We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly family!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tomato Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Battambang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tomato Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Friendly family!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

The rooms are very basic, but still good value for only 3 dollars per room per night, with your own facilities. A good restaurant with good food for a good price is downstairs. And allthough this place is just a short stroll away from city centre (like 1 min), the restaurant is pretty quiet and a good place to relax. The friendly family makes you feel very welcome and are happy to help.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ivo v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    32
    16
    5
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
29
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We didnt stay here because the Internet was down and we needed to make plans for the following day. We left to find another hotel and they completely understood.
We went back to eat at the restaurant and booked our onward travel with them.
Excellent customer service.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlawton21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Ok, you can have your own room with a fan, private bathroom for 3 $ a night. What you need it more? Rooms are very basic and I recommand you bring your own blanket, mosquito spray for sleeping. If you are sensitive with the smell, then you might not like staying in here. There are some rooms with the unpleasant smell, I had to open the door during the day. However, The thing which makes Tomato G.H so speacial is that people here are very nice and friendly. The family is lovely and nice, staffs are down to earth, especially Long a young guy who helped me a lot all the time, one time I had a late night bus, no where for waiting, then he opened the restaurant until 12 am just because of me. Neighbours are nice here too, and you can have delicious food here at Tomato's restaurant. The location is also nice, you can walk along the river or strolling the central market easily. While I was staying here in April, 2014, the rooms were almost everyday full. All the rooms share a narrow balcony-like corridor with small chairs, I lovedddd sitting there during the day, meeting and having conversation with other travellers. Great budget guest house for long time travellers.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 하림 박
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Basic room with your own bathroom(3-4$ in 2013). Well centered in town. But the best is the food. We spotted locals coming for diner here, and decide to give a shot....and it was the most yummy cambodian cuisine we had in the all country!Unfortunately it was now a year a go and I can't remember the name of the dishes we had. Just order whathever locals are eating next to you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed four nights at Tomato, in a room with 2 bunk beds and toilet for $3 a night. The family who run it are really friendly, if they can help with anything they will. It has a really relaxed atmosphere, you want a can of coke, then just go and get one from the fridge and pay after. Would stay there again :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CheadleMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battambang, Cambodia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Rooms basic but with toilet, shower, double bed and fan for only $3 one would definitely not be complaining. Great value.

The best thing about this place is the lovely family that run it. So nice, friendly, welcoming and helpful.

It may not have the frills and glamour of other place nearby but it's certainly my pick.

If your staying in Battambang stay in tomato guesthouse.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetravelloveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vang Vieng, Laos
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed at Tomato Guesthouse for 3 nights and would highly recommend it for the exceptionally friendly and kind staff, delicious food and value for money. The chicken sandwich is also recommended takeaway for a bus trip- delicious! Thanks Tomato guesthouse.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gretgret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Battambang hotels
0.2 mi away
Seng Hout Hotel
Seng Hout Hotel
#12 of 27 in Battambang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Angkor Comfort Hotel
Angkor Comfort Hotel
#9 of 27 in Battambang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 27 in Battambang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
King Fy Hotel
King Fy Hotel
#11 of 27 in Battambang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.7 mi away
Happy Villa Battambang
Happy Villa Battambang
#18 of 27 in Battambang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.3 mi away
Star Hotel
Star Hotel
#8 of 27 in Battambang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tomato Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomato Guest House

Property: Tomato Guest House
Address: Battambang, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Battambang
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NO BOOKING !!! Don't let messages and don't call, please. Two establishments face to face First one: - Restaurant downstairs (opened for the lunch to the dinner until 11pm) - Rooms & dorms with own bathroom Second one: - Bar/restaurant on the rooftop, perfect to chill out (opened for breakfast until 11am and dinner until 10pm) - Rooms with own bathroom & dorms with bathroom - Motobike and bicycle for rent - Laundry - Bus and boat tickets for booking - Circus tickets for booking - Massage on the rooftop ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing