We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only address in Battambang”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bambu Battambang Hotel
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Battambang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2011

I had the great pleasure of staying at Bambu over the Christmas period. This is a new hotel in Battambang which has only been open for a few months. The first thing that struck me was the beautiful design of the hotel. Much more interesting than every thing else being thrown up in Cambodia. Someone had obviously put a lot of care into its design. The rooms had a real wow factor, very comfy beds, lovely linen, great walk in showers and a great attention to detail at every point. The swimming pool and loungers were perfect for some well earned "R and R". Restaurant and Bar kept up the High standards. I got chatting to Pat, the owner, who was a very genial host and good source of local information. But possibly the most important thing Bambu had going for itself were the management and staff. Everyone was so friendly and helpful, something I will not forget in a hurry. Especially the Chef, what a character!
In summing up, the best place I stayed at in Cambodia by some distance, and I stayed at some great places!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank torks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Bambu Battambang Hotel over New Year's 2011 and enjoyed every second of it. The staff was very warm and welcoming from the moment we got there until the moment we left. Each request we had, whether it be to call a Tuk Tuk for us, or just what time it was was met with great urgency and care. I could tell that each person was dedicated to making our stay a great one. The atmosphere at Bambu automatically relaxes you and is a great place to hangout after riding the Bamboo Train or seeing the town in a Tuk Tuk.

Our room was spacious and modern, but still rooted in Cambodian design. The air conditioning and fan were greatly appreciated on those hot days. The bathroom was large and had a safe in it that you could create you own code to keep your belongings safe while you explored Battambang. The pool was nice and refreshing, surrounded by plenty of chairs and umbrellas to relax under.

If you come to Battambang for just one night or five you won't regret staying at Bambu. Pat and his staff will make sure your visit is a memorable one.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marzbars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2010

After 6 weeks of backpacking my boyfriend and I decided to treat ourselves to some luxury whilst in Battambang, we arrived at the Bambu without a reservation but we were immediately made to feel welcome, and given refreshments and a cool flannel whilst a room was made available to us. What made this hotel special was the Cambodian hospitality, the staff were so friendly and happy to help, and always made an effort to say hello and have a little chat.

The room was fantastic, located behind the swimming pool area, it had a kings size bed which faced french doors that opened out onto a small courtyard with table and chairs. The bathroom had a massive walk in shower which had a rain-shower type head, and came with plenty of fluffy towels plus a hairdryer and toiletries.

Once checked in we made the most of the lovely pool area and went for a swim, the loungers were comfortable and pool towels are provided. Of course the bar is nearby with waiter service so you don't go thirsty! That evening we pulled up a bar stool and enjoyed a more than a few ice cold Tiger draught beers served in frosty glasses, made all the better by the happy hour prices. The bar nibbles are addictive but before we got too full we decided to order some food from the restaurant menu which is a good mix of western and Asian food, and reasonably priced we thought (and that's coming from two backpackers!).

We were shown to a table in the restaurant, which opens onto the kitchen, and being the only ones in there, had a fantastic experience as we watched the three chefs prepare and cook food just for us! I chose a pad Thai - the best I'd had since the start of my trip, and my boyfriend a spaghetti dish which was equally delicious. The breakfast we had the following the morning, which was included in the room rate, was also of a high standard. There was a choice of breakfast but we both went for the eggs/bacon/sausage and it also came with fruit juice, tea/coffee and a selection of fruit, it was substantial enough to keep us filled up most of the day!

The first night we were there we hired a couple of DVD's from reception, the cost of the hire went towards a local school which the hotel sponsors to provide English lessons to local children. On speaking more to the reception about this we were told that it was possible to visit the school and the children, we thought this would be a unique opportunity and asked if this could be arranged. We had already wanted to go to the Bamboo Train, a local attraction (if its still going it is definitely a must-do!) and the man on reception said he could organise a tuk tuk man to pick us up and take us to both the Bambu train and the school.

The next day our tuk tuk driver turned out to be brilliant, he was able to tell us lots about the local history and really brought things to life in his descriptions. He also suggested we take some notebooks and pencils to the school as it is always appreciated, something we hadn't thought about, but it was great to turn up with gifts for the children. The school was located in quite a rural location and the children were not confident in speaking English but we were able to see their learning environment and ended up playing games like hide and seek with them!

Speaking to other guests they had also had a great tuk tuk driver which had been arranged through the hotel so I would definitely recommend to do this, even if you just need to pop into town, the centre of which is located across the river, a tuk tuk driver is always on hand although it is close enough to walk if you want to. The location of the hotel means it is really tranquil and you can hear the chants from the nearby temples whilst you are lying by the pool which can be very atmospheric! We didn't compare the hotel rates with any others nearby but for what you get, the standard of service, food and accommodation we think it is well worth the money.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SharenceTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

FIrst point....the BAMBU Hotel should be in the HOTEL section of TA not under B&Bs.

We received a warm welcome from the hotel Manager and the Owner upon our arrival and gladly accepted an upgrade to a suite room. The four suite rooms are located in the main building, ours overlooked the lovely bar/restaurant and pool area...other rooms are pleasantly located in separate two storey buildings the other side of the pool. Our room was spacious and tastefully decorated with the added bonus of hammocks on the deck. Bliss!! However, the shower was virtually uncontrolable and, most unusually, no tea/coffee making facilities in the room ???
All the hotel staff went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. The included breakfast (buffet style when warranted by sufficient numbers or a la carte when not) was adequate but not overly exciting.....other meals were well prepared and nicely served at the bar/pool side or in the covered dining room nearby.
Having inspected other recently opened hotel accommodation of a similar standard in Battambang we got the feeling that the Bambu is a bit over priced. Time will tell as more tourists hopefully make it to Battambang which has a lot to offer.
Overall we had a thoroughly pleasant and comfortable five nights in delightful surroundings.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandc2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

We've been to Cambodia 3 times now and have stayed at La Villa when We've visited Battambang in the past. We booked into the Bambu on the back of a number of great reviews on sites like this and were really impressed with this hotels style and atmosphere. We stayed in a room at the front of the hotel with a huge bathroom and a balcony with hammocks overlooking a quiet bit of Battambang going about its business.

The bar and restaurant were both excellent, ice cold beers and a good menu. The staff here and all round the hotel were great fun and brought this place to life.

A really relaxing stay and thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SW4Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

This place is truly awesome. Great rooms, beautiful pool. Great staff. Happy hour with ice cold beer and nice cocktails. Beautiful design and ultra high quality.
I recommend unconditionally (and if you've read my other reviews you'll know I'm very hard to please!)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex_Sonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

I have previously stayed at La Villa but was warned off by stories of the noise from the construction site next door; landed on my feet at Bambu! Its not long open but already has got a laid back but attentive vibe to the place. swimming pool is real bonus.
I has a room in the main building overlooking the road. I'd recommend this as the balcony has huge hammocks and the room is large and comfortable (best sheets in Cambodia!).
Excellent food from a varied menu, chef even came out and played his guitar after cooking my meal.
Battambang has lots to offer and quite different from Phnom Penh and Siem Reap. If you get a chance you should go. The hotel has loads of ideas of what to do if you have time (sadly I didn't).

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westcountrywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Battambang hotels
2.3 mi away
Battambang Resort
Battambang Resort
#1 of 26 in Battambang
715 reviews
1.1 mi away
Au Cabaret Vert
Au Cabaret Vert
#5 of 26 in Battambang
311 reviews
0.6 mi away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 26 in Battambang
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bric-a-Brac
Bric-a-Brac
#2 of 26 in Battambang
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phka Villa
Phka Villa
#7 of 26 in Battambang
439 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Sanctuary Villa
The Sanctuary Villa
#16 of 26 in Battambang
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bambu Battambang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambu Battambang Hotel

Address: Ko Street | Romcheak 5, Sangkat Rottanak, Battambang 02000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Battambang
Price Range: £50 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bambu Battambang Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bambu Battambang Hotel was opened in September 2010 and has 16 bedrooms arranged in 4 traditionally inspired buildings. When designing the hotel we wanted to combine all that was best in the local Khmer and French colonial architecture whilst providing our guests with maximum comfort and convenience.All rooms have en suite bathrooms, air conditioning, telephone, flat screen cable TV, DVD player with access to our DVD library, iPod docker, mini bar, room safe and private terrace or balcony. Free WiFi is provided around the site and we also have 2 dedicated computer terminals in reception for use by guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Bambu Battambang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing