We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Battambang My Homestay
Ranked #2 of 49 Battambang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at My Homestay for 3 nights in June 2014. It is in a great location about a 15 minute walk or 2 minute tuk tuk ride from the centre of Battambang. The room was big, clean and very comfortable. The included breakfast was so good - we asked for vegetarian and it was different each day. Mr Kun and his family made us feel very welcome and Mr Kun helped us with planning what to do in Battambang as well as booking our bus to Phnom Penh. In addition we had a great tuk tuk driver - his name was Janta - he worked for Mr Kun. He has fluent English and gave us a very detailed and interesting tour around the area.
Overall we would highly recommend My Homestay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

A very nice place to stay in Battambang.
Mr. Khun is a very attentive host who will openly welcome you to his guesthouse and can provide a lot of information. The rooms are more than worth the price so you can start into the day well rested (aircon possible, TV if you need it). The place is a bit out of Battambang, but not really far. A Tuk Tuk is recommended however.

Mr. Khun also has a couple of realiable and engaged Tuk Tuk drivers (around 12) that he works with and who he gladly recommends to you. We drove around with Nicky over the next days and can only recommend him. So get in touch with Mr. Khun for a pickup and a driver. It is well worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marksch0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Lovely. Much has been said already, so here in short:

- rooms are clean and spacious
- the Kun family is very, very friendly and do their best to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
- Mr Kun speaks English fluently, the family not so much, but they will call him on the mobile and hand over to you, so in the end, you can ask/arrange anything even when he is at work
- he has good connections to reliable tuktuk drivers who speak very good English, which makes trips around the area so much more enjoyable
- we got a plate of different fruit every evening, some of which we didn't know before. Also two 1/2 l bottles of water. You feel really cared for, when you come home in the evening and someone was waiting for you and brings you such a nice treat.
- when we had trouble on our journey back to Phnom Penh, we called him on the mobile and he was very willing to help us
- very nice traditional Khmer breakfast, freshly prepared.
- ride to the city centre is just a few minutes by tuktuk or bike

Cons:
- while we were there around end of March, there was work done at the waterworks. So during the day only the toilet had water, but not the shower. But this is not the Kun familiy's fault and they provided big water buckets with fresh water for washing hands etc.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Franziska_etc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Mr. Kun makes everyone’s “homestay” a great one. We spent 1.5 days / 2 nights in Battambang (all you need) and this was the perfect, inexpensive homebase for us. The rooms are new & clean with aircon, hot water, etc. plus a tasty Cambodian breakfast is included and the Wifi was strong in the rooms. On top of the accommodations, the owner coordinated a full-day Battambang tour for us – an entire route + tuk tuk driver. We loved our day with Bowrain and highly recommend him and the tour to all Battambang visitors looking to see all the sights in a jam-packed Cambodia day. Pick up was included from the bus station which was a nice perk.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingTings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Loved this homestay and would highly recommend it. For us, the location was perfect. Just outside of town in a nice peaceful neighbourhood. Rooms are spacious, well equipped and spotless. The owner Mr. Kun and his family were so kind and friendly to us. I knew from his first email that we were going to love staying at his place. He's organized and there to help you with anything to make your stay memorable and hassle free. We were there for 2 nights, but wish we could have stayed longer. We actually had a sudden change of plans and had to arrange for a driver to take us to Phnom Penh. Instantly, he arranged for a driver at a moments' notice. His name was Kim Bee and what a great driver he was. We were talking and laughing with him all the way to the airport. A very kind man and a very safe drive. Our time in Battambang was a highlight for us. This is certainly a place where we could see ourselves staying for a longer period of time. Mr. Kun arranged for an auto rickshaw to take us around to various interesting sites. James was our driver and he was there whenever we needed him. He was fantastic! We also had our laundry done at My Homestay and they did a great job! The Khmer breakfasts were authentic and tasty as well. Overall, we can't say enough about our time at My Homestay and we might even return in December when we visit Vietnam and Northern Cambodia. We have nothing but great things to say about this Homestay and we thank you, Mr. Kun, for making us feel at home and for our memorable stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keep-travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

When we arrived in Battambang, we had been staying in rural areas and very small cities in Cambodia for a while. We were excited about being in a urban place, especially since we had heard that Battambang is such a beautiful town.

However, the friendly attitude of Mr Kun, the owner, and our tuk-tuk driver, Huot, changed drastically when we explained we wanted to enjoy the city on our own during our 4-days stay. Mr Kun insisted on the fact that the countryside of Battambang was very nice and that we should go on a tour with our « designated » tuk-tuk driver. That's right: we were told before our arrival that we would have a free pick-up, but actually, as soon as we got in the tuk-tuk at our arrival on the bus station, we could read the sign inside the tuk-tuk saying something like: "I am offering you a free pick-up in hope that you will hire my for tours while you are in Battambang". We felt weird about it because that was not our intention. We explained to Huot that we would spend most of our time in town, so he insisted that he would always be the one picking us up to bring us back at the hotel (which is a little bit outside of town; the ride from or to town is fixed at 1$), and we agreed, to make it up to him.

After that, every night, he would look for us in the whole city, and when he would find us in a restaurant, he'd wait for us to finish our meal to bring us back, sometimes making comments about that fact that he was waiting for us to go to bed (!) We told him a couple of times we had just ordered and that we were not ready to go back; that he should just go to bed and that we would get back on our own. But he always insisted on waiting, usually looking very annoyed, which became really uncomfortable.

Once, he couldn't find us and we were kind of releived because we felt like staying out a little longer for drinks. Thinking about it now, it seems crazy to me that we were so concern about not disapointing him, to the point where we were not doing what we wanted to do when we wanted during our vacation. That night, we came back later, around 10 PM, with an other tuk-tuk found in town. The next morning, after breakfast, we asked Mr Kun for a tuk-tuk to go into town. A very frustrated Huot showed up, telling us he had look around everywhere for us the night before.

In the end, we ended up booking a tour of the surroundings on our last day to buy peace, because it had become very tense with Huot, it didn't seem possible to change tuk-tuk drivers, and Mr Kun also seemed very annoyed with us.

As for the guesthouse itself, I can only say as everybody else: the rooms were big, bright and clean, the shower was good, and the traditionnal khmer breakfast every morning was a big plus. Unfortunately, we didn't feel at home at all because the way this place is organised seems to be for a specific kind of vacation in Battambang, which did not suit our needs at the time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobetrotteuseMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We had 2 nights here and loved our stay. Mr Kun is a very warm and genuine man, showing how much he cares from the very first contact you make with him. He is very helpful with suggestions on what to do in the area. The rooms here are very nice and spacious. The breakfasts are amazing and a welcome break from boring eggs and baguettes. The location is out of town but this didn't bother us as we used the free bicycles, taking 5-10 mins to cycle in. You get a free pick up from your arrival point by a tuk tuk driver associated with the guesthouse. We used this same driver to take us on a tour of Battambang the next day. Really recommend doing this, it was such an amazing day. Our driver was Huot who spoke very good English and had great enthusiasm for his job - we learned a lot from him.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave_Basia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Battambang hotels
0 mi away
Battambang Resort
Battambang Resort
#1 of 26 in Battambang
743 reviews
0 mi away
The Sanctuary Villa
The Sanctuary Villa
#15 of 26 in Battambang
328 reviews
0 mi away
Bambu Battambang Hotel
Bambu Battambang Hotel
#4 of 26 in Battambang
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Au Cabaret Vert
Au Cabaret Vert
#5 of 26 in Battambang
319 reviews
0 mi away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 26 in Battambang
386 reviews
0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#1 of 49 in Battambang
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battambang My Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battambang My Homestay

Address: 16 #339 Group | Sangkat Chamscaramrong, Battambang 02000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Battambang
Price Range: £10 - £12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing