We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do more with the rooftop”
Review of Seng Hout Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seng Hout Hotel
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Battambang
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Loved this hotel, read previous reviews and wasn't so sure after we had booked it but couldn't fault anything (we got a room with a window but kept the curtains shut). The room was spotlessly clean, the staff friendly and attentive. We put some clothes to launder and they came back the next day, very cheap too. We had breakfast at the hotel, the food wasn't special but it was tasty and served quickly. The pool was great to cool down in. We really enjoyed the rooftop, it was peaceful with fantastic views of the city, shame it didn't have a bar, they could make a fortune from it. Central to the city, the market just at the bottom of the road.
We didn't use the tuk tuks outside, instead we found our own who was friendly and cheaper.
Would recommend highly a stay here, great value for money, would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BOOtsie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed two nights in the Senghout hotel with a group of 14 peoples travelling onward to Siem Reap
A four years old hotel that looks new, where personnel is trying very hard to make you a happy customer. Everyone seems to work as a family. A small pool will cool you off from the heat of the day. Battambang is like a "big village" where you can walk the streets without worries. The hotel is close to the market not far from the river bank.........a quiet place to enjoy this nice city or as a stop if you want to do the memorable boat trip to Siem Reap

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank jean yves d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This Hotel was fine for the price would stay there again although I didn't like Battambang didn't think it had much to offer If you plain things right you could be in and out in one day but I might just have missed it charms.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazdunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I think there is better hotel options in Battambang , 1but for $15 a night no one should really complain, single rooms very small.counter staff helpful with ongoing travel bookings, markets only 100 meters away

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank don p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Since our last visit a few years ago, the room quality seems to have deteriorated. Some rooms are smelly.
Room Rate has increased from $15 to $20 for a pretty basic room, supposedly deluxe. The one we were offered at $20 didn't even have a window.
Will stay away in future as have found a much better hotel.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere. Across the river you will find some good hotels Battambang City Centre area seems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reg_butler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I booked this hotel following reviews on Trip Advisor and found everything to be fairly consistent. I had a room on the first floor overlooking the main road, but noise wasn't a problem at all. The room was fairly basic with a kingsize bed, a small table, wardrobe, TV and fridge. I was there during a freak cold spell and didn't need the AC or the fan, so can't really comment on the quality of those. The bathroom was an ok size, the shower was electric, so pressure wasn't fantastic, but enough to have a decent shower. While there wasn't a separate shower basin, it did have a shower curtain, so water was fairly contained. Breakfast is not included in the rate, it was ok, not a fantastic choice but that's Cambodia. The coffee was very nice. Staff were all really friendly, I booked a guide through the hotel and that worked out really well, I didn't really notice many travel agencies around, so travellers are probably reliant on booking guides through their hotels. I only discovered the pool and lounge area on the hotel roof on the very last day, which was a real shame because it was a really nice area to just hang out and chill after a day of sightseeing. Overall, I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I did notice that some of the rooms don't have windows - bear this in mind when booking a really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inselhuepfer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stayed here in January 2014 the last time was also five years ago.
Then it had only recently opened and the owner was very polite and helpful. Rooms then were $8 dollars but Cambodia has blossomed and quite popular.
Booked room by email and this was very efficient, driver waiting for us when we arrived by boat from Siem Reap. Had booked a $15dollar room but this had no window so upgraded to a €20dollar one which was fine,overlooking the pool. Flat screen tv and tea making facilities.
Very close to everything. Had breakfast at nearby cafes as best to spread money around to smaller places. Pool was cold but lots of lovely seating area and roof terrace. Recommend this highly if only all hotels were this good. Well done

Room Tip: Recommend you book the $20 rooms which were well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatsySedgefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Battambang hotels
0.2 mi away
King Fy Hotel
King Fy Hotel
#12 of 26 in Battambang
343 reviews
0.6 mi away
Angkor Comfort Hotel
Angkor Comfort Hotel
#10 of 26 in Battambang
95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 26 in Battambang
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Classy Hotel & Spa
Classy Hotel & Spa
#8 of 26 in Battambang
244 reviews
2.5 mi away
Battambang Resort
Battambang Resort
#1 of 26 in Battambang
709 reviews
0.5 mi away
Phka Villa
Phka Villa
#7 of 26 in Battambang
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seng Hout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seng Hout Hotel

Address: #1008b, Road 02 | North of Psar Nat Market 50m, Battambang, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Battambang
Price Range: £11 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seng Hout Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About our hotel... Seng Hout hotel is located in the heart of Battambang city. Our hotel was built in 2008, and rebuilt the hold building in 2016. At our hotel, there are beautiful appointed rooms with cable televisions, air conditioners, refrigerators , and hot and cold water. Seng Hout hotel is in a safe, quiet area closed to Psar Nat Market and cafe area. You can easily access to internet with free wifi. Additionally, rooms are designed with a spacious space overlook the city and the garden terrace. You can relax ,and see the spectacular sunset as you enjoy a drink on the rooftop of the hotel with the views over the city of the surrounding mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Seng Hout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing