We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average hotel,worth the money”
Review of Asia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Asia Hotel
Ranked #7 of 46 Battambang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Well-worth the 12/14 I paid for -clean, spacious air-conditioned room with heater, enjoyed the stay and the staff were helpful but not exactly very courteous. Bicycle rentals are useful as well
Fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

The hotel is well placed in the city. Battambang is in the three largest cities of Cambodia. The streets are pretty empty by 8 pm with little to no night life. The major attraction would be the bat cave nearby and the bamboo train. The hotel does not have a lift and the rooms do not have a safe but do have a fridge, a TV and air conditioned. The bed was reasonable to sleep on and not too hard as with most asian beds. Breakfast is in the lobby area and we found the coffee was fantastic, reminding us of home (Australia) the hotel has free wifi and I found it pretty fast and strong signal. Compared to Cambodian hotels the Asia was good and I probably would stay there again if in Battambang. The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly and nice plus spoke good English. The rooms were large and the shower bathroom area was ok. The city market is just down the road and the hotel is close to several good restaurants. The hotel is on a corner and the traffic on the roads busy but not like Phnom Penh or Siem Reap.

Room Tip: Nice staff and valve for money hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This hotel was okay. Staff dont speak much English but we're very friendly an helpful. Breakfast wash expensive and awful. Seems like the whole hotel was indire need of repairs. Quite dirty and empty. It was okay for the price but I would try elsewhere next time.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jadene c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

In the Midwestern region of Cambodia, around 50 miles or so from the Thai border lies Battambang. It’s the second largest city population-wise in Cambodia, 180,853 as of 2008, though it has a decidedly small town look and feel.
The city’s claim to fame is rice. It is the hub of rice growing in Cambodia.
The city is a sprawling, zone-less affair that has predominately rather modest sized, squat architecture. Ain’t no such thing as a skyscraper in Battambang. In March it’s somewhat dusty and dirty with one or two mini-squalls swirling the grime around.
The Asia Hotel has an ideal location; it is within 10 meters of two bus stations. And after the 6 to 6 ½ hour ride from Phnom Penh in buses that certainly were not designed for the girth and height of westerners, a hotel within a few footsteps of the station is a godsend.
Asia fills that bill just fine.
The hotel is innocuous through and through. No outstanding characteristics, no razzle dazzle except for the blue mirrored glass bow windows that run the height of the façade. The hotel isn’t bad, just predictable with an aura of déjà vu about it. Feels like you’ve been there before, even if you’ve never set foot in it.
Battambang City is similar; no outstanding characteristics. A more or less generic place, lacking any kind of unique identity. It’s nowhere and everywhere at the same time.
In that “nowhere - everywhere” persona the Asia Hotel fits perfectly.
Not bad and not good - average in a forgettable kind of way.
One exception to its persuasive dullness is the staff. They are attentive and cheerful. Topnotch.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank DiceyEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights in January with my husband, and we were disappointed. The room we were originally in was the room on the ground floor, next to the restaurant and reception. We ended up having to move to another room, due to the fact that the curtains were so thin that we could see the lights from the reception area outside. When we asked for some material to put up on the window to black out the room a bit more (so we could sleep better), the female staff member just stared at us.

We found ourselves in room 119 after that, and I noticed a used bar of soap still in the shower from the last occupant. The toilet had a bit of a chip on the flushing lever, and some of the walls in the bedroom looked like it needed a bit of a clean.

We ordered breakfast for the two mornings that we were there, and we didn't get all that we ordered on our first morning. Trying to get a hold of a staff member to inquire about it proved difficult.

I don't like giving poor reviews, but on this occasion I felt it was justified.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TudorRose80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed here for one night. Room with air conditioner, fan, wifi, cable tv, a large bed. Two hangers in closet. $15. No breakfast included. Owner is the same as Royal Hotel, near central market and Star Hotel, just across the road. In terms of location, it is a little further from the centre of town than say, Royal Hotel. But central market, if you consider that the centre of town, is still within walking distance. The room is clean, fairly large. My room - 119 - shows some signs of wear. The bathroom door needs a bit of a adjustment before it can close. The closet shelf is slightly broken. You get a bar of soap, no shampoo. There is a plastic comb and a plastic mug in the bathroom. There are two water glasses in the room, no water nor kettle. The staff is quite helpful. Englsh pretty well spoken. Staff helpful and friendly. I saw the boss around at the reception area. Generally, there are no complaints about the place or room or its location.

Room Tip: The view of the city is not that great, so you can certainly save money by getting a room with an in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Location is a bit out of town - probably no more than 10mins from the market but the road is very quiet and poorly lit at night. You are one block from most of the bus companies (exit, turn immediately right, cross road and go ahead one block). There is also a supermarket that way (it's actually part of the petrol/gas station.
That said bottled water is actually cheaper in the hotel!!
Staff are very friendly.
Room was clean, wifi was good. Breakfast - go for the baguettes - really good. It is slightly cheaper to pay a few dollars more when you book to have breakfast included as baguettes and coffee for 2 will about $9-10. It's proper, real coffee too. We've been in Asia since the beginning of Dec (2 months) and this is one of best breakfasts.
Great place, just didn't like the immediate area after dark (but it was fine)

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Grant_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Battambang hotels
0.0 mi away
Star Hotel
Star Hotel
#9 of 26 in Battambang
214 reviews
0.5 mi away
King Fy Hotel
King Fy Hotel
#12 of 26 in Battambang
349 reviews
0.8 mi away
Angkor Comfort Hotel
Angkor Comfort Hotel
#10 of 26 in Battambang
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jasmine Battambang Hotel
Jasmine Battambang Hotel
#13 of 26 in Battambang
11 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seng Hout Hotel
Seng Hout Hotel
#14 of 26 in Battambang
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#1 of 46 in Battambang
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asia Hotel

Address: Street Lark A, Gr. 12 Preakmohatep Village | Sangkat Svay Por, Battambang, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Battambang
Price Range: £8 - £16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Asia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Asia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing