We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, quiet place with friendly family staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phka Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Phka Villa
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Battambang
Certificate of Excellence
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet place with friendly family staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

I agree with one of the earlier reviews that Phka Villa is a good, quiet place with ten or so individual bungalows around a swimming pool but they are in need of updating to stay competitive. The rooms have been designed carefully and tastefully, but our room, at least, was missing a soap tray in the shower, which also needed a little repair around the faucets. They should also replace the tiny rug that is placed outside the bathroom. Our room was clean and the bed comfortable with a mosquito net (which we didn't need). Having read about how good the restaurant was, we planned to eat lunch there before heading out to explore the town, but learned it was closed. Maybe April is a low tourist season so at times they may only provide breakfast? One of the staff, a lovely young woman, took some time to explain the layout of the town with a map and what was available to do in the area. We were also most amazed, first of all, to be met by a tuk tuk driver when our public bus arrived--we hadn't given our arrival information, so the hotel/driver were just guessing!
More

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MetalRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    137
    52
    16
    6
See reviews for
72
189
29
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights, and loved it! We were looking for somewhere to be for a private, quiet rest, and found it. We asked to change our room to get away from the people next to us who were smokers. The owner bent over backwards to accommodate our request, and gave us a corner bungalow screened off from everyone, which we absolutely loved. He apologized in advance telling us the room wasn't as 'beautiful' as the first one we had, but other than the curtains being a bit tatty, we were entirely happy. The setting is very natural, with stones and flowers and plants used to accentuate that relaxing atmosphere. The owner told us about the terrible food damage they had suffered last year, and how they are working hard to repair the damage. The staff work hard to fill every request, and go overboard with extras. When the owner saw us walking toward town, he insisted on driving us there. They surprised us with a packed lunch to take on our bus ride back to Siem Reap. Breakfasts were delicious and very ample. Definitely would recommend this place!

Room Tip: Room 7 is tucked away in a corner. If you're looking for peace, quiet and privacy, ask for a cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dodieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed at the Phka Villa for two nights. It was a nice pleasant stay. The workers there were extremely friendly and helpful, always with a smile. Breakfast menu is simple. The staff assisted in booking bus to Siem Reap.The day my partner and I left to catch a bus to Siem Reap they had pre packed a lunch(sandwiches) and bottles of water for our trip. it was unexpected and very thoughtful. The tuk tuk driver Den is also very nice and friendly. Definitely recommended. The rooms are basic but clean. Thank you so much for your kind service Phka Villa

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnthai_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Rooms are in bungalows round a small pool with a pretty garden. Rooms are compact but comfortable, the beds have mosquito nets, a nice touch. Staff couldn't be more helpful, they knew we were arriving by boat and had a tuk tuk waiting for us free of charge - wonderful service! Food is excellent, don't miss the Amok fish curry. The only reason it isn't a 5 is the curtains need replacing, but that is nit picking.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank taaffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed five nights towards the end of two months travelling around S E Asia. It is a great place to stay BUT US$55 is too much to pay. There are ten individual bungalows around the swimming pool but they are in need of up-dating to justify the price. They are clean, the beds are very comfortable and have mosquito nets. The bathrooms are quite adequate. Each time the room is made up fresh flowers are placed in the room and on the bed - a lovely touch.

The pool is lovely and a great way to unwind, However, there are only 6 sun-loungers around the pool and although all bungalows have a patio area they don't all have a table and chairs
The staff are very friendly and try their best but do tend to get things wrong.
The restaurant has a limited menu which is fine but often thing aren't available eg they offer mushroom omelettes for breakfast but no mushrooms, cereal not always available.

Tuk tuks into town, where there is a great range of restaurants, only cost $1. Bicycles are available and they will book you a scooter and onward travel.

We really enjoyed our stay but think it was overpriced compared with other accommodation.

Room Tip: We had bungalow 3 - this had chairs and a table on the main patio as well as a shaded area. to sit i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppyslane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Haywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Phka Villa. It's location is perfect on a quiet road on the other side of the river to the town of Battambang. The staff were so helpful and friendly, they couldn't do enough for us. The room was lovely and the pool exceptional. We used their tuk tuk driver for all of our trips and into town and back when it was too hot, he was a mind of information and again so friendly. Would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nanette447
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We have just returned from our second stay and are already looking at booking again for next year!

The hotel is stunning, with a setting of bungalows around a black (!) tiled pool. The bungalows have outside seating areas, the perfect place to relax with an after dinner drink.

After the madness of Phnom Penh, arriving at Phka Villas feels like arriving in heaven.

If you haven't been there before, I would recommend asking about the walking tour of the city.

The points of interest are set around various parts of the town, which helps orient you a little.

Thanks Mr Ratanak and family for another lovely stay

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nanette447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Battambang hotels
1.1 mi away
Au Cabaret Vert
Au Cabaret Vert
#5 of 27 in Battambang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
2.2 mi away
Battambang Resort
Battambang Resort
#1 of 27 in Battambang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.7 mi away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 27 in Battambang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
King Fy Hotel
King Fy Hotel
#11 of 27 in Battambang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Sanctuary Villa
The Sanctuary Villa
#17 of 27 in Battambang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bambu Battambang Hotel
Bambu Battambang Hotel
#4 of 27 in Battambang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phka Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phka Villa

Property: Phka Villa
Address: Street 203, Romcheak 5 | Sangkat Ratanak, Battambang, Cambodia (Formerly The Rottanak Resort)
Region: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Battambang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Phka Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Battambang, Phka Villa Hotel offers an outdoor pool and a barber/beauty salon. Rooms feature a private balcony with views of the grounds and free Wi-Fi. The resort is a one hour drive from Sisophon and a 4-hour drive from Phnom Penh, where temples and cultural sites reside. Rooms at Phka Villa feature traditional Khmer furnishing. Equipped with air conditioning and a fan, rooms also come with a minibar and tea/coffee maker. A satellite TV and an attached bathroom are included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Phka Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing