We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Eerie Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Phnom Sampeau

Phnom Sampeau
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
180 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“An Eerie Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

My motorbike edged up the steep hill puttering along, but was able to make it to the top of the mountain. While walking around at the top I was the only one there (aside from vendors and monks). While I was photographing I got a bit too close to the monkeys and they almost attacked me (so, be careful, these are not the monkeys to interact with). After looking at the temples, I took the long stairs down into the killing cave. Bats fluttered above my head and the small cave to the left of the stairs was a pitch black hole. As I went inside I got a chill down my back. Perhaps just being alone in such a historically daunting place gave it an eerie feeling. It was really an incredible experience and I would highly suggest heading to Phnom Sampeau.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    117
    38
    12
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth visit and great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Up the hill by American Jeep that awesome and loved the scenery from top of hill. We absorbed cool fresh air, saw many caves, pagoda and on the way we stopped for lunch nearby the base of mountain that is absolutely delicious grilled chicken.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SRGServices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

This place was recommend by a guest who stay in the same hotel, Royal Hotel, I love this place because there were many sights on the hill side , a million bats fly during sunset time were amazing, Highly recommend place, definitely worth to visit in Battambang.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sreng v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
1,042 reviews
624 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“Lots of stairs but worthwhile at the top”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

There are 365 stairs to climb but the climb is worth while to see the ruins on top and see more killing areas of the wicked Pol Pot. Take your time and lots of water in the heat. There are places to rest on the way up

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank olie293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
233 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Modern buildings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Of interest for those who want to learn more about Cambodia's more recent gruesome history. Guides available to provide information on the various gruesome killing caves and the memorials erected containing the bones of some of the victims. It is quite a hike up the mountain so for those who are not fit or not feeling energetic, motor bike and driver can be hired at the base for a few dollars for the trip both up and down.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelbugsonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phnom Sampeau also viewed

Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 
Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 

Been to Phnom Sampeau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing