We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bumpy ride :-)”
Review of Bamboo Train

Bamboo Train
Book In Advance
More Info
US$37.50*
and up
Half-Day Battambang City Tour and Bamboo Train Ride
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Welcome to Bamboo train Battambang !
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bumpy ride :-)”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

This ride is great fun, especially with kids! It goes real fast and it is REALLY bumpy. The only downside is that you pay "the owner" who then pays the drivers and probably also the police man who is there to "inform" you about stuff.... So be sure to tip the drivers!! At the end of the tracks, there are small shacks that sell the usual tourist t-shirts and drinks, but they're all really nice and not pushy.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ThorGroFrigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    894
    753
    303
    107
    67
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
dubai
Level Contributor
71 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Interesting and unique, though also a bit of a tourist trap”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

A ride on the bamboo train (or Norry) could be the best thing or the worst thing that you can experience.
The good thing: it's one of a kind in the world. (though I have heard of a similar thing in the Philippines). You ride a bamboo raft set on wheels on rails. It's a fun ride, though totally bone jarring and full of hard knocks and jerks. The poorly maintained tracks are warped and misaligned in many places where the vehicle jerks like crazy. Also, you need to squat on the bamboo platform on cushions- there are no seats or hand holds unless you are sitting at the very front. The driver sits at the rear end on a slightly raised plank of wood so that he gets a clear view of the track ahead from over your heads.
Things get interesting when you encounter an oncoming 'train'. Here, the accepted convention is that the train carrying the greater number of passengers has to yield. In this case, the 'train' is taken apart, and then physically carried to behind the approaching train and then re-assembled. Both drivers work at it, meaning the approaching train has to stop as well, and it's driver help your own driver take his car apart and put it back again. It's a funny sort of experience to get off in the middle of nowhere and have your train taken apart and built up again.
The trains have a simple motorcycle or tractor engine with the wheels driven by a simple fan belt.
Now for the negatives. One, the starting point is a bit out of the way- quite far from Battambang town. It took us about 15- 20 min. by car.
Two, there is no canopy or shade on the train, so if it's hot, like it was when I visited, be prepared to be slow roasted. And the ride is really bumpy and bone jarring.
Third, the ride, which now costs US$ 5, has been now severely curtailed, and it lasts only 20 min. till the next station, which is actually a bit of a tourist trap. If you have visited the Angkor temples in Siem Reap, then you know the persistence at which local kids (and here ladies too) try and sell you stuff. 'You baai' you baai' (you buy) etc. If you have already bought some thing, another kid or lady will push with 'one more, from me, we are poor', or 'one more, it help me go school' (sic) etc. And you have to necessarily halt there for nearly half an hour.
The village is actually a walking village, so if the hard sell gets too persistent, you can walk around and see a traditional brick kiln. In theory. In practice however it's really too hot to go anywhere.
We got around this problem by sitting in a stall that also sold cold drinks. We bought a couple of wrist bands for my travel companion, and then sat there quietly sipping our cold drinks and striking up a conversation with our stall holder ladies. We sat there for the half hour, meaning none of the others bothered us.
They say the bamboo trains or norries will be taken off the rails soon in favour of proper trains, but although I've been hearing this since 2009, there seems to be no sign of any railway construction happening in Cambodia as of April 2014, when I visited.
I'll only say keep an open mind, enjoy the bone jarring ride, for its uniqueness if nothing else, and do go easy on the locals-- they are only trying to make a living here. But as we did, if you dive into one of the stalls and spend your half an hour of halt there, the other stalls won't bother you. After half an hour, you can ask your stall owners to go fetch your driver.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank shankaronline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bungendore, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“see it before it's lost”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We went for a look but didn't actually go for a ride.. Colourful, but looked like it would be noisy and uncomfortable. It's main attraction is it's history and that it will be lost soon, when TOLL? take over the line and redevelop it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank HGDaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Something Different”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my trip on the Bamboo Train. It is not the most comfortable ride, sitting on cushions on an open train cart but the experience was worth the fare. The crooked rail tracks were a bit off-putting, as were some of the off-sets where tracks met - but we survived! I particularly enjoyed the disassembling of the cart/carriage whenever we encountered a train coming in the other direction.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jabema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
286 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Corny but great fun”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A slow, rickety ride takes you and out tonCambodian rice fields. If you have tender bum, forget it. You also get a chance to see the traditional, backbreaking way of life endured by Cambodian peasants.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank NYTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bamboo Train also viewed

Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 
Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 

Been to Bamboo Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing