We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Battambang My Homestay
Ranked #2 of 45 Battambang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Homey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Lovely. Much has been said already, so here in short:

- rooms are clean and spacious
- the Kun family is very, very friendly and do their best to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
- Mr Kun speaks English fluently, the family not so much, but they will call him on the mobile and hand over to you, so in the end, you can ask/arrange anything even when he is at work
- he has good connections to reliable tuktuk drivers who speak very good English, which makes trips around the area so much more enjoyable
- we got a plate of different fruit every evening, some of which we didn't know before. Also two 1/2 l bottles of water. You feel really cared for, when you come home in the evening and someone was waiting for you and brings you such a nice treat.
- when we had trouble on our journey back to Phnom Penh, we called him on the mobile and he was very willing to help us
- very nice traditional Khmer breakfast, freshly prepared.
- ride to the city centre is just a few minutes by tuktuk or bike

Cons:
- while we were there around end of March, there was work done at the waterworks. So during the day only the toilet had water, but not the shower. But this is not the Kun familiy's fault and they provided big water buckets with fresh water for washing hands etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Franziska_etc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    44
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
153
43
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Mr. Kun makes everyone’s “homestay” a great one. We spent 1.5 days / 2 nights in Battambang (all you need) and this was the perfect, inexpensive homebase for us. The rooms are new & clean with aircon, hot water, etc. plus a tasty Cambodian breakfast is included and the Wifi was strong in the rooms. On top of the accommodations, the owner coordinated a full-day Battambang tour for us – an entire route + tuk tuk driver. We loved our day with Bowrain and highly recommend him and the tour to all Battambang visitors looking to see all the sights in a jam-packed Cambodia day. Pick up was included from the bus station which was a nice perk.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingTings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario - Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Loved this homestay and would highly recommend it. For us, the location was perfect. Just outside of town in a nice peaceful neighbourhood. Rooms are spacious, well equipped and spotless. The owner Mr. Kun and his family were so kind and friendly to us. I knew from his first email that we were going to love staying at his place. He's organized and there to help you with anything to make your stay memorable and hassle free. We were there for 2 nights, but wish we could have stayed longer. We actually had a sudden change of plans and had to arrange for a driver to take us to Phnom Penh. Instantly, he arranged for a driver at a moments' notice. His name was Kim Bee and what a great driver he was. We were talking and laughing with him all the way to the airport. A very kind man and a very safe drive. Our time in Battambang was a highlight for us. This is certainly a place where we could see ourselves staying for a longer period of time. Mr. Kun arranged for an auto rickshaw to take us around to various interesting sites. James was our driver and he was there whenever we needed him. He was fantastic! We also had our laundry done at My Homestay and they did a great job! The Khmer breakfasts were authentic and tasty as well. Overall, we can't say enough about our time at My Homestay and we might even return in December when we visit Vietnam and Northern Cambodia. We have nothing but great things to say about this Homestay and we thank you, Mr. Kun, for making us feel at home and for our memorable stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keep-travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

When we arrived in Battambang, we had been staying in rural areas and very small cities in Cambodia for a while. We were excited about being in a urban place, especially since we had heard that Battambang is such a beautiful town.

However, the friendly attitude of Mr Kun, the owner, and our tuk-tuk driver, Huot, changed drastically when we explained we wanted to enjoy the city on our own during our 4-days stay. Mr Kun insisted on the fact that the countryside of Battambang was very nice and that we should go on a tour with our « designated » tuk-tuk driver. That's right: we were told before our arrival that we would have a free pick-up, but actually, as soon as we got in the tuk-tuk at our arrival on the bus station, we could read the sign inside the tuk-tuk saying something like: "I am offering you a free pick-up in hope that you will hire my for tours while you are in Battambang". We felt weird about it because that was not our intention. We explained to Huot that we would spend most of our time in town, so he insisted that he would always be the one picking us up to bring us back at the hotel (which is a little bit outside of town; the ride from or to town is fixed at 1$), and we agreed, to make it up to him.

After that, every night, he would look for us in the whole city, and when he would find us in a restaurant, he'd wait for us to finish our meal to bring us back, sometimes making comments about that fact that he was waiting for us to go to bed (!) We told him a couple of times we had just ordered and that we were not ready to go back; that he should just go to bed and that we would get back on our own. But he always insisted on waiting, usually looking very annoyed, which became really uncomfortable.

Once, he couldn't find us and we were kind of releived because we felt like staying out a little longer for drinks. Thinking about it now, it seems crazy to me that we were so concern about not disapointing him, to the point where we were not doing what we wanted to do when we wanted during our vacation. That night, we came back later, around 10 PM, with an other tuk-tuk found in town. The next morning, after breakfast, we asked Mr Kun for a tuk-tuk to go into town. A very frustrated Huot showed up, telling us he had look around everywhere for us the night before.

In the end, we ended up booking a tour of the surroundings on our last day to buy peace, because it had become very tense with Huot, it didn't seem possible to change tuk-tuk drivers, and Mr Kun also seemed very annoyed with us.

As for the guesthouse itself, I can only say as everybody else: the rooms were big, bright and clean, the shower was good, and the traditionnal khmer breakfast every morning was a big plus. Unfortunately, we didn't feel at home at all because the way this place is organised seems to be for a specific kind of vacation in Battambang, which did not suit our needs at the time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobetrotteuseMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We had 2 nights here and loved our stay. Mr Kun is a very warm and genuine man, showing how much he cares from the very first contact you make with him. He is very helpful with suggestions on what to do in the area. The rooms here are very nice and spacious. The breakfasts are amazing and a welcome break from boring eggs and baguettes. The location is out of town but this didn't bother us as we used the free bicycles, taking 5-10 mins to cycle in. You get a free pick up from your arrival point by a tuk tuk driver associated with the guesthouse. We used this same driver to take us on a tour of Battambang the next day. Really recommend doing this, it was such an amazing day. Our driver was Huot who spoke very good English and had great enthusiasm for his job - we learned a lot from him.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave_Basia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

My homestay is a warm and happy place to stay. It's also very, very nice for the price. The owner and his family simply could not be nicer or more helpful. At first we thought it strange that they ask the night before when you have breakfast, but then we are the DELICIOUS local breakfasts (Cambodian pancake, spring rolls, fresh fruit) and realized its because real love and effort went into it. The only downside to staying here is that it's a bit far to walk from town, but they have good tuk tuk drivers on staff to take you back and forth for a dollar. Worth it for the good stay and breakfast at these prices.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

When we arrived (late in the afternoon, and without having reconfirmed our booking), Mr Kun informed us that he had given the AC room that we had booked to other guests and that he only had a fan room available for the first night of our stay (a standing fan). He assured us, however, that we would move into an AC room the following day. This was fine. The room, despite being very warm, was clean and even cosy. Mr Kun provided free water and bananas, and helped us to arrange a Tuk Tuk into the city for dinner in the evening (this is inevitable if you stay there as the guesthouse is a little bit out of town and there are no restaurants nearby, nor any streetlights to make an evening stroll into town a possibility). In the morning we had a delicious Khmer pancake for breakfast, along with a pot of tea.

When we inquired about moving to the AC room, however, Mr Kun informed us that he had given the AC room to another customer, allegedly because we had said that the fan room was "ok". Mr Kun insisted that this was the case and said that we could either stay in the fan room another night (which we didn't want to, since it was rather too hot) or move to another guesthouse. He refused to acknowledge that we had agreed to move rooms after the first night, and that he had given his assurances that the AC room would be available. I am left to assume that someone made a booking for a greater number of days, and that it would have been more profitable to lose us as customers than to reject the other booking. I am disappointed that this is the case, since Mr. Kun really made us feel very welcome upon arrival.

Room Tip: Make sure you opt for an AC room. Also bear in mind that you are more than a comfortable walking dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Katarina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Battambang hotels
0.0 mi away
Battambang Resort
Battambang Resort
#1 of 26 in Battambang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.0 mi away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 26 in Battambang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bambu Battambang Hotel
Bambu Battambang Hotel
#4 of 26 in Battambang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seng Hout Hotel
Seng Hout Hotel
#12 of 26 in Battambang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.0 mi away
Au Cabaret Vert
Au Cabaret Vert
#5 of 26 in Battambang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#1 of 45 in Battambang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battambang My Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battambang My Homestay

Property: Battambang My Homestay
Address: 16 #339 Group | Sangkat Chamscaramrong, Battambang, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Battambang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Battambang My Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing