We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great pub, great rooms.”
Review of Here Be Dragons

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Here Be Dragons
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night but wish it was longer. When we got off the bus in Battambang we got the best surprise of a tuk tuk driver (dj) from the hostel waiting for us. He was really friendly and it was so nice to have someone there as there was crowds of tuk tuk drivers surrounding the bus looking for business. Hostel was Very clean, with great food (try the sausage onion roll..yum) nice clean airy rooms. Friendly helpful staff. And really chilled atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kandisx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

Here Be Dragons was a good choice while in Battambang. The room was very basic and pretty run down to be honest, but it was perfect for a backpacker budget. The staff was very helpful - we arrived in Battambang at 12AM and luckily borrowed someone's phone to call HBD. Along with a few locals we saw at the bus station, they helped us get a tuk-tuk to their guesthouse. It would have been a long walk without them!

The bar scene is very social and even though it can get loud at times, you won't be bothered by noise in your room. They have a popular pub quiz on Tuesdays, as well as a pretty extensive and cheap drink list if you're into that sort of thing. The food is pretty good - offering Khmer and Western dishes for a pretty average "guesthouse" price.

They have great Tuk-Tuk drivers working with them as well - so if you end up booking a trip to the cave to see the mass exodus of bats flying out (highly recommended) or go to take a ride on the infamous Norry (also highly recommended), HBD offers competitive tuk-tuk rates. Ask for DJ - one of the friendliest and funniest tuk-tuk drivers I've ever had!

If you are social and on a budget, Here Be Dragons is a top choice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSohigian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We really loved this hostel - stayed here based on the glowing TripAdvisor reviews, and what more is there to be said?

I would complement the staff for their excellent service generally - but they really shone when there was in issue with the bus ticket we purchased through the hostel to take us to Siem Reap. The bus never showed, and between the bus company staff not helping at all, and some random taxi driver trying to scam us, we were in a difficult situation. A quick call to the hostel and the staff sorted it for us with no problems.

Also need to call out the food in the restaurant, which is excellent and great value. The bar is comfortable and chilled out, and the rooftop is great. When we stayed there was a 26 piece brass band playing in the bar which was quite the experience - noisy, and went on quite late, but who could complain about that?

Also need to shout out to the tuk tuk driver who was great.

One small criticism - our private room was fantastic value, basic but clean and big enough. However it was *really* hot - of course it was brutally hot generally in the town when we stayed, but the fan in the room was really poorly placed and it didn't help the air circulation at all. Made it quite sticky to sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thenextman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I like having breakfast here. Early in the morning it's quiet and peaceful, and the garden is lovely, almost a surreal and magical experience. The food's good, and reasonably priced, too. I've tried most of the breakfast choices. My personal favorite is a pancake with fruit and yogurt on top. They also make a nice Khmer breakfast with rice, omelet, and pork, with pickled veggies on the side.

Room Tip: I haven't stayed here. It's a hostel with some private rooms. I hear it's nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

I can defenitely recommend this hostel to everyone!

I arrived in battambang per boat only to find out I had a huge nest of fire ants in my Backpack. After failing to remove them all myself they helpen me to kill them all.
Also u get a free drink upon arrivel and the staff in general is so friendly and helpfull. They recommended us the best restaurant in town. Rooms and shared shower are basic but fine. The communal area downstairs is cosy and makes it easy to meet people.

Also there is a tattoo shop on the roofterrace!

U Will not regret it if you stay here. I was so pleased with it all!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Yentl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Whilst trying to get back to Phnom Penh for a visa appointment the bus company device decided they couldn't be bothered to take me despite booking the day before. They also didn't tell me. The staff here spent a good hour desperately ringing around trying to get me alternate transport and were just amazing. It's a great location in Battambang and will help with getting you to the bat cave, bamboo railway or whatever you want really.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattgottwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We had been meaning to try Here Be Dragons for a meal anyway, and after walking away from the catastrophic service at another nearby restaurant, we headed here for dinner on a Sunday evening. We ordered a number of dishes, the most outstanding of which to me were the spicy lemograss chicken and a papaya salad. The salad was tasty and fresh, extremely generous for the $1.50 price. When the lemongrass chicken dish was listed as spicy, I, a lover of hot food, told our server, one of the owners, that it was okay to pull out all the stops on the spicy train. They did. Well prepared and tasty, I enjoyed this dish very much. As we live in a house in Battambang, I cannot rate Dragons as a place to stay, but as a place to eat, they will be seeing my face again. One server/owner inquired as to whether my wine was okay (It was), another inquired as to whether the chicken was too spicy (It was not), so they obviously take customer service seriously here. All in all, a nice experience, and one I can recommend to others.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmezoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Battambang hotels
0.1 mi away
Angkor Comfort Hotel
Angkor Comfort Hotel
#9 of 26 in Battambang
100 reviews
1.9 mi away
Battambang Resort
Battambang Resort
#1 of 26 in Battambang
743 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bric-a-Brac
Bric-a-Brac
#2 of 26 in Battambang
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 26 in Battambang
386 reviews
0.7 mi away
Au Cabaret Vert
Au Cabaret Vert
#5 of 26 in Battambang
319 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blue Diamond Guesthouse
Blue Diamond Guesthouse
#2 of 31 in Battambang
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Here Be Dragons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Here Be Dragons

Address: Near Wat Sangker, Battambang 02000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Battambang
Price Range: £8 - £9 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Battambang's backpacker hangout, on the banks of the Sangker River. Swap stories with other travellers at our late-night bar over a cheap cocktail or an ice-cold beer. Or, if you just want to relax after the bustle of Bangkok or Siem Reap, kick back in a hammock in our beautiful garden. We serve Khmer and some Western food, and a great Full English breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Here Be Dragons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing