We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Great Staff Great Craic”
Review of Here Be Dragons

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Here Be Dragons
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Place, Great Staff Great Craic”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Me and Declan stayed in a dorm room here and had an absoultely brilliant time. Dorm was comfortable the bunk beds are very big. Staff are friendly and helpful, would sort out/call tuk tuk drivers, arrange visas, onward buses, but most of all just a really relaxed friendly environment great for meeting people. They put plenty of events on pilates/ barbecue (in the really nice garden) to name a few. Jen and Ferg who run it are definitely up for a laugh and also a special mention to Frankie who was also lots of fun. Food was fabulous can't recommend enough!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    61
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
2
49
81
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

I loved my stay here in the dorm room.

Very welcoming and friendly staff - started with the welcome beer and continued from there.

Big dorm beds, lockers, nice showers, amazing food and dangerously sociable bar!

Pub quiz is really popular, make sure you're there in time for a table!

Is a little walk out of town, but only 10minutes and a nice walk along the river and park.

Had a great stay, only a half marathon around Angkor Wat dragged me away!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank murphyshiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Visiting Battambang for 3 days, staying at the Here Be Dragons was so much fun, the staff and management are so much fun, the atmosphere was relaxing. They have dorms to double rooms and a roof top area where you can just chill out, in the garden which is beautiful there is hammock areas, food was sensational, and the inside bar was a great meeting place & cheap drinks. On arrival from the bus station i was met by a local tuk tuk driver to take me to the front door, this I wasn't expecting - awesome service to have, not only that he also drove to some awesome sights around Battambang at a good price.You do really feel like your at home. All facilities was clean daily. You even get your own personal locker if staying in the dorm, and a free beer on arrival. Keep up the great work guys, one of the better hostels I've stayed at over the world.

Room Tip: Booked through Hostelworld.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BugzyOverbsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battambang Province, Cambodia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

The people working here are the must amazing bunch of people I have come across! They helped out me and my friend in some very trying circumstances and genuinely cared. The atmosphere is also great with heaps if backpackers hanging out and having a good time. Even if you don't stay here come and hang out and eat and meet fellow travellers

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelde144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battambang
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Really awesome place to chill out on hammocks, swing seats and cushions. Meet lots of other backpackers and had an awesome night doing their pub quiz (theres one every week). Staff are awesome and really friendly and really looked out for me when I got ill. Thanks!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Battambanging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I stayed here for two nights in a double room. It was unbeatable value. The staff were really helpful. I agree with other reviewers, the beds are a little hard and the aerobics sessions in the park in the morning can be a little noisy. This was not an issue for me as I was up early each day to do things. The food is really good and there is a wide variety. This is an excellent budget option.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyTravel_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

After reading good reviews about Here Be Dragons, I booked a double room for 4 nights (10 dollars per night).

I give three stars because:
-We were picked up from the bus station by DJ, a very friendly tuk-tuk driver.
-The room is quite spacious and clean.
-They have a nice terrace with hammocks.
-They have a security guard at night.

The minus two stars are because:
- They play very loud music till very late (1-3am), which is great for a bar, but not if the bar is located next to and right below the rooms. We made good use of our earplugs :s
- We thought the owners were not welcoming at all! We were amazed at how the foreign owners were so busy hanging out with each other, ignoring customers. No interest in who you are or simply greeting you when you enter the hotel. It felt more like a incrowd bar, renting out rooms only to earn some extra cash.

If you like to party, I guess this is a great place. If not, there are plenty of friendlier, cheaper and better-located guest houses in Battambang.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamar23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Battambang hotels
0.1 mi away
Angkor Comfort Hotel
Angkor Comfort Hotel
#10 of 26 in Battambang
88 reviews
0.6 mi away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 26 in Battambang
350 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seng Hout Hotel
Seng Hout Hotel
#11 of 26 in Battambang
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Au Cabaret Vert
Au Cabaret Vert
#5 of 26 in Battambang
296 reviews
1.9 mi away
Battambang Resort
Battambang Resort
#1 of 26 in Battambang
674 reviews
0.8 mi away
Star Hotel
Star Hotel
#8 of 26 in Battambang
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Here Be Dragons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Here Be Dragons

Property: Here Be Dragons
Address: Near Wat Sangker, Battambang 02000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Battambang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Battambang's backpacker hangout, on the banks of the Sangker River. Swap stories with other travellers at our late-night bar over a cheap cocktail or an ice-cold beer. Or, if you just want to relax after the bustle of Bangkok or Siem Reap, kick back in a hammock in our beautiful garden. We serve Khmer and some Western food, and a great Full English breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Here Be Dragons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing