We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Loud, unwelcoming hostel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Here Be Dragons

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Here Be Dragons
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Loud, unwelcoming hostel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

After reading good reviews about Here Be Dragons, I booked a double room for 4 nights (10 dollars per night).

I give three stars because:
-We were picked up from the bus station by DJ, a very friendly tuk-tuk driver.
-The room is quite spacious and clean.
-They have a nice terrace with hammocks.
-They have a security guard at night.

The minus two stars are because:
- They play very loud music till very late (1-3am), which is great for a bar, but not if the bar is located next to and right below the rooms. We made good use of our earplugs :s
- We thought the owners were not welcoming at all! We were amazed at how the foreign owners were so busy hanging out with each other, ignoring customers. No interest in who you are or simply greeting you when you enter the hotel. It felt more like a incrowd bar, renting out rooms only to earn some extra cash.

If you like to party, I guess this is a great place. If not, there are plenty of friendlier, cheaper and better-located guest houses in Battambang.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamar23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    55
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
2
45
76
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kep, Cambodia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We had a really good time at Here be dragons, stayed there for three nights. Really nice owners, helped us arrange bus and circus tickets and recommended a good cooking school. We also had fun at the pub quiz night and met some nice fellow travelers here. Yes, the rooms are basic and the bed is quite hard, but the downstairs area and food is great. Stay here in Battambang.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellebelle5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The world
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and everything was fine. Two very nice owners who were always very helpful.

The court yard to the front of the hostel is one of the best you'll find. Room and bathroom in private room were both very clean.

Thanks for a good stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We really loved it there, felt like home from the minute we stepped in. There are hammocks and a rooftop terrace and excellent food (also the best fruit shakes). The people who run it are great, besides being nice and fun people and all, they'll organize rides and tickets for you if you want but won't bother you about it if you don't.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Motarbetaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

A group of us went out to this bar on many occasions on pub quiz night, BBQ night and when we just wanted to chill out. The atmosphere is great and the staff are always friendly and chatty. Great place to hang out!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We were supposed to stay just 1 or 2 days, ended up staying a week. It's a great place, perfect atmosphere and the owners are the nicest people. If you like to relax, enjoy good food and don't mind to have the time of your life, go there now!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lomeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Absolutely loved this place. We wound up staying longer than expected.

Is just a short walk into town, but most of the sights are out of town.

Good food - actually amazing food all reasonably priced. Staff are so helpful and really do make you feel very welcome.

We stayed in a private room which was clean and secure.

Only recommendation is to maybe shop around with tuk tuk's we found getting one off the street cheaper than the one that the hostel recommends!

Altogether though such a wonderful place with lovely people

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Battambang hotels
0.1 mi away
Angkor Comfort Hotel
Angkor Comfort Hotel
#8 of 27 in Battambang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.6 mi away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 27 in Battambang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phka Villa
Phka Villa
#7 of 27 in Battambang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
King Fy Hotel
King Fy Hotel
#11 of 27 in Battambang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seng Hout Hotel
Seng Hout Hotel
#12 of 27 in Battambang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.8 mi away
Star Hotel
Star Hotel
#9 of 27 in Battambang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Here Be Dragons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Here Be Dragons

Property: Here Be Dragons
Address: Near Wat Sangker, Battambang 02000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Battambang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Battambang's backpacker hangout, on the banks of the Sangker River. Swap stories with other travellers at our late-night bar over a cheap cocktail or an ice-cold beer. Or, if you just want to relax after the bustle of Bangkok or Siem Reap, kick back in a hammock in our beautiful garden. We serve Khmer and some Western food, and a great Full English breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Here Be Dragons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing