We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Phka Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Phka Villa
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Battambang
Certificate of Excellence
nanette447
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We have just returned from our second stay and are already looking at booking again for next year!

The hotel is stunning, with a setting of bungalows around a black (!) tiled pool. The bungalows have outside seating areas, the perfect place to relax with an after dinner drink.

After the madness of Phnom Penh, arriving at Phka Villas feels like arriving in heaven.

If you haven't been there before, I would recommend asking about the walking tour of the city.

The points of interest are set around various parts of the town, which helps orient you a little.

Thanks Mr Ratanak and family for another lovely stay

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanette447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    139
    53
    17
    7
See reviews for
72
190
32
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We arrived in Battambang from Phnom Penh in a minivan, which dropped us off at an isolated petrol station. It took a while to find a tuk tuk driver, and he had some trouble finding Phka Villa, but eventually we arrived safely. The hotel does provide free pick-up - my mistake - I had not given them our arrival details. So remember to contact them before you arrive.

I booked through booking.com, but as our itinerary kept changing, I made various re-bookings and even though I had confirmation, the last one was apparently not successful so our reservation for the first night was missing. The hotel took us to stay at the nearby Classy Hotel for the first night, and offered a free meal for compensation, which was very nice. They picked us up at 10 am the next morning and our room was ready to check in.

We stayed at Bungalow 2. Everything was perfect, but as other reviewers have mentioned, some storage space is needed as living out of a suitcase in a smallish room is a bit messy.

The hotel had a very warm, friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Staff need some more practice in English, but their lovely manner made up for all misunderstood words. Free breakfast was a la carte - much nicer than a buffet in my opinion. We also had dinner here one night. The menu had a wide range of dishes, but I had the feeling that the food was delivered from elsewhere. It was delicious, but took a long time to come :) Wifi was good.

Reception staff booked us tickets for the bus to our next destination and the tuk tuk driver took us to the station and helped find the right one. They also rang our next hotel to organise a pick-up.

The location is a little remote, but we walked to town, a nice 15 minute stroll. There are some karaoke restaurants around, but they were no bother to us.

Battambang has a lot of new businesslike hotels - I would steer away from those and stay at lovely Phka Villa or at the slightly more upmarket Bambu Hotel on the same street (we had dinner there one night, and it had a great atmosphere)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reissunainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

As others have pointed out, this 10-room property is a charming oasis run by a well-meaning family offering attentive (if occasionally slow) service.

Phka Villa has many pros: Decent-sized rooms which include a large bathroom with basic toiletries provided, comfy bed with extra pillows and mosquito net, a safe, mini-fridge, TV with plenty of English channels, and reliable wifi. Our room was nice and cool at night*, and had plenty of hot water in the shower (as long as you don’t turn the water pressure on max). The pool is well maintained and the breakfast is good, although dinner and drinks are a bit overpriced compared to what you get at the high-end Bambu hotel next door for the same price.

However, it does have cons: our room had no closet and hardly any storage, so its was not convenient for longer stays or someone who prefers not to live out of suitcase. Also, the lack of airtight door-seals means AirCon gets out and bugs can get in, although neither of these was a real serious issue during our stay.

I found the housekeeping a bit bifurcated – overkill on some things while other more obvious ones were missed. For instance, the bed made beautifully with flowers artfully arranged, but the sheets (not fitted and too small for bed, so they wouldn’t stay on) were only changed once in our week stay. And one day bugs from one of the flowers infested our towels. The bathroom was cleaned spick and span, so much so that all our shower toiletries were moved to the sink area, the hair dryer was moved back to the bedside table, and my cosmetics packed up as if we just walked into the room and hadn't unpacked. *The worst part is that during the process (and my one major complaint), was they leave the door wide open and cut off the Air Con, and it takes the room about 6 hours to cool off again--especially during the heat of the middle of the day. This was problematic for someone prone to heat exhaustion who needed to retreat to someplace cool during this time, only to find it stifling hot indoors as well. (FYI, to keep the power going, the room key must remain in its slot, so if you want to keep the AirCon and refrigerator on, you must rig it with a credit card or some such). Also, we found it not to be the quietest location—the owner’s children frequently run around the pool or ride their bikes around with whistles, which kind of spoils whatever tranquility existed and sometimes made afternoon napping problematic. And one downside to the beautiful flora surrounding the rooms is annoying fauna--the world's loudest birds start chirping around 5am, but hey, what can you do?

All in all we had a pleasant and authentic experience that I wouldn't have traded, and we appreciated the friendliness of the staff and the cool vibe of the property.

Room Tip: Rooms 5 and 7 don't face directly onto the pool (a bit more secluded). Rooms 8-11 get direct sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

This a local family run boutique hotel of 11 bungalows surrounding a large pool ideal for an afternoon dip. The stand out feature is the friendliness and welcoming nature of the staff. On arrival, we were served a fruit platter and drinks and provided a map and brief useful précis of spots to visit. Staff were always on hand to help and organised taxi transfers without hassle and at a reasonable price - they even provided a packed lunch for the ride without request or cost. There bikes available as needed by guests.

The rooms are elegant, and sweetly presented with flowers on the beds (happily soft by Cambodian standards); and the air-con up and running when you enter. Some mozzies, but mosquito nets effective.

The food was great, and appears to be a favourite amongst expats in Battambang also. We had omelette and the congee for breakfast, both were great. Dinner was amazing (best Pad Thai I've had).

They have MC/visa facilities for payment.

We loved it here, and found the experience so much nicer than the fancy big, but impersonal, hotel we had stayed at in the previous town. Recommend it highly and hope it continues to be supported in the face of newer bigger hotels moving into town.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFightingMongooses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
362 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Our visit here started very badly. They did not have our booking, which we had made with Booking.com. Finally they figured it out and then had to make up the room.This was at four o'clock. It took over one hour.They apologized and gave us a fruit plate and a lunch the next day.
This is a very attractive property with 11 little bungalows around a pool with a lot of landscaping. The room was very quiet with no rooms attached or above or below. many mosquitoes but the net worked great. Breakfast was very good. People were friendly and helpful.
It is too far to walk to town. Tuk-tuk is two dollars.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimandcarolstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterthur, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed 4 nights in this place in February 2014. The hotel is in a good location in walking distance from the old city. It is situated in a dusty road right next door to the more expensive Bambu Hotel and also close to the famous Villa Hotel. The Phka hotel has only 12 rooms which makes it a familiar place.The owner runs it as a sort of educational project with many interns who are willing but not so experienced. You have to be aware that you still are in a very poor country with a difficult and painful history. having this in mind you will have a very happy stay. There were two things that were a bit difficult for us: Some people have been almost constantly been burning stuff nearby, the other thing is the missing light at the street in the night time which makes walking a bit difficult.

On our last day departing for Phnom Penh we were brought to the bus station with a lunch box without having asked for that. We have been very impressed by the town of Battambang and the Phka hotel has been the perfect place for this visit. I would like to come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: There are one or two delux rooms with more space. But given the fact that one might spend most of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We booked in for three nights and would have stayed much longer but they were (not surprisingly) fully booked. So we regretfully took up their kind offer of bus tickets and transfer, and helpful suggestions of Phnom Penh hotels.
And this was typical of the warm, friendly care they took of us during our stay. The biggest plus is the family who run the Phka Villa. Without exception they offered exemplary service, the best hospitality we had experienced. The hotel itself is charming, with comfortable, well-equipped bungalows around the pool and a bar/restaurant offering indoor and outdoor refreshment. We ate breakfasts and dinners there and were impressed with the quality and variety of the offerings. The only down-side is the rather garish bright pink hotel next door, but this was a minor intrusion on a peaceful location, a short walk (10 minutes) from the river-side.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Villabloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Battambang hotels
2.3 mi away
Battambang Resort
Battambang Resort
#1 of 26 in Battambang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
1.2 mi away
Au Cabaret Vert
Au Cabaret Vert
#5 of 26 in Battambang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.7 mi away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 26 in Battambang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Sanctuary Villa
The Sanctuary Villa
#17 of 26 in Battambang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bambu Battambang Hotel
Bambu Battambang Hotel
#4 of 26 in Battambang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.3 mi away
King Fy Hotel
King Fy Hotel
#12 of 26 in Battambang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phka Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phka Villa

Property: Phka Villa
Address: Street 203, Romcheak 5 | Sangkat Ratanak, Battambang, Cambodia (Formerly The Rottanak Resort)
Region: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Battambang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Phka Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Battambang, Phka Villa Hotel offers an outdoor pool and a barber/beauty salon. Rooms feature a private balcony with views of the grounds and free Wi-Fi. The resort is a one hour drive from Sisophon and a 4-hour drive from Phnom Penh, where temples and cultural sites reside. Rooms at Phka Villa feature traditional Khmer furnishing. Equipped with air conditioning and a fan, rooms also come with a minibar and tea/coffee maker. A satellite TV and an attached bathroom are included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phka Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing