seng Hout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing