We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upmarket hotel in a quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bambu Battambang Hotel
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Battambang
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
174 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Upmarket hotel in a quiet location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2010

FIrst point....the BAMBU Hotel should be in the HOTEL section of TA not under B&Bs.

We received a warm welcome from the hotel Manager and the Owner upon our arrival and gladly accepted an upgrade to a suite room. The four suite rooms are located in the main building, ours overlooked the lovely bar/restaurant and pool area...other rooms are pleasantly located in separate two storey buildings the other side of the pool. Our room was spacious and tastefully decorated with the added bonus of hammocks on the deck. Bliss!! However, the shower was virtually uncontrolable and, most unusually, no tea/coffee making facilities in the room ???
All the hotel staff went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. The included breakfast (buffet style when warranted by sufficient numbers or a la carte when not) was adequate but not overly exciting.....other meals were well prepared and nicely served at the bar/pool side or in the covered dining room nearby.
Having inspected other recently opened hotel accommodation of a similar standard in Battambang we got the feeling that the Bambu is a bit over priced. Time will tell as more tourists hopefully make it to Battambang which has a lot to offer.
Overall we had a thoroughly pleasant and comfortable five nights in delightful surroundings.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandc2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    138
    28
    3
    4
See reviews for
73
188
34
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2010

We've been to Cambodia 3 times now and have stayed at La Villa when We've visited Battambang in the past. We booked into the Bambu on the back of a number of great reviews on sites like this and were really impressed with this hotels style and atmosphere. We stayed in a room at the front of the hotel with a huge bathroom and a balcony with hammocks overlooking a quiet bit of Battambang going about its business.

The bar and restaurant were both excellent, ice cold beers and a good menu. The staff here and all round the hotel were great fun and brought this place to life.

A really relaxing stay and thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SW4Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

This place is truly awesome. Great rooms, beautiful pool. Great staff. Happy hour with ice cold beer and nice cocktails. Beautiful design and ultra high quality.
I recommend unconditionally (and if you've read my other reviews you'll know I'm very hard to please!)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_Sonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

I have previously stayed at La Villa but was warned off by stories of the noise from the construction site next door; landed on my feet at Bambu! Its not long open but already has got a laid back but attentive vibe to the place. swimming pool is real bonus.
I has a room in the main building overlooking the road. I'd recommend this as the balcony has huge hammocks and the room is large and comfortable (best sheets in Cambodia!).
Excellent food from a varied menu, chef even came out and played his guitar after cooking my meal.
Battambang has lots to offer and quite different from Phnom Penh and Siem Reap. If you get a chance you should go. The hotel has loads of ideas of what to do if you have time (sadly I didn't).

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westcountrywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

This new hotel brings a touch of class to Battambang, Cambodia's second city. On the edge of town, it is surrounded by lush Cambodian countryside, which gives it a wonderfully rural feel, though it's only five minutes by tuk tuk from the centre of town. The hotel has been designed and built with impeccable taste and style: half French colonial, half traditional Khmer architecture, it is full of character. The rooms are simple yet luxurious, with all mod cons (including ipod docks!), power showers and wooden beams and floorboards. The whole establishment is highly environmentally sound, and brings much-needed western ideas of sustainability to Cambodia. The locally-based staff are very well trained and friendly, the resident chef cooks up delicious Khmer and international meals, and the bar is happening and fully stocked. A real gem.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobFinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

A beautiful hotel with modern amenities but warm touches and charm in its design. Tourists to Battambang now have another more upscale, western-oriented hotel in which they can stay. Rooms are spacious and decorated elegantly, with nicely chosen textiles, tiles, and lamps. A lot of though was put into the look and feel of this hotel. The pool is also impressive. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is a little far from the centre of town, but it's also quieter and more peaceful here. Transportation to the town and environs is easily arranged by hotel staff. I intended to stay in Battambang for one night, en route to Seam Reap, but after my first day, I sensed there was a lot to explore in this area, and opted to extend my stay for two more days. Battambang provides a more traditional, "authentic" experience of Khmer culture than downtown Phnom Penh or Seam Reap. Modernity has not quite landed here in the same way, at least not yet. Explore traditional villages, go on the bamboo train in the early hours of the morning, see some of the local temples, and at night go to the bat cave. When you return to Battambang at the end of the day, The Bambu Hotel has all the creature comforts waiting for you.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aegolius1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siem reap
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

I moved here from La Villa, and thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. La Villa is charming, but rests on its laurels, I thought. Bambu is new, and I would be very surprised if it does not end up with a highly respected reputation.

The staff are friendly (not unusual in Cambodia!), but English standards aren't always great - I guess this is not unusual in the provinces. They really do try and go the extra mile to please, however. Rooms are large, nicely furnished and set out, and I had a great night's sleep. Drinks menu is good, and sensibly priced (good cocktail range), food is very good, the whole ambience of the hotel is welcoming and tasteful.

I was very happily surprised to learn about this place, and am pleased to see some competition in the hotel scene in Battambang.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyhad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Battambang hotels
2.3 mi away
Battambang Resort
Battambang Resort
#1 of 26 in Battambang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
1.1 mi away
Au Cabaret Vert
Au Cabaret Vert
#5 of 26 in Battambang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phka Villa
Phka Villa
#7 of 26 in Battambang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bric-a-Brac
Bric-a-Brac
#2 of 26 in Battambang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.6 mi away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 26 in Battambang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Sanctuary Villa
The Sanctuary Villa
#17 of 26 in Battambang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bambu Battambang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambu Battambang Hotel

Property: Bambu Battambang Hotel
Address: Ko Street | Romcheak 5, Sangkat Rottanak, Battambang 02000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Battambang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bambu Battambang Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bambu Battambang Hotel was opened in September 2010 and has 16 bedrooms arranged in 4 traditionally inspired buildings. When designing the hotel we wanted to combine all that was best in the local Khmer and French colonial architecture whilst providing our guests with maximum comfort and convenience.All rooms have en suite bathrooms, air conditioning, telephone, flat screen cable TV, DVD player with access to our DVD library, iPod docker, mini bar, room safe and private terrace or balcony. Free WiFi is provided around the site and we also have 2 dedicated computer terminals in reception for use by guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Bambu Battambang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing