We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but extremley cheap and perfect location - the real cambodia”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chhaya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chhaya Hotel
Ranked #17 of 45 Battambang B&B and Inns
Truro
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Basic but extremley cheap and perfect location - the real cambodia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

This was by far the cheapest place we stayed on our travels for only £5ish for 2 people for 2 nights you should understand youre not going somewhere for the luxuary. It was simple but we had a tv in our room and our own bathroom

I couldnt believe after getting off the boat from Siem Reap that a lovely man named Paul would be waiting for us with a tuktuk and sign saying our name!! for the price of the place I couldnt believe this was that provided us with a free tuktuk back to the hotel! :) :)
We also used Paul for the afternoon as our tuktuk driver to take us to the Killing Caves - if you can request for paul they know who he is and he even did us a tour and came with us too! Location wise it was perfect to go out get some tea in the evening, there isnt much to do in Battambang so I suggest 2 nights max.

Don't expect a palace but expect clean cheap rooms - Battambang is not a beautiful tourist town but it gives you a feel of real Cambodia.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    32
    45
    27
    17
See reviews for
4
44
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

Got there after a 5hr bus ride from siem only to find they had double booked our room. A tuk-tuk driver showed us the next room up and tried haggling us, in the end I spoke with manager who gave us the ensuite double ($5) for the price of the shared ($3).
There is a wifi point on each floor but at peak times was a mission to get on as everyone was on it.
There are annoying tuk-tuk drivers that haggle you every time you come and go but when we negotiated a tour he was very helpful.
Security guards on 24/7 and doors locked at night

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turbominicooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

If you like noise and the feeling they are paying you to stay here you will feel at home! I gave up after numerous days of been woken up at any hour. The locals and security guards seem determined to make as much noise as possible at any hour of the day without any concern for anyone else whether playing music on mobile phones at 3am or generally raised voices. Sound travels/echos in this place but no one seems to care or realise.Didn't enjoy having them knocking on my door (3 times) waking me up during my stay, just to look into my room, grunt and walk off.

Room wasn't properly cleaned when I arrived either. Can't wait to get back to a bamboo hut in Thailand!

A close second place to the worst place I have ever stayed in and simply devoid of any hotel professionalism to customer service.

If you don't want to be sleep deprived and mentally shattered when you leave pay more and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Battambang hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Ko Chang, Thailand
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

Overall the Chhaya Hotel is pretty good. For $10 we had a room with such cold AC we had to snuggle to stay warm. But the offer of a seamless trip from Battambang to Ko Chang is a devious rip-off. We had already figured out the best way to make the trip, using the crossing at Pasar Puhm/Ban Pakard which is supposed to be really easy, and we even arranged through Mr. Lee to take a taxi to the border for $8 each. But at the last minute, he told us that he didn't realize that we were going to Ko Chang and we should not use that crossing. For an additional $15 each he would have "his team" meet us after we were through the border at Poipet/Aranya Prathet and bring us to the bus which would take us to the ferry and "his team" would get us on the ferry to Ko Chang. "You don't pay more money". The Poipet crossing is about 2 to 3 hours farther to Ko Chang, takes way longer to cross since it is packed and people on packaged tours get to cut the line, and - here is the big suprise - there was no "team" on the other side. We even had our little white stickers on our shirts, and carried the envelope that says "PAID - Mr. Lee" on the side, but there was no team to meet us. And all the hawkers know just what is going on, so several guys called us over and said they were there for us and wanted to help us. But they didn't have any idea of who Mr. Lee was. One guy was pretty convincing, and we even sat for a while thinking he was really going to help, but after 3 or 4 hours of waiting while he waited for other people to arrive, he just walked away and disavowed anything to do with us.

So, we were out the $30 we spent at the last minute, and several hours further away from where we wanted to go, and several hours of waiting later that we needed to be. But we asked about a taxi from one of the shops just over the small bridge down the road from the checkpoint and he had his driver take us to the ferry for $60 for 4 of us. The roads are good and he drove almost at breakneck speed, but there were safety belts in the car, and we made it for the 7 pm ferry which really left at 7:30.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

Room was clean and (as it was facing the rear, had no street noise) - very happy with that part. Also, there is a wifi point on every floor so I had no trouble getting a decent signal in my room

The outweighing negatives are the way it is run:

- before I get to the meatier things, bear in mind, local families appear to rent rooms. The ones near me seemed to think the world a better place if the TV was blaring constantly

- walk into the lobby, the boss demands "where you go, where you go" and points to a board offering overpriced coach trips or to local tuk tuk drivers who hang around in the lobby and try to get you to take a ride every time you walk past. One (a moto rider) followed me on his bike 3 times as I left - I'd indicate that I didn't need a moto, but he'd pull up and offer me (in this order) a moto ride, hashish and, finally, "boom-boom".

When you stay in a guesthouse or hotel you leave things in your room and, as such, place a certain amount of trust in the establishment - people who you don't know anything about. My experience of the owner and how he ran his hotel (he seems to be a big payer of and receiver of commissions) makes me rate him as extremely untrustworthy. Next time I'd rather pay an extra couple of dollars (if thats what it took) and stay elsewhere.

Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012 via mobile

We arrived by boat from Siem Reap.They distributed nice brochures with even nicer looking modern rooms for just 10 dollars a night, so we agreed to stay there, the name was CHHAYA serviced appartments, but were instead brought to a run down hospital like hotel which had nothing to do with the brochure except that its the same owner.Wifi did not work in the room.
Make sure you get the new rooms at the building behind as advertised.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toubab62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dijon, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

$5 for a really clean double room with fan, great deal! The staff is pretty nice and the location is good, close to everything (market, shops, restaurants, cheap beers). The fridge didn't work. Towels are provided. Recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Battambang hotels
0.0 mi away
Star Hotel
Star Hotel
#8 of 26 in Battambang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seng Hout Hotel
Seng Hout Hotel
#11 of 26 in Battambang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angkor Comfort Hotel
Angkor Comfort Hotel
#10 of 26 in Battambang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bric-a-Brac
Bric-a-Brac
#2 of 26 in Battambang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#2 of 45 in Battambang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.0 mi away
First Hotel
First Hotel
#5 of 23 in Battambang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chhaya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chhaya Hotel

Property: Chhaya Hotel
Address: 118, Street 3 | Svaypor, Battambang 02360, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Battambang
Hotel Class:1 star — Chhaya Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chhaya Hotel is located in the heart of Battambang city, quiet, comfortable and safe, a few minutes walk to Central Market. All staffs are friendly, intimate with English and french speaking. We offer a free transportation from bus or boat station to our hotel . room start from 3$, 5$, 7$ ,12$ Dormitory available! * Selling & Booking Boat,bus, Taxi ticket to every where * Tour Trip around Battambang,with good English speaking driver/Guide.(good price) * Bike tours with good English speaking guide (good price) * Vietnam Visa Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Chhaya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing