We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxed location with great food too!”
Review of Au Cabaret Vert

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Au Cabaret Vert
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Battambang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Au Cabaret Vert for 2 nights from the 30th September and would have liked to stay much longer. We were first greeted my Michael who made us feel at ease and treated us like old friends. The accomodation was comfortable and we appreciate the effort that Michael and his team have made to make it eco-friendly and comfortable. The swimming pool is a treat - we thoroughly enjoyed swimming with the fish. The restaurant was well run with delicious food and we enjoyed the happy hours too. Our tuk tuk driver (orgnised by the hotel) was nicknamed "Mr Excellent" and he lived up to his name. All of the staff were friendly, efficient and made us feel very welcome. We look forward to coming back again and want to bring our children when the family units are built. We would highly recommend a stay at Au Cabaret Vert.

Room Tip: We had unit 3 which was quiet. Due to it being monsoon season, humidity was a problem so we used the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2012

We enjoyed our two day stay in this very comfortable hotel and the facilities are very good - the pool is strange and has fish in it but it is fine once you get over this. Good breakfast and we had a nice evening meal too. Bikes are available and we used them for a long ride in really beautiful countryside. The best thing is the friendliness of the staff - the lady that cleaned our bungalow was a delight and invited us to her house which is just behind the hotel to meet her daughter and husband.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicsedlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Battambang is far cry from the action of Siem Reap or Phnom Penh but its charm makes it an easy place to fall for. Au Cabaret Vert is a tranquil place to stay, the small number of rooms and relaxed atmosphere is perfect.

The pool is a bit odd at first but take the plunge and all fears will vanish. The room had everything you could need and it was easy to order a tuk-tuk to the restaurants near the river.

Two things you must do while there are the bamboo train (while it lasts) and the Nary's Kitchen cooking school. Both can be easily sorted from the hotel.

Didn't try the restaurant beyond breakfast but from the number of people coming in from outside the hotel, it must be doing something right.

Overall great place to stay, especially for a relaxing break between Siem Reap and the south.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jtb105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed in two bungalows from Aug 21-24. Our daughters' unit lost power twice, including once late in the evening, necessitating a move to another bungalow. The MP3 player in my unit didn't work. And as several have noted, the natural pool isn't for everyone. Still, I enjoyed ACV, and would happily stay there again. Why? Well, the service was wonderful, the food excellent, the hotel surprisingly restful and sheltered (esp. considering it sits just off a busy road), and the place has an old world charm that's hard to beat.

Since the pool and breakfast come up in other comments, let me say something about both. First, I used the pool and survived. It has a natural filtering system, and I'm guessing the water is cleaner than what you might encounter in most lakes and rivers that are rated safe for swimming. But the water has a green tinge, and while no one would complain about lake or river water that isn't perfectly clear, it seems incongruous in a swimming pool. After all, we are conditioned to expect a swimming pool to have unnaturally blue, clear water with a mild chlorine odor....and this doesn't. It's not for everyone, and my daughters declined to take a dip. So, you can enjoy it as a pond, with dragonflies buzzing around, or take a refreshing dip in this man-made pond at the end of the day.

Now for the breakfast that comes with lodging. Several said it was sufficient. I found my omelette, half baguette w/ butter/jam, bowl of fresh fruit, pot of coffee, and an additional plate full of fresh fruit to be delicious and filling.

Finally, a word about day trips. The hotel arranged for Mr. Thean, a local guide and tuk-tuk driver to take us around one day. Thean was wonderful: honest, knowledgeable, and possessing the best English of any Cambodian we met during our trip. How he picked up an Australian accent is unclear, but he's both fluent and charming. With Thean leading the way, we enjoyed the market, old parts of the city, visit to one of the old Cambodian homes, and temple and it's adjoining bat cave. The latter is remarkable at dusk when tens of thousands or more bats come out to feed. However, I'd skip the Banan winery, which seemed to have no equipment, few grapes, and offered tastes of a purple liquid that may have been the worst wine ever...or possibly something else. Bottom line is I'm not sure Banan really is a winery or is just pretending to do what's likely impossible to do in SE Asia (in the same way that growing rice in Bordeaux just isn't practical).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ak8233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Colonial house recalls the style of houses in the city. Our room was spacious and even has a library with French and English books. The cocktail of champagne was welcomed home after seven hours by boat. We had dinner on the balcony of the villa to the pool in the evening lights of blue and green. The breakfast is plentiful. Fruits are at our disposal for free, it was very generous. Mathieu told us about his affair with his wife and children, very lovable people, thanks to them!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Soti and mateo are nice owners. The colonial house offers an open garden with mango, banana and even a vegetable garden. The restaurant offers quality food rather exceptional. The amok fish is amazing! The villa bedroom is large with a nice bathroom and recycled rainwater. The bed is a kig size and you can even play your music with an mp3 speaker. The guide tuck tuck the hotel made us discover the handicraft of the region and we plunged into the natural pool. This oasis has nothing to do with the noise of the city. It's charming!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britanny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed at Au Cabaret Vert for 2 nights. Great little resort of 6 Bungalows all looking over the pool. It was a lovely little haven to come back to after a full day of sightseeing. Breakfast included was Freshfruit, baguettes and eggs which was sufficient. We ate one evening meal here which was delicious. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They organised a tuk tuk for us to take 6 people and driver Mr Bat had excellant English and gave us a very good tour and incite to his life.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZJude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Battambang hotels
0.8 mi away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 26 in Battambang
374 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Sanctuary Villa
The Sanctuary Villa
#16 of 26 in Battambang
322 reviews
1.6 mi away
Battambang Resort
Battambang Resort
#1 of 26 in Battambang
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Phka Villa
Phka Villa
#7 of 26 in Battambang
440 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bambu Battambang Hotel
Bambu Battambang Hotel
#4 of 26 in Battambang
461 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bric-a-Brac
Bric-a-Brac
#2 of 26 in Battambang
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Cabaret Vert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Cabaret Vert

Address: Rue 154 | Toul Ta Ek / Okatom 2, Battambang 60000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Battambang
Price Range: £42 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Au Cabaret Vert 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Au Cabaret Vert is known as the Romantic OASIS in Battambang !!! Dedicated to French Poet RIMBAUD, Au Cabaret Vert is a Eco resort hotel with first natural pool in the heart of Battambang. In a charming tropical garden, our villas (each villa is named with a poem of RIMBAUD) with private terrace offer a moment of serenity before discovering the charm of Battambang: authentic handicrafts, gorgeous landscape and exotic countryside.Our team will recommend you the best tours of Battambang.After your day trip, let's order a cocktail at the poolside to watch the sunset, and then enjoy our French and Cambodian fine cuisine.Free Wifi -Private Terrace - Room Service. Come to Enjoy the French Style : UNIQUE in Battambang ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Au Cabaret Vert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing