We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place that could be a lot better”
Review of Lux Guest house

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lux Guest house
Ranked #10 of 45 Battambang B&B and Inns
Malmo, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Decent place that could be a lot better”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Big rooms for 15 or 18 dollars a night. Clean linens and clean bathroom. Big windows on the higher floor offer decent view of the town. No problems with the room, other than that the lock for the door was not very secure. Service is lacking. Rotating cast of young men at the counter seemed incredibly disinterested. Not rude, but not polite either. No on-site restaurant. If you're in Battambang this isn't a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hpmatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    96
    38
    11
    14
See reviews for
12
101
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Battambang, Cambodia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Having spent a couple weeks on a budget in Cambodia, I can't tell you how pleased I was with the service at this hotel in my price range! They had a free tuktuk waiting at the bus station (we were late so he waited around for over an hour), full of smiles when we got there and some pinapple, and good English spoken.

If you are looking for value at a hotel you won't have problems at, this is the one.

Ps. I can't believe the few super negative reviews below so I'm combatting them with my rating, but at the price ot may as well be 5 stars.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JulianCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimini, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The owners of Lux Guest House opened just a few mounths ago a new structure in a tipical khmer style villa. The rooms are located around a bigl pool in a beatiful garden . The rooms have ancient tipical forniture well decorated, The rooms at the second floor have both shover and pool. a big balcony looking at the pool .Kind and polite the staff. The owner gifted my wife a tipical khmer scarf ( it was chistmas time) He arranged for us breakfast at 6 in the morning and provided us with bananas of the garden for the boat trip to siem reap.A very good experience in a very beautiful location

Room Tip: Rooms at ground floor are cheaper .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 225FRANCESCO225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Rooms are serviceable but considering the price and the surrounding options not really worth it, staff is not inviting and really, actively rude, anything less than complete agreement with one of the specific employees working there was met with hostility and bullying. Wish I hadn't stayed there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonnymo_ph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The hotel was okay, but I was very disappointed with the staff. They were unaccommodating and I would say even rude when you needed something, or had to ask for anything. The owner is a very stern fellow, who does not listen to the guests concerns.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nic R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I loved my stay at Battambang, but the staff of Lux made things quite bad. I had the 18$/night room, and it was a bit overpriced for what it was. There were mosquitoes everywhere and I kept waking up. Turns out the staff left the window open. And that was alright, but then I had an emergency and had to leave for Phnom Penh, so I politely asked if I could cancel my last night, and the manager started yelling at me that I couldn't cancel. I would have been fine paying for the last night if he politely said sorry, we have a policy etc. Definitely didn't need to yell. He seemed accommodating enough to foreign looking older guests, but as I look Cambodian (and younger than he is), he just raised his voice and his eyebrows at me. I'm so glad I'm leaving.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gelrode, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Good hotel in the middle of the city center. Clean rooms and bathroom with good shower. You can use the pool of their sister hotel Delux Villa for 3 dollar.
The breakfast is also at the Delux Villa and was the best breakfast we had in 3 weeks. Fresh fruit and juice. Coffe and your choice of american, continental or deluxe breakfast. The continental for example had waffles, donut, pancake, breadpudding and toast. The american breakfast consisted of eggs, bacon, sausage, toast with ham and cheese and tomato's.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Battambang hotels
0.2 mi away
Seng Hout Hotel
Seng Hout Hotel
#13 of 26 in Battambang
352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 26 in Battambang
357 reviews
0.5 mi away
Angkor Comfort Hotel
Angkor Comfort Hotel
#10 of 26 in Battambang
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Classy Hotel & Spa
Classy Hotel & Spa
#8 of 26 in Battambang
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bric-a-Brac
Bric-a-Brac
#2 of 26 in Battambang
116 reviews
0.3 mi away
King Fy Hotel
King Fy Hotel
#12 of 26 in Battambang
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lux Guest house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lux Guest house

Property: Lux Guest house
Address: # 79 Street 102, Phum 20uksaphea, Sangkat Svay Pao, Battambang 02000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Battambang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lux Guest house 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lux Guesthouse is a modern luxury guest house which has high quality standard service with the unique Khmer hospitality you expect and deserve. Our fully modernized property which just opened on April 2009 comes with all the usual amenities as well as unlimited water, free bikes, free internet, free pickup. It is only a 5 minute walk to the Central Market and by bike, it is less than 2 minutes. Of course, tuk tuks are always an option as well. Run by Khmer family, it is a friendly place with a warm, cozy atmosphere and it will provide you with a memorable experience of Khmer hospitality . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Lux Guest house reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Guest House Hotel Battambang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing