We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vimean Sovannaphoum Resort
Ranked #8 of 45 Battambang B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Vimean Resort is a nice little resort style hotel 10 min walk away from the centre of Battambang.
The staff is very helpful and friendly. The rooms a spacious and clean and the pool was perfect for a quick swim. The western breakfast was all right but not outstanding, the second day i choose the Khmer breaky and it was bigger and more tasty than the western one.

Room Tip: Had one of the ground floor rooms close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

The hotel is about a 10 minutes walk from the center. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are very nice and furnished in local style, but the maintenance is a bit poor. Our room was full of insects (mosquitoes and spiders)... some shelter from mosquitos would be useful (e.g. a net above the bed). Breakfast is à la carte, just fair.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank einai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My room was huge and well equipped with a desk to work ar and a large bathroom. The size of the room meet the air conditioning a little slow to get to temperature but once it was there it was fine. The pool was small but delightful especially when they turned on the waterfall. There was plenty of shade in the afternoon and pool towels were available on request. The stuff very friendly although there was a variable english skills. The laundry service was efficient but make it clear if you do not want the items ironed because there is an extra charge for this. My only criticism would be the breakfast which was a little sparse except for the omelette which was quite nice. However, considering we paid less than 18 dollars for a room in a hotel with a pool i don't think i can't really complain too much.

Room Tip: The regular double rooms upstairs on the least expensive and are more than adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzgerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We have been lucky in finding amazing accommodations and meals in Thailand and Cambodia. However our luck took a break in Battambang. This hotel is advertised very well, and the photos do reflect the great parts (pool and exterior of main buildings) however there are several issues. 1. The place is just a bit odd. I cannot quite explain it but I felt like I was in a bad 80s horror flick. 2. The food is absolutely horrible; by far the worst I have experienced on this trip. 3. The staff is friendly but have not been trained in customer service. There is a lot of smiling but not a lot of comprehension. 4. We requested pictures of the wooden house before we booked as I did not see the interior on the site. The pics were never sent and now I know why. The wooden house is very old, dirty and run down. It also looked like it was decorated in the 80s from remnants of many different construction sites. With mismatched and chipped tiles; old stained brown outdoor carpeting; broken shower head and broken door knob; glass-less windows (why have air conditioning with 3 open windows?); and a weird fridge-less "kitchen" with 6 foot ceilings, this was just not even close to as advertised on the site.

I will post photos so those that research this hotel after us will be more informed.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jokenmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed in the resort just for 1 night and it was great. Everything is really clean and the pool is perfect for a quick refreshing swim. The staff was very friendly and always helpful. The resort is located just on the other side of the river to the town. It's a relaxed walk of 15 minutes to downtown. The western breakfast was a bit small but delicious but would recommend the asian breakfast if you're hungry, which was also very good. Can definitely recommend the place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chea P, Owner at Vimean Sovannaphoum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Dear Sir

Thank you for your review to my Vimean Sovannaphoum Resort. I hope if you have across the Battambang don't miss out my great little resort

Chea pov
MD
077993288

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Tastefully decorated with pretty gardens. Nice and quiet. We had a 2nd floor room and were impressed by how large it was - even the bathroom was large. Kids had lots of room to play. Expected just a simple eggs and baguette breakfast from having read past reviews but now they offer Khmer dishes as well as eggs, french toast, pancakes (recommended) and breakfast bagels as part of the 'breakfast-included' deal. There are more deck chairs (need to request pool towels) too so obviously the hotel have responded to past feedback. Staff went out of their way to accomodate us and were flexible on room rate. Would definitely return if ever staying in Battambang again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angeline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

I really loved it here, we were in a wooden hut on stilts right by the pool. It was like proper Cambodian living but with all mod cons. We missed having a room safe but that was no big issue. The pool was lovely, decent size and novel backdrop. No pool towels though? TV had good range of channels and the bathroom was a wet room (seems to be the norm over here). Breakfast was off a menu but was ok and there was enough of it. Welcome drink and cold flannels all good. Good location too and musn't forget we were even invited to the New Year celebrations. Would recommend.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank nuzzonick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Battambang hotels
0.4 mi away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 26 in Battambang
365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phka Villa
Phka Villa
#7 of 26 in Battambang
434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Classy Hotel & Spa
Classy Hotel & Spa
#8 of 26 in Battambang
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Sanctuary Villa
The Sanctuary Villa
#16 of 26 in Battambang
320 reviews
1.1 mi away
Au Cabaret Vert
Au Cabaret Vert
#5 of 26 in Battambang
307 reviews
2.5 mi away
Battambang Resort
Battambang Resort
#1 of 26 in Battambang
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vimean Sovannaphoum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vimean Sovannaphoum Resort

Address: Romchek 4 Village | Rattanak Commune, Battambang 93000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Battambang
Price Range: £22 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vimean Sovannaphoum Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vimean Sovannaphoum Resort is a popular accommodation owned by a Cambodian family who provide all guests the hospitality, honestly, and also designed for travelers. Vimean Sovannaphoum Resort is located in the most convenient, peaceful area, overlooking the heart of Battambang ancient city and it is only a short drive to the bus and boat station. This exclusive retreat has only 12 standard deluxe rooms, ultra modern poolside rooms, ensuring quality personal service and traditional Khmer hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vimean Sovannaphoum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing