We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One word - AWESOME”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bambu Battambang Hotel
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Battambang
Certificate of Excellence
Ashland, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One word - AWESOME”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I've been to Battambang from the states 16 times and have been a regular patron of the restaurant since they have opened. I don't stay in the hotel part since I have housing in the city. BUT, the food is supreme, well prepared and present nicely. Pat, the owner, will go out of his way to make sure you have the best meal possible. The staff is the best their is. The prices quite reasonable. Parking in front or Tuk-Tuk is always available.

Room Tip: I strongly recommend the toulouse sausages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warehouseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    139
    29
    3
    4
See reviews for
74
190
34
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

A beautiful and luxurious boutique hotel! Staff is friendly, capable and kind... Pat, the owner goes out of his way to make you feel at home! Battambang is a small town, with not that much to do, but we were so glad we included it in our itinerary even if most of what we did was laze at the property, enjoy the glorious little pool, sit in the open bar during the happy hours, made happier because of the weather and friendly faces, or stay in bed and watch DVDs in the casually yet luxuriously designed room (and also of course the many wonderful artsy cafes in town, Bamboo train experience or cycling trips to the country side). It was the perfect little getaway after an overwhelming visit to Siem Reap and we were refreshed like we hadn't been in a very long time!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KhusheeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

A small, friendly hotel with swimming pool, restaurant and bar. The rooms were a good size and nicely decorated. The bathroom had a large shower, dressing robes and toiletries everything you would want from an upmarket hotel. The breakfast included eggs, cereal, toast, fruit and plastic cheese. The restaurant had a wide selection of Western and local foods which was well cooked. However we had to wait over an hour for dinner! The hotel is in the wrong location..close to karaoke bars and opposite a large Buddhist temple. The noise from the karaoke bars went onto the early hours and then at 4:30 the chanting from the temple started blaring from loud speakers, followed by dogs howling and the cockerels crowing . The chanting continued for hours. The hotel kindly provided ear plugs which on the 1st night we laughed about. The 2nd night we used the ear plugs but to no avail..another sleepless night on a comfortable bed. The rooms at the the back of the hotel may be quieter. So unless you are a very heavy sleeper I cannot recommend the hotel!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank iguana_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
90 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We spent five weeks in Cambodia, and this was the first place we stayed and by far our favorite. It's on the pricey side for Battambang, but everything about the hotel made it a worthy splurge. The friendly and accommodating English owners seem quite determined to get every detail right.

We booked one of the suites in the main building, and it was just a fantastic room -- very elegant with a huge balcony and a very spacious bathroom. The public spaces here, including the lovely pool, are incredibly well designed and inviting.

And the restaurant was fantastic. The fish amok spoiled us for the rest of the trip; we subsequently spent five weeks in Cambodia judging every amok against the Bambu standard, which was never quite met.

There is not a whole lot going on it Battambang, though we enjoyed some of the restaurants and bars each of our three evenings. The hotel is just slightly removed from the center of town. Each time we ventured into town, it was wonderful to return to this heavenly oasis.

Room Tip: The large rooms in the main building are gorgeous and worth a splurge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProNomad33062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

We just stayed one night, but we liked the place a lot. The staff was very friendly, although their knowledge of English sometimes fell short.
The room was big, albeit with a rather odd shower construction. It works (but beware of running of out of hot water); the bed was nice.
Breakfast was served by the table, but due to our haste we couldn't try it all. What we got was good.
All in all we can just agree with what the previous reviews have already stayed - a good place to stay at!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl-Henrik99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here two nights. The owner is English and has a well trained staff. The building looks really nice. As well as the swimming pool and the cabins/rooms behind it. What differentiates this hotel is the lounge and bar area. They have nice lounge chairs with soft cushions. And have candles burn on each table in the evening. The bar looks also nice and adds to the atmosphere,(and we are no bar people). Next to the lounge area is the terras where they have breakfast in the morning with nice table cloths. We had dinner once, and my chicken curry was really delicious. You can also sit inside, still open but with a roof for when it rains. The cabins have a wooden construction with tiles on it as a roof. The walls are made from wood, so it does leak in noise from the neighbouring restaurants. Again the eye is in the detail, the bathroom stocks sufficient very decorative amenities. Next to the reception they have some souvenirs for sale. All in all a pleasant place.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosita_Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Great rooms, well appointed very comfortable. Welcoming and professional staff. A great bar with good cold beer, good cocktails and friendly staff. The Restaurant is a lovely space adjacent to the cool pool and bar. The menu gives you the chance to take a break from local fare (not that it is not also offered) with some great dishes on offer.
The owner and host knows what he's doing!
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ducky121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Battambang hotels
2.3 mi away
Battambang Resort
Battambang Resort
#1 of 26 in Battambang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
1.1 mi away
Au Cabaret Vert
Au Cabaret Vert
#5 of 26 in Battambang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phka Villa
Phka Villa
#7 of 26 in Battambang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bric-a-Brac
Bric-a-Brac
#2 of 26 in Battambang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.6 mi away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 26 in Battambang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Sanctuary Villa
The Sanctuary Villa
#17 of 26 in Battambang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bambu Battambang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambu Battambang Hotel

Property: Bambu Battambang Hotel
Address: Ko Street | Romcheak 5, Sangkat Rottanak, Battambang 02000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Battambang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bambu Battambang Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bambu Battambang Hotel was opened in September 2010 and has 16 bedrooms arranged in 4 traditionally inspired buildings. When designing the hotel we wanted to combine all that was best in the local Khmer and French colonial architecture whilst providing our guests with maximum comfort and convenience.All rooms have en suite bathrooms, air conditioning, telephone, flat screen cable TV, DVD player with access to our DVD library, iPod docker, mini bar, room safe and private terrace or balcony. Free WiFi is provided around the site and we also have 2 dedicated computer terminals in reception for use by guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bambu Battambang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing